Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Old school

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
Rooms and decoration are very old ...it feels like you've stepped back in time...almost charming. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, great location! Perfect for a short stay that won't break the bank!
2 out of 5
by Nick from Bristol

Centrally located, but quiet for a Thursday night.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Very little
Cons: Major refurbishment
Location: OK
The quality of the decoration is appalling and on the third floor is well below what I would expect from a two star hotel. The lift is ancient and requires you to close a lattice gate before it would operate. I found on a number of occasions guests had failed to do so and consequently the lift did not arrive. It would help if the hotel employed some local staff who were comprehensible. Breakfast unimaginative and served on very small plates to ensure you did not each too much. No proper shower facilities, relying on a hose attachment to the bath taps in a very small and unusually shaped bath. The hot water stopped running at one stage when in mid-shampooing and restored at a trickle. The entire hotel from staffing to accommodation need series improvements and shows a lack of management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AA from London

Ideal if you are running Brighton Marathon

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Most definitely WIFI on your room they only had on the lobby
Location: Very close to the beach and Brighton city centre also you can walk from the train station to the hotel about 15-20 min
I wasn't expecting much as I choose one of the cheapest hotel for an overnight stay so I could start the Brighton Marathon nice and fresh, I tell something, what had all the marks of being a nightmare turn up to be an excellent choice . Albeit not because of the facilities on the hotel ( they have one of those 1950's lift that I would be very aware ) but the girl on the reception and the manager, there was a problem with my shower head and I wasn't impressed when I complained I thought that it was going to be a manager trying not to acknowledge their short comings and perhaps ready to argue. To my surprise the manager was extremely apologetic, repaired the problem straight way and offered me a breakfast for free ( luck for him I don't eat anything before my marathon ) but the best was the offer for me to leave all my stuff on my run and come back to have a shower before I had home. To which I must say made my day, I am already thinking about running Brighton 2015 and definitely will be going back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angelique from Nederland

Prettig hotel op mooie locatie in Brighton

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Uitzicht, vriendelijk personeel
We hadden een kamer met mooi uitzicht op Regency Square, de zee en Brighton Pier. Het personeel is heel vriendelijk. Er is een (kleine) lift naar de verdiepingen. We kregen elke dag schone handdoeken, koffie en thee werden fijn bijgevuld. Het ontbijt was niet mijn smaak (English breakfast), maar was wel verzorgd en genoeg. Het hotel ligt zo ongeveer naast het strand en de westpier. De afstanden naar de bezienswaardigheden zijn goed beloopbaar. Gewoon een heel fijn hotel voor een paar nachten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by maryse from Rouen

tres bon

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels
Nous avons adoré c est sire nous y retourneron Personnel agreable et present pour les clients la veilleuse de nuit nous a sortie les horaires de bus et a même appeler les taxi pour nous renseigner sur le prix d une courses pour brigthon newhaven Hotel un peu viellot besoin de rafraîchissement mais notre chambre etait sublime
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Henry from Macclesfield

Great Location

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is a lovely old building, but needs some considerable re decoration and refurbishment, ie; rooms are large and spacious but need modernising, bathroom very 1970's some skirting boards missing. The breakfast is poor and needs to be put on a larger scale if number of guests increased. Food and service was fine though!Reception and restaurant staff were very courteous and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels
Great location, huge rooms, clean and tidy, hotel a bit 'tired' could do with a good lick of paint. Breakfast lovely. Well worth the price. Staff helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Johan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pia from Amager

Perfekt beliggenhed til prisen

Posted Nov 16, 2013 on Hotels
Ganske udemærket hotel. Dobbeltsengen viste sig at have to enkeltmadrasser, så det var ikke så behageligt, hvis man endte med at ligge i midten. Badeværelset var ret lille men ok. Vandtemperaturen svingede i bruseren. Morgenmaden var bestemt IKKE værd at stå tidligt op for. Vi droppede den på dag to. Og brug ikke tid på den lille restaurant, der ligger ved siden af hotellet. Virkelig dårlig service og lunken/kold mad. Men alt i alt et fint hotel med perfekt beliggenhed i en dejlig by.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alexander from Stockholm

Sunkigt hotell

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels
Helsunkigt hotell med värdelösa sängar och man ville absolut INTE titta under dessa!! Det ENDA någorlunda fräscha var faktiskt badrummet. Dock är läget mycket bra, vi hade faktiskt havsutsikt även om det inte var så lätt att se ut genom de skitiga fönstren. Gratis WiFi i närheten av receptionen var ok.