Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Easy access

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Close to promenade and town with nearby transport. Room clean, good breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: WiFi in room would be favoured. Quite noisy as there are many rooms despite quests being asked to consider others
Location: As above.
Easy to find, swift check in. Nice reception area. Breakfast room in large basement with staff accommodating to guests' requirements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

If this is three stars...

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The price
Cons: See above
Location: Green space in front of the hotel, relatively near the town.
The hotel manager we encountered was the antithesis of Basil Fawlty, but not in the good way. The room we were given was a dusty basement one, the manager seemed to think he was taking the curse off it by telling us that he used to live in it. Presumably it was he, then, who used the soap dish as an ash tray and broke the shaver socket. The wireless was unreliable except in the lobby of the hotel, which although a fair speed, did mean sharing with other guests on DFS seating. This international guests therefore had to hold telephone conversations in public. Breakfast was condensed into a single hour, so the kitchen staff were run off their feet, despite their efforts to remain both courteous and efficient. Breakfast was entertaining, however, as attending it was like sharing a dining room both with stereotyped northern characters from a BBC3 situation comedy and foreign tourists who were concurrently neat and polite. What was less fun were the corridors that stank, one with a bodily fluid that was unusual and unusually strong. There was a feeble effort to disguise the latter with cheap air freshener. In short, if this is three stars, I don't want to set foot in a one star.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Stay Here if You Just Don't Care

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Many items in disrepair; spots of mold(?) on the ceilings, painted over water damage, TV remote broken, no security door lock, most lights broken or without bulbs, toilet rooms the size of closets, carpet repaired with tape(!), shabby in every way possible. Good luck if you've decided to stay here, you're going to need it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shops and beach

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The hotel staff were polite and friendly.the price was good for the type of accomodation it was. Had a nice green opposite hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The room was suffocating, and worst of all, there was no internet connection in the room...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bruz from thoms

Room review

Posted Jun 20, 2014
It's not a hotel looks like a house converted to different rooms and given for rent.staff are very nice but the overall room space and facilities remain average.
2 out of 5
by Robbie from Fareham

Needs updating

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Shower didn't work probably, hot or cold water only, no in-between, so we couldn't use it. TV didn't work at all. Asked the guy to look at it, he said he would, but didn't. No milk on our second day. Only two tea bags each day! Bed too hard! Building needs all updating and carpets are torn and stuck down with tape. Best thing. Nice breakfast. Nice friendly waiter. Wouldn't go again! Shame as in a good position.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy & uncomfortable hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The prices were rasonable but we would have rather paid a little more to get a decent nights sleep and a wash in the morning It is a good location.
Location: Near the sea front and pier
Breakfast is only available between 8am-9am which was no good when staying at the hotel for a conference. There is a loud generator that keeps you awake. Although it turns off overnight, this is late in the evening at about 11.30pm and it turns back on early around 6am. On top of this noise the sound in the hotel travels well and you can hear people in the next room and in the corridors. The bathroom has a bath, which does not look clean and no shower facility. The wifi is only available in the hotel lobby which is only open at cerrtain times. The wifi is not available in the rooms.
1 out of 5
by teddie

good location close to town, that's only possitive

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: complete renovation is required at this hotel
Location: it was close to the venue we were going to.
this hotel is very run down,all the carpets need replacing it needs a complete renovation. the small double was tiny,light fitting hanging off the wall, a rip in carpet covered with a rug.
1 out of 5
by Shauna from essex

Horrendous!! Do not stay here

Posted May 29, 2014
Awful place, should not be allowed to call itself a 'hotel'. Had to change our room because it was so filthy (stains everywhere, cigarette burns, scummy shower). The second room was marginally better but still stank and had no kettle. Staff were unhelpful and didn't apologize when we complained.