Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exterior looked poor but interior OK old style

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Close to amenities
Cons: External decor but they are working on it apparently
Location: Pier Restaurants, amusements, car parks everything you could want
Great, check in quick, just reasonable, got what we paid for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C

Good hotel amazing location

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Good price for a Saturday night....right in the perfect location on the seafront. Easy getting in and out late at night. Good overall experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brook from CAN

What you would expect for price.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
View was amazing, hotel was very dated but what you would expect from a British seaside old hotel. Great big windows and the room was very large.
1 out of 5
by sharon

Rude staff, dirty rooms, inedible breakfast.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: What couldn't be?
Rude staff unable to cope with hotel being fully booked, breakfast chaos with a 20 minute wait and a room that had been paid for being used by another guest. Do not stay here not worth even the cheapest price.
2 out of 5
by Chris from Leeds

Very tired hotel, well past its best

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The architecture, history and location
Cons: So many things.. stated in my review above
Location: The hotel is right next to Brighton Pier on the seafront, there is a great view over the sea from the front restaurant/bar.
I arrived at 7:00 and was met by a large number of people trying to check in at once, no fault of the hotel of course but the check in process did not seem to be very efficient so took a good 20 minutes before I reached the desk. I was given a basement room with no windows, rusty fittings in the bathroom, no phone signal and no internet access. The advertisement on Expedia stated 'colour television'.. maybe in the 1970's this could be seen as a perk but it's 2014, a CRT television is unusual, as is no form of internet access.. I wouldn't have minded an ethernet cable but the room didn't even have this, the only wifi access was on the ground floor in the bar suggesting they have one single router. This meant that in my room I was totally cut off all evening. The carpets throughout are well past their best and despite being clean the whole place smelt slightly musty. It's a great old building in a fantastic location but it desperately needs significant modernisation if they want to compete with the cheaper, comfier and just plain better alternatives available elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Great location. Only good thing about the hotel.
Cons: Everything. Clean the rooms, redecorate, make sure everything in the rooms works, get rid of the smell.
I stayed for one night with two friends. We we're put in the basement and the tiny double rooms were shabby, damp and had a horrible smell. One room had no window at all and the others had a window which didn't open with a filthy net curtain, dirty window and a wall about 3 feet away. The tv remote didn't work in my room and neither did the bedside lamp. I made the mistake of looking at the duvet under the cover and wished I hadn't. I wouldn't stay again even if the rooms were free.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated but clean

Posted May 31, 2014
Location: Great location central Brighton
This place could do with bring up to the 21st century. Clean and good for budget
1 out of 5
by Geoff from Liphook, Hampshire

A stay by the seaside

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Checking out.
Cons: The entire hotel needs a complete re-fit.
Location: Shoppng, beach, nightclubs, Brighton is a great place to visit
We booked last minute to stay at the Royal Albion Hotel and wouldn't go back as the hotel is run down, needs a complete re-furb as the last one must have taken place in the 1970's. The floor boards creaked in the corridors and we didn't get any sleep what so ever due to drunken people shouting in the street below our window and then inside the hotel. The staff were very courteous but almost seemed embarassed to work there. Personally I was embarrased to think what people from other nations must think of us if this the standard of hotel accomodation we offer which wasn't cheap. To be fair to the hotel I don't think it's competitor's around it aren't in much better state but that really isn't an excuse. I'm not one for jumping on to websites and running down establishments but feel it only fair that others that maybe looking to book a holiday in Brighton should be warned. Brighton is a great place, sadly this hotel isn't.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated in need of repair

Posted May 27, 2014
Close to beech, very noisy Rude staff, expensive, no parking
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible! Don't stay here!

Posted May 26, 2014
Room very dirty! Black dust/dirt all round the window frame! Very dated. Bathroom awful, shower rubbish! Music so loud from the bar/club below the floor was vibrating!