Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

we stayed in one of the suites

Posted Oct 21, 2014
we stayed in one of the suites on 3rd floor, great room`s, great sea view, can not fault anything,staff very friendly & helpfull, good value for money. buffet breakfast was really good, chef who made the omelettes,fried, poached eggs etc was friendly made you feel at ease & was cracking jokes as well as the eggs. will defo be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Be aware rooms vary - check what you are getting

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Staff were helpful and efficient.
Cons: Finalising refurbishment programme.
Location: Located very centrally - all Brighton has to offer is nearby.
We booked about a year in advance with a good deal via Expedia. We didn't expect to be allocated a top of the range room with sea view but were, however, rather disappointed with what we got. The room we had on the fourth floor is one unrefurbished ones and was rather tired. The carpet was dirty and stained, the bathroom tiles mismatched and dated with very grubby grouting in some places. The mesh covering the lighting over the basin had obviously not seen a duster or damp cloth in many a moon. The mini bar door would not close properly and consequently water leaked onto the carpet - judging by the watermark on the wooden outer door of the fridge, this problem has been happening for sometime. The check in staff were polite and courteous (also obviously under instructions to get people to take a costly upgrade when checking in - we heard them doing so every time we passed reception). There was an evacuation of the hotel on the Saturday night we stayed there. Not the hotel's fault I would imagine and the staff dealt with the situation well and apologetically.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Convenient

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Whilst a nice looking building the inside of the room was damaged & worn. The ceilings showed damage in the bathroom. The air con system was very noisy & leaked water every few seconds to the carpet below so we didn't sleep at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was just on

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Was there for a wedding which was great, my room however was small, dull and dingy and very old looking, not what Id have expected for the money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel by beach but not living Upto Hilton standard

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location and pleasant staff
Cons: Redecorate the whole hotel
The room needed total revamp and not upto mark as expected , very disappointed . Air condition not working in gym and was so humid that I coulnt breathe while running on the treadmill. Staff were pleasant but hotel in general was very disappointing , I was not expecting this from Hilton group, very disappointing stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hants

Very expensive and not worth the price.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: The rooms were stuffy and ours was small with a hard bed!
Location: Brighton is always a great weekend break with so much to do.
We paid for an upgrade based on the advice of the reception staff but if that room was a deluxe I would hate to see the basic! The bed was hard and the room was really stuffy. The breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly. Overall we wouldn't return as it was very expensive and not worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wish it was better

Posted Oct 1, 2014
I believe this hotel is tired and overpriced. Charging for wifi is not good in this day & age. They say free wifi in restaurant and lobby, though this isn't true - it's a max of 60 minutes and not available in the restaurant. I am a Hilton Honours member, and even though we had travelled all the way across the globe they still would not upgrade our room to a sea view, even though there were heaps empty. So we voted with our wallet and spent one night there instead of four. Room was comfortable with great big bed though no view. Breakfast could have been much better though service was fantastic particularly by our waiter Scott.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Grossly overpriced

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Either lower the prices or renovate the rooms (if mine was anything to judge by).
If my room had been cheaper, I would not have any complaint. But for what I paid I feel entitled to complain about the fact that the room was old, outdated and slightly musty, that the toilet didn't flush properly, that the shower head was inadequate and that there was a hefty charge for Wi-Fi. Combined with the fact that it was at the back overlooking a bunch of air-conditioning units, I feel it was really overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Professional stay

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Cons: Breakfast at £17.50 and car parking at £20 a day. I would review those costs .
I hadn't realised at the time of booking that the booking did not include breakfast . I met other people who had paid less and it included breakfast. I was disappointed that there wasn't even a bottle of water in my room from which a mini bar fridge had been removed leaving the casing behind. There was only one cup so when I wanted tea in the morning I had to wash it up. I thought that was a shame.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated Rooms and very overpriced.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Very courteous Staff.
Cons: Yes!! Update all rooms and an offer or refund for such disappointment.
Upon arrival at the hotel I was immediately impressed with the oppuelent decor of the reception area and bar. When I was taken to my room, I was totally disgusted, by the very tired and extremely dated tiny room. A little luxury was at least expected. I complained to the reception of my severe disappointment, to be offered an alternative room which was merely a little better as it had been apparently been refurbished ! When ? I asked myself ,in approx 1980 by the look of it.I can only say that this surprise birthday weekend for my partner turned out to be very expensive and worse value for money I have ever spent and was very upset which ruined, what should have been a lovley weekend. These rooms should bee at least half of ?199 pounds and that would still be too expensive. To sum it up totally disgusted.