Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel quite near attractions

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location on sea front and quality of room.
Pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Room was fine and had a balcony. Staff were friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny from Leamington Spa

nice hotel on seafront, quite near centre on foot

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Lovely staff
Cons: double glazing might gbe a good idea
Location: wonderful location on the seafront, with a nice walkway which takes you to the pier and the town centre - Royal Pavilion and Sea Life Centre and tons
The main reason I would go back is that the staff were all very nice people, and nothing was too much trouble. It was nice and relaxed and unfussy, but standards of order and cleanliness were high. Its an old buliding and could probably use some refurbishment, but we were really comfortable for our stay of a week in February ( with the slight exception that the extremely high winds that week did mamage to make parts near the windows a bit chilly)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East yorkshire

Good value

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Had a very comfortable & relaxing stay.
Cons: The range of food available from room service after midnight could be improved.
Location: Right on the seafront. About a 10 min walk to the pier & town
Nice hotel with good location. Clean & quiet, very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crumbling elegance has never been so well defined

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The staff and the breakfast
Cons: Pretty much everything
Location: Perfect for the sea
What was once probably a very very Grand hotel is now a shadow of it's former greatness. Form the outside the old place looks right at home with the rest of the bigger hotels on the prom. From the inside things turn decidedly shabby. The lobby is old tatty. The once Grand Staircase is now, no doubt to over zealous fire precautions, boarded off on one side so that you enter an ugly staircase and exit onto three quarters of a grand staircase, repeat this until you have gotten to your desired level. Our room was grim. The carpet was rippled and shabby. The wallpaper bulged in places. The bathroom was tiny! And this was supposed to be a family room! The dinning room, with such a splendid view, has huge windows that look to be rusting and let in a dreadful draught. The breakfast was excellent. The staff are very friendly and wonderfuly attentive, the only plus on an otherwise dreary experience. I hope that The Mercure is about to undergo some well needed TLC and renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paul from bournemouth

Great seaview

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Hotel staff were pleasant, the hotel is a little shabby but the view was great. The smokers congregate right outside at the front door, you are forced to pass them every time you enter or leave the hotel. Worse, when I opened the window in the room to get a little air, the smoke from below came into the room. Reception staff offered their sympathy but this needs to be sorted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ima from Formely of Hove and London. Now Spain

As former resident of Hove I know Hotel well

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Good position between Briighton and Hove. Helpful staff.
Cons: Storage in room needs improving. Hotel looks "Tired" and could do with a spruce up. Food and beverages overpriced.
Location: Where do I begin!!! Brighton has been known as "London by the Sea", cinemas; bowling alleys; shopping; Seafront walks; excellent restaurants.
Parking a nightmare. Very expensive. Only had room basis for our 4 night stay over Christmas as family live near by. However, one experience of room service meal was atrocious. Inediable steak sandwich, prawn cocktail and pot of tea cost £28 for one person!!! Food was cold and looked uninviting. My partner was confined to room following an accident, thus he decided on the room service. Staff were excellent. Comfy, clean bed with warm duvet. Bathroom basic but clean. Room overlooked courtyard so was quiet. Room facilities: no drawers and minimal hanging space; redeemed by a proper hair dryer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by param from bournemouth

Near to beach, convenient parking

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Near to beach and centre of the town
Cons: Rooms needs to updated. Heating was centralised it means we didn't have any control of room temp which annoyed !!!
Location: Very central and near to the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by c&j from kent

perfect location

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: clean comfortable room, warm in winter, good staff, good location
Cons: evening menu, information on surrounding areas and map would be useful!
Location: Brighton centre and hove minutes away. Brighton museum excellent and free! The lanes in Brighton were great,many interesting shops and stalls.
we stayed for a weekend in december. it was a warm and comfortable hotel(bed very comfortable). we chose not to eat in hotel restaurant as we were unable to locate daily menu. we were eventually given the previous day's menu which we found very limited and unimaginative. however buffet breakfast was excellent.