Ratings based on 674 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room but hotel damaged

Posted Oct 15, 2014
This hotel could be beautiful, it boasts the best views from its huge bar and restaurant. Sadly due to age and neglect the sea front side has major water damage and now requires massive investment to turn this old beauty around. The room was small, tired but clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: the location was excellent.
Cons: think it just needs updating.
Location: right at the bottom of the lanes on the seafront. Perfect.
unfortunately, there had been a flood which resulted in the stairs being out of use with one lift to service all floors, which took forever.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom surrey

Good location

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Rooms were not clean and in disrepair. Bathroom floor flooded, carpet held down by black tape. Lifts were very dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hertfordshire

A beautifull hotel opposite beach

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The position, the staff, the room, it was clean,and friendly.great breakfast.good price for brighton.great family rooms.
Cons: Needs loads of tlc.needs painting,flowers and a bit of imagination.very decorativly run down.
Location: Brighton peir is opposite great position.great for shopping and sight seeing.
A beautifull Victorian hotel , right on the beach front.in poor decorative order , but as sort being done up. The staff were friendly and helpful,the breakfast was great,needs someone with love and imagination to bring this spectacular hotel up to visual scratch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old school hotel full of rickety charm

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: I loved the location, the view and the cosy feel. The rooms were clean and the staff accommodating.
Cons: Plainly, the facilities. The jets in our bath were broken and there was need for extensive renovation following storm damage.
Location: The location could hardly be better. Our booked restaurant was under five minutes away, as was the beach and the Lanes.
My girlfriend and I popped into the Royal Albion Hotel for our anniversary, spending a Saturday night there - I loved the charming seaside hotel atmosphere - and I recommend booking a sea view, which on a weekend was typically not cheap (nowhere was) but pretty much made the room - the hotel looks out on Brighton Pier, and had a somewhat weathered balcony to enjoy the view from. Don't expect deluxe trappings, but if you're after a low-fi treat, this is the one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Diss

Right opposite the pier was excellent

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Lovely hotel would recommend it to anyone perfect location comfy and clean
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I've stayed in

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Rooms are disgusting! I asked to move rooms as there was black mould on the floor, the sheets were stained, towels stained and walls were dirty. Moved rooms and it wasn't much better. I never complain but that was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The reception staff were lovely and helpful though.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great position, shame about the room.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Position
Cons: Rooms, bar
Location: Brigton Pier
The room smelt terrible. Also, I was told I could bring friends back to the bar later that evening & that the bar would be open, neither of which were true. Won't use it again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Horrible experience

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Dirty, smelly, damp and lack of clean air inside the dungeon room that was offered to us for the night. One towel for a couple and flat pillow for almost 90 pound night as well an no TV reception ,Terrible. I want my money back to be honest
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Royal Albion

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Sea view
Cons: Decorating. Very outdated
Location: Good location
Staff very unhelpful - poor facilities ... Badly needs decorating