Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stoke on Trent

No warning of building / refurbishment work

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast
Cons: Warn of building work refurbishment or don't accept bookings until finished
The room was clean however an over powering smell of paint in room and with the bar area and entrance cluttered with builders tools and materials the stay was uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michaelfrom peterborough

Business trip

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel but they had builders in so a mess it will ne nice when finished also room was too hot so uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Challenging Times

Posted Dec 18, 2014
This is,was and will be a good place to stay with a warm welcome and excellent breakfasts. Rooms are clean and well sized but there are considerable building works currently underway to upgrade the down stairs areas. Well priced and close to town and beach. Wifi free but in lounge areas only and no lift or a/c.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ericfrom sheerness

just right

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel, clean, comfortable, bath room spotless the only down side was the mattress it was for me too soft.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to a train station but needs some major work

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We stayed at this hotel as it seemed good value considering we booked late and there were few alternatives under 150 per night. The photos do represent what you are receiving and although the hotel has obviously upgraded the toilets, TV's and bar/reception there is still work to be done. The bed was comfortable but the mattress showed in more than one spot which was not appealing and would be an easy fix. The curtains had stains probably from rain but they were original and could use replacing or a good scrub. The hotel was fine for what it is but most disappointing was the service at breakfast. The ladies seemed like they had never worked in a restaurant before and it seemed as if it would have been easier to go to the kitchen and speak to the chef to order a simple English breakfast with tea. No special requests at all!! Exterior and garden area were very nice and lots of squirrels to watch to forget about the bizarre service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom devon

Quiet and conveniently placed

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: see above
Location: Well placed for St leonards station and a short (but downhill) walk to sea front and shops. lots of nearby bus services
Lovely big room (albeit on top floor with no lift) in a beautiful building. The hotel has a delightful large garden at the back.The bar/reception is somewhat bleak as are the downstairs sitting areas. the dining room is functional and the breakfast was good but served by rather unsmiling staff - I got the impression that no one had ever really explained to them what was expected. - in fact any management was conspicuous for its absence for most of my stay. The wi fi ONLY worked in the dining room and bar. This was a serious inconvenience.(so easy and cheap to install a booster box or two) Overall could do with cheering up and the injection of some people skills - people are the paying guests after all and this hotel is not cheap.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christopherfrom Norfolk

DISAPPOINTING

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
No welcome & no signing in. Basement room with tired decor. No chair, no full length mirror and light bulbs blown in bathroom. More disturbingly, the net curtains had 5 cms of black mould along their entire bottom. Breakfast service was very slow. Part self service, with only boxes of Kelloggs Variety as a starter. No fruit, no yogurt. In all, not up to the standards we have come to expect from a 3 star hotel charging £90 per night. We would NOT recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Croydon

The worst hotel I have ever been.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
There was dust everywhere in the room on furniture, on lamps, on TV remote control. The carpet was unclean with remains from previous visitors such as used earplugs, cork from champagne, hear clips, confetti from last Christmas. The stuff was friendly but untidy. We were not satisfied with all of that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Familie Eisoldfrom Dresden

Günstige Lage

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
Wir verbrachten 3 Nächte im Eagle House Hotel. Typisch englisches Hotel, großblumige Muster. Service war in Ordnung, das Frühstück durchschnittlich (nicht so liebevoll, wie anderswo). Das Zimmer war sauber, Komfort in Ordnung. Die Lage war für uns hervorragend: 10 min. zum Strand, 10 min. zum Bahnhof (beides zu Fuß), ausreichend kostenlose Parkplätze, Straße nicht so stark befahren. Wir hatten ein Zimmer zur Gartenseite, deshalb auch sehr ruhig.