Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dorset

Close to beach and shops

Posted Oct 16, 2014
The hotel room was dirty, no TV. No phone signal no wifi. Bedding so thin we had to go and buy blankets. The shower leaked and flooded the floor. No bedside lights so had to get out of bed to turn lights out. People were leaving before the end of their stay. Food was poor. Rooms need decorating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good guest house.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Close enough to the high street to be easily accessible and just far enough away to avoid the noise. Staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Reasonably priced for reasonable rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good but near sea front and pier

Posted Sep 17, 2014
No where near as good as it looks in photos. Not worth the cost. Also unfriendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

it is a nice hotel & very close to the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2014
...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Underwhelmed

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Our room - light and airy with a sea view.
Cons: It needs decorating. Breakfast needs at least 2 hours. Food needs to be cooked to order.
Location: Location was perfect.
The hotel was desperately in need of redecorating, especially the reception area, stairs and corridors, which is a shame because it gives a very poor first impression. However, there was evidence of some improvements taking place during our stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and, as we booked a seaview, our room was light and airy. My bed had a great big dip in it but, I must say, I slept like a log!! The breakfast was poor. Food obviously pre-cooked, which they need to do because it is only served between 8am and 9am, and cool. Each day I ate less and less.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic accommodation

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Staff were friendly but the hotel is in poor condition with multiple things not working in the hotel room, breakfast was cold, and no soundproofing so can hear pipes and other rooms all night. Wasn't expecting much for price but still let me down
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Easy access

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Close to promenade and town with nearby transport. Room clean, good breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: WiFi in room would be favoured. Quite noisy as there are many rooms despite quests being asked to consider others
Location: As above.
Easy to find, swift check in. Nice reception area. Breakfast room in large basement with staff accommodating to guests' requirements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

If this is three stars...

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The price
Cons: See above
Location: Green space in front of the hotel, relatively near the town.
The hotel manager we encountered was the antithesis of Basil Fawlty, but not in the good way. The room we were given was a dusty basement one, the manager seemed to think he was taking the curse off it by telling us that he used to live in it. Presumably it was he, then, who used the soap dish as an ash tray and broke the shaver socket. The wireless was unreliable except in the lobby of the hotel, which although a fair speed, did mean sharing with other guests on DFS seating. This international guests therefore had to hold telephone conversations in public. Breakfast was condensed into a single hour, so the kitchen staff were run off their feet, despite their efforts to remain both courteous and efficient. Breakfast was entertaining, however, as attending it was like sharing a dining room both with stereotyped northern characters from a BBC3 situation comedy and foreign tourists who were concurrently neat and polite. What was less fun were the corridors that stank, one with a bodily fluid that was unusual and unusually strong. There was a feeble effort to disguise the latter with cheap air freshener. In short, if this is three stars, I don't want to set foot in a one star.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Stay Here if You Just Don't Care

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Many items in disrepair; spots of mold(?) on the ceilings, painted over water damage, TV remote broken, no security door lock, most lights broken or without bulbs, toilet rooms the size of closets, carpet repaired with tape(!), shabby in every way possible. Good luck if you've decided to stay here, you're going to need it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com