Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Pleasant pub accommodation.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, very comfortable bed, pleasant pub/dining room, helpful staff, well cooked standard pub food.
Cons: Simple repairs - e.g. broken shower flex/ light above basin not working. Cereal and juice would have been welcome at breakfast.
Location: Historic Lewes and National Trust/Art Fund buildings in the area.
A convenient and pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights when exploring Lewes and surrounding area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

When is Lewes Rd., Lewes NOT in Lewes?

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The landlady had been very accommodating in allowing us to get there so late, providing a means of entry after midnight.
Cons: Remove sacks of linen dumped in the upstairs corridor; serve real orange juice at breakfast.
Location: On a roundabout, one road being a main A road
We were new to this part of the UK and should probably have clarified exactly where the hotel was before trying to find it after midnight, straight from a wedding reception. Turns out the Black Lion Inn, Lewes Road, Lewes is actually in Halland - quite some way from Lewes and, as we later found out, only about 2 miles from the wedding reception. But we only found this out after driving 30-odd miles through the dark and fog and asking at a petrol filling station in Lewes and a pub on the outskirts of town. So, not brilliant. When we reached the Black Lion Inn, we discovered the walls were pretty thin, the floors all creaked (but not because they were medieval), bed, bedding and pillows were damp, breakfast was very average (the orange juice appeared to have been made from a powder, most of which was still in a sludge in the bottom of my glass) and the landlord disinterested.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Breakfast was the highlight

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Locks on the windows. Customer service.
Location: 15 minute drive to Lewes town.
The room and bathroom was quite small. The bathroom walls were stained with water splash marks.ALL of the locks on the windows were broken, meaning we could not close the windows. This caused the room to get very cold at night and it was very insecure. It is also very noisy from passing traffic at all hours, and not being able to close the windows added to this problem. The breakfast the next day was nice and a good portion size. I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David hollandfrom frimley

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fabulous English breakfast. Hospitality was excellent. Tea and coffee in room was very good but not obvious as tucked away into a drawer and we had to ask about whether it was included. Room was very cosy and beds turned down beautifully and very comfortable. But ensuite expelair not working with stains down ensuite walls. Back entrance view was cluttered with disposed of equipment etc. Overall it was a quite okay stat and saved by the amazing breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by D Griffinfrom Dorset

Comfy Bed, good pub grub

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed over night on business and the room was clean, if a bit small and there was plenty of hot water and I had a comfy bed. I had an excellent breakfast freshly cooked. The service was good and staff friendly and polite. I would stay again and there is plenty of parking space. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

4 night break

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: An informal and very friendly inexpensive Hotel
Just the job for our purpose - tp attend the wedding of our Grand-daughter nearby
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by F77from South Wales

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
friendly people . Confortable bed but not enough info on arrival and decoration to be updated (paint work, bathroom floor and grouting broken basin ....)
3 out of 5
by Paulfrom St Leonards on Sea

A little weekend away from home.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The quality of the food.
Cons: Better glazing on the bedroom windows.
Location: The villages of Uckfield (3 miles) and Heathfield (10 miles) are worth a visit, along with local attractions like Bentley Motor Museum.
Although my wife informed me that this inn had poor reviews, I was more than pleased with the quality of the food. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, with a comfortable bed, however there is noise from traffic and any noise within the building appeared to be amplified. Overall though a pleasant enough place to stay.