Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton

Breath of fresh air

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Although the sat nav takes you up side roads stay on the main rye hill and it's on left going up. The car park is ample, upon entering the hotel /inn we were greeted after a few moments by courteous friendly staff. The booking in process took a couple of minutes, was very well organised and we were shown to our boutique themed room. We had the Parisian which was delightful. The bedroom was very nice there was a seperatd room to relax in so you needn't sit on the bed like so many places. There was a TV in each of the rooms which was excellent with the World Cup clashing with the soaps. The shower was a joy. So much so that I had 4 in my one night stay. Dinner was absolutely delicious. I had the wild boar pâté for starters followed by lamb shank which fell off the bone. Very reasonably priced too. After a very comfortable nights sleep breakfast was fit for a King. Fruit, cereals, full English, yoghurt and gallons of tea coffee and orange juice. I will definitely be returning and may try one of the other themed rooms. The chambermaid kindly showed us a couple more and the champagne suite looked even better. FULLY RECOMMEND THIS DELIGHTFUL PLACE.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better to go there by car than walking

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Pros: Cute cottages
Cons: inaccurate map and unclear checking
Location: A bit far on foot from the station and city centre, along a road with cars driving very fast.
Quite far from the station on foot with a hill to climb, it's best to go there by car. Also, the map doesn't seems accurate either, as it was further than seen on Google Map. The cottages are cute if a bit outdated, but that's part of their charm. The room was clean with a New Age decoration. The staff was friendly, but the check-in and out process was not very clear, as we needed to ring the bell several time for someone to come and our host initially asked us for payment even though we booked through Expedia and then needed to check that our payment did indeed go through. But for the price and included breakfast, this was a good choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Seattle

Good value for short stay

Posted Sep 23, 2012
This hotel mostly caters to domestic travelers arriving by car. I came by train, and wasted some time and effort locating the place because the map on the website is vague. It's definitely a quaint old place, and such places tend to show the wear and tear that you won't find in a Hilton. For a night or two, it does the job; if you want a shiny new hotel with no character, go elsewhere and pay a whole lot more. It's a reasonable walk down to the High Street, and I was glad to find that the #344 bus from the train station stops right in front of the hotel, fare: 1.05 pounds. The breakfast was "full English", and was satisfactory. The room had an electric kettle for instant tea/coffee. Yes, there is traffic noise from the road, but I had the same problem at every other hotel I stayed at in England: where there are English roads, there's English traffic noise. The hotel has WiFi (which I didn't use), but has no computer workstation for travelers who don't have a computer with them; however, I was pleased to find that the Rye Public Library right on the High Street will give you a 7-day temporary pass to use their computers for free (my favorite price!), so I was able to check my e-mail there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The dirtiest hotel room I have ever stayed in

Posted Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: On a bend in a busy road which makes exiting quite exciting
The room was filthy,the bedding and towels etc were tatty, and everything about the place was tired and run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Greatstone

Lost some of those special touches

Posted Mar 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in this hotel many times and found it fantastic, however this time I found it had lost its special touches and it seemed the owners had no time for their guests
2 out of 5
by Peter from Surrey

Lovely staff, but the room was tired...

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: Condition of the room
Location: Good for Rye centre - 8 minutes' walk.
I had a warm welcome from the lady who greeted me and the younger lady who served ne breakfast - they were helpful and polite. The hotel - that is, the room I was in - just needs money spending on it. Tha standard of decor was delapidated, and updating/maintenance was not evident at all. It was a pity, as the location is convenient for Rye town centre, the charges reasonable, and the location of the lodge rooms, off the carpark at the rear, kept the road noise down to a minimum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Posted Nov 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
Quiet and convenient location. Easy parking. Good breakfast. Recommend it for short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It was ok...

Posted Oct 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
I'm not a demanding person or picky, but this hotel was not up to my standards. For the price I paid I would expect a least a bath with no human hair on it!!!! The tub had little hairs everywhere and dead insects scattered all over the place as if the dirty old carpet hadn't seem a vacuum cleaner for a long time! Greasy breakfast with no backed beans!! A least the beds sheets and towels were clean and staff were friendly.