Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Nice place, excellent location but small bed!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and clenliness.
Cons: The 'double' bed was WAY too small. I'm not sure what size it was but myself and my girlfriend actually ended up grumpy with each other over it!
Location: Town centre for shopping, pubs / clubs and coffee shops. Old Town for browsing bric-a-brac and antique shops and quaint old-world pubs.
The couple who run this place clearly work very hrs and cleanliness was excellent. The location near the town centre is great whilst still being far enough away to avoid the noise. I found it very peaceful but my girlfriend noticed the traffic noise. I think that is more a consequence of her living where there is no traffic noise to be fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Keith from Kent

Lovely guest house but noisey

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent decor and service from the landlord, who really couldnt have been more friendly or helpful - top marks. However, not necessarily spoilt, but affected by 2 very noisey (louts in the street outside at 0400hrs) nights. Obviously not the Pheonix's fault, but worth considering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Shani Struthers from Brighton

A Little Gem

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
A fabulous little find, very central, very comfortable and very quiet. The owner is lovely too - he makes you feel welcome straightaway. I liked the independence of it too, there's no breakfast involved, you can wander into the Old Town for that - it's less than a 15 minute walk. Would definitely stay again. Fabulous value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pat and Sue from Bray, Co Wicklow

We thoroughly recommend the Phoenix guest house

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ed and Victoria are very friendly hosts. The guest house is very conveniently located for the station and seafront. We were impressed with the fresh and pleasant room decor, the large bed was extremely comfortable whilst the en suite shower was excellent. Although the 'fridge in our room stopped working soon after our arrival it was replaced as soon as this was mentioned to Victoria. The free WiFi worked perfectly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Danning from China

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice and considerate family. Clean rooms. Very good place to stay. :) Will come here again next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Awo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Geoff

If only breakfast

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Extreemly comfortable stay. The bedside lights confused me for a little while and I still dont know how they work but overall no fault could be found
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt

Brilliant Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent quality, very clean and well designed Hotel. The owners were also very friendly. Very good price for such good quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Graham

better than th rest

Posted Jan 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
great stylish accomodation at an affordable price. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anybody