Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, room size
Cons: Needs a better common area which is not part of the bar or restaurant.
Location: The whole town is charming. Lots of antique shops, small restaurants and coffee houses. The castle in town is a must see as is Ann of Cleaves house.
Nice little hotel tucked into a side street off High Street, the main thoroughfare in Lewes. Service staff is young and attentive; they quickly fixed a problem with our sink. Room was large and comfortable though the bath had no window and became rather hot since the heated towel rack was fixed on. In house restaurant was popular, and not only with overnight guests, however we can't comment on quality as we only ate in the bar area where the light food was superb, light and sophisticated. Breakfasts are wonderful, especially the apricot, prune and fig compote. Overall a wonderful, charming hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
A fabulous boutique hotel with a great location to explore Lewes/surrounding, and a fantastic place to indulge in some down time. The staff we're extremely helpful, and the pace is very relaxed. Will stay here again one day! Thank you to all at Pelham House for making our stay special!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Arrived early after trans atlantic so needeed to get some sleep. The staff were very helpful and got us in early, I thank you. The room was right up at the top of the building in the attic and the last flight of stairs is a bit much, bearing mind these old buildings have high ceilings. The room clean but overlooking scaffolding with building work in progress. The european staff very helpful but seem to be a bit untrained in operating the tills, standing with their back to you in confusion, leaving you standing at the bar wondering when they would turn around and attend to you. The food very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by charliefrom hertfordshire

situated in the centre of town

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: right in centre of town
Cons: its an old building how can you improve it?
Location: right in centre of town, plenty of book shops, pubs etc
great parking right outside main entrance, checked in at 3pm, room easy to find bar staff great, had a lovely 3 course dinner with wine bed very comfy, shower fine, lots of towels breakfast good, very fast service and great food, staff were all lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shirleyfrom west sussex

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: The food is excellent and the service first class
Cons: Parking is a problem but the hotel has a very limited number of spaces
Location: The location is excellent , lots of history in the area and the hotel itself. Buses are nearby also the rail station. Lots of small individual shops.
We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cfrom Wales

Lovely Lewes Treat

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Laid back feeling (maybe midweek thing). Easily bookable car-parking. Cosy room. Great town.
Cons: Rooms aren't big, so baths appear to be rare. Given the restrictions of the building, they aren't feasible. But a bath is nice...
Location: Drink the local beer. Go to one of many nice restaurants. Don't go on bonfire night unless you have lived there...
Keeping it brief... Wife's birthday. Used to live in Lewes. Nice dinner nearby followed by drinks with old friends. Stayed here overnight. Free upgrade to room with lovely view. Nice drink in the bar at the end of the evening. Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Room--comfortable bed, lots of storage for clothes, big windows with roman curtains, beautiful shower.
Cons: Fit the chair better to the desk (the chair was very comfortable but was lower than it should have been for the desk)
Location: Castle in Lewes, Virginia and Leonard Woolf's house in Rodmell
The room and hotel gardens made my stay memorable. I would stay at the Pelham hotel any time I am in Lewes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martinfrom UK

Single Traveller

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: cramped room
Location: Very central.
Friendly staff. The room was small, a little cramped, but fine for the purpose since I did not spend long in it.(No 1) Excellent shower. Breakfast superb. Nice touches : coffee in room above average and plenty of it, free fruit on reception, chocolate on bed at 'turn-down'. Terrace quite pleasant for an evening drink (or meal). Parking limited and a pity they charge. Also need to leave car keys at reception. Nice atmosphere in hotel overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pelhamfrom Stratford pon avon

Pelhams hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: The food and the staff
Cons: The reception and bar area needs a revamp
Location: Lovely little town
The staff were excellent and the food fantastic , the bedroom we had was warm and comfortable , the only downside was there was no shower just a bath which was a nice bath but would prefer a shower. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. As I said the room was lovely so I was quite surprised at the reception area which we thought was a bit tatty as was the lounge area and didn't reflect the nice rooms. We would definitely stay there again though it was really good value for money . The breakfast was also very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kjfrom London, UK

christmas festivities

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: lunch delicious and very happy staff.
Cons: bedroom lack of parking
Location: excellent for exploring lewes
arrived for birthday lunch. not aware about restricted parking and great difficulty in persuading them to find a place. spoilt the beginning of our stay. room at top of building and small room no view.