Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from thurrock

Basic accommodation

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Basic accommodation ok for short stay but not for weeks holiday needs a good clean not sure where the refurb was. Need more communication from staff some really good other really poor ok for money paid
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect for young kids

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Regardless of the reviews, it's a great short break for young kids and that was our sole purpose of our trip. Accommodation not as bad as expected, we were not expecting 5* luxury. Served its purpose!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by cambo from essex

not so bad

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Contrary to most reviews we may have been lucky but our accomodation was spotless and looked to have been recently refurbished. We had the classic accomodation. Didnt use any of the facilities of the camp as was just using it for somewhere cheap to sleep at night so cant comment on that. The bigger worry I would say was the type of people that it generally attracted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pontins

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: You have to buy bed linen and electricity for the room which is not clear when you book on Expedia and this diminishes the value of the booking.
Location: N/A
Good facilities for young kids, but not much else. Very basic accommodation and looks like a 1960's prison camp.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by paulus from uk

worst nightmare available

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very bad not worth a penny
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

You pays your money...

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Price, available entertainment, proximity to beach.
Cons: Check-in not as chaotic as in high summer but the system does need to be better - as does signposting around the campus.
Location: Seaside (with caffs), superb chippie (festival seating outside), Ian Dury's favourite whelk outlet – what more could you want?
No-one is looking for a five-star experience at this creaking old holiday camp – they're looking for a cheap weekend keeping offspring entertained. Pontin's Camber Sands – again – was able to provide this, though this time the room hadn't been cleaned properly, and whoever didn't clean it properly also forgot to/didn't know how to switch the electricity back on for free use. We had to wait a while and I had to run around a fair bit to get the power up and running, but in complete fairness the girl on reception was an absolute star, and chucked in free breakfasts for us the next day. It's not five-star, it's a basic self-catering chalet, with a pool, indoor games and family-oriented entertainment to hand, and the seaside less than ten minutes' walk away. Bus service from Rye station cheap but infrequent - every two hours on a Sunday, not at all if it's sunny/bank holiday, walking 3.5 miles the only option. Otherwise, you get what you pay for, and if the kids are happy, you're happy. Praise also to the helpful member of security staff (he was perhaps Central Asian?), particularly as his British colleagues at the gate tend to be a notch above neanderthal.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by tony from margate

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
unhelpful and dirty
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Long Distance from Medway Towns

Poor quality not good value for money

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very disappoint in whole stay, didnt get room we expecting, bedding not supplied as promised when spoke to representative before we arrived and then had to pay. Water was either burning hot or freezing cold especially when using shower, sorry couldnt really use shower as couldnt regulate water, had to press button to use which lasted about 30 seconds so you couldnt get water right temp to use. They say complex refurbished in 2011 but really whole camp reminded me of 50's Hi Di Hi Camp. Some rides broken, expensive and had to wait nearly two our to use swimming pool.Overall complex needs to be brought into 21st Century and representatives need to be more pleasant and helpful,