Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

excellent position nr pier and bandstand

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: position, size
Cons: some bedroom fittings were a bit tired and not everything matched
Location: on the sea front so good for walks, pier, bandstand, restaurants
unfortunately was given a side room we hadn't booked, but problem was resolved and we were moved to a front room with sea view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

excellent hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
very attentive staff excellent service would go again look forward to it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Edwardian Grand Dame

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: *Very good value for money *Beautiful building with character *Perfect location opposite the sea and ten minutes to the station
Cons: *Mattress was very soft *Window wouldn't stay open on its own *Would have been great to have a fridge in the room or access to a kitchen
Location: Lots of cafes and restaurants within a moment's walk - shops and an excellent shopping centre too. The pier and bandstand are seconds away -
*This is a stunning hotel and the location is probably the best in Eastbourne. * Kind and unbureaucratic staff * Curtains in room need replacing - they have been cut too short and let the light in at the bottom *No internet in room - but I did know that when I booked. *Bandstand has open air concerts regularly *Museum-piece lift! *Why does this site have such a small allowance for its word count????????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location. Very clean and comfortable room.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The décor.
Cons: Better communication amongst staff.
At check in I as not told what time breakfast would be, and although on the room key folder it said it would be from 7.30, the kitchen staff were no aware, and said they were opening at 8 am. This was a problem for me as I had to leave at 8.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrew from Harrogate

Ok, average stay

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Was an ok stay overall but have to say that apart from the guy on breakfast duty the service was very average. I was in room 25 and shower although ok temp wise in the evening would not turn warm in the morning though I was up at 6 so unsure if they had turned it on.. The water pressure almost none exsintant for either shower. Good location though and hotel has a traditional lift which is something different and a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I went for a one night stay the reception was friendly and helpful . We had a nice room . We had breakfast which was very nice .would stay there again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

Beautiful seaside view

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Great room, great view.
Cons: The breakfast was fairly so-so and quite expensive.
Location: Great seafront location. We were there for a conference.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room greatly exceeded my expectations - it was a very generous size with stunning views of the pier and the sea. Breakfast was ok but probably the weak point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Sea View

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Just a bit of TLC
I was given a sea view which is fantastic even in November. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a bit run down in places but was clean and comfortable so no complaints there! Close to the pier where I was attending a wedding and close to the town and train station so again no complaints. The only bad thing I can say (and this depends on your standpoint) was that the heating was on too high - it was stiflingly hot! Would happily recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sue from Staines

Great Location

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was great for our overnight stay to see the Air show. The staff were very helpful with regards to car parking. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great.