Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Paul from St Leonards on Sea

A little weekend away from home.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The quality of the food.
Cons: Better glazing on the bedroom windows.
Location: The villages of Uckfield (3 miles) and Heathfield (10 miles) are worth a visit, along with local attractions like Bentley Motor Museum.
Although my wife informed me that this inn had poor reviews, I was more than pleased with the quality of the food. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, with a comfortable bed, however there is noise from traffic and any noise within the building appeared to be amplified. Overall though a pleasant enough place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to the Bluebell Railway - easy route

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Cons: Lighting on the after hours entrance - focussed motion sensitive type to minimise disturbance
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The after access is a little strange but understandable. In it's own way it almost treats the quest as family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Colin from Wirral

really good.

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sorry, male reviewer and can mainly just remember the attractive barmaid ! ! ! However stayed one night and had evening meal, only gripe would be the slow breakfast service. Can never understand when b&b's don't put the cereals and fruit juice out for people to help them selves. Just seemed to take forever while this chap went backwards and forwards with cereal, juice, tea, coffee then cooked breakfast before moving to the next table. Whoever was the last ones in had to sit and wait. Having said all that would stay again if working in area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Isle of Wight

Consider the rate.

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Being about 15 minutes drive from each, very convenient location for visits to Charleston and Lewes. Friendly, hassle-free, late afternoon welcome and promptly shown to our room. Smallish, but clean and perfectly adequate. Very, very comfortable bed. Effective shower. WiFi connected immediately in the room. Comfortable bar area where we ordered dinner. Limited menu but interesting choices and ours (steak and ale pies) was generous and very good indeed. Breakfast, again served in the bar, was excellent although it did seem to revolve around "full english" and variations of components which may not suit all visitors. Butter and sauces in pots - not sachets! Details count. Against this good backdrop, there were only a couple of issues. One was the positioning of the pub by a busy road and roundabout. Some of the rooms (including ours) overlook this, but not all. It was a warm evening and an open window was necessary; so it was noisy. The Harveys Sussex Best ensured I slept well, my wife had a more disturbed night. With a closed window, the difficulty would be much reduced of course. The second was that one of the two original car parks seems to now be occupied by a "bouncy castle". There was ample space for us upon arrival, in the other, but it was midweek and the pub was pleasantly quiet. Also, the move suggested a family-friendly trend so, at weekends perhaps a lot busier overall? In conclusion, considering the rate we paid, inclusive of breakfast, a very good deal indeed.
3 out of 5
by Chris from UK

Pub Accommodation basic facilities.

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: Clean and comfortable room.
Cons: A more professional approach to breakfast eg menu availability and perhaps an offer of toast and marmalade etc and cereals.
Location: Only stayed one night for a specific event.
Good efficient welcome at bar/reception. Room clean and comfortable but without some facilities eg hair drier and soap ( but plenty of shampoo ). Breakfast fairly basic and it was necessary to ask for some items eg sauce and fruit juice. Nothing else offered other than variations on an English breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

trip to lewes

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: the room, and the food.
inn on the main road so a little noisy but nice clean room made up for it. v good value for money and rating. well positioned for local towns and places to see.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent 1 night stay

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Staff were very helpful.
Cons: Our breakfast table seemed to need a good cleaning as it was very sticky!
The room wasn't ready when we arrived but they let us in early so we could get washed and changed before going to a wedding and the landlord was very helpful in giving us a lift when no cabs were available. Our room had a massive kitchen extractor fan outside the window which was very noisy, however we could have been staying on the other side of the building with our room overlooking the roundabout, which probably would have been more noisy. Overall a nice B & B at a decent price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a short stay

Posted Jul 21, 2013
A really warm welcome, comfortable room and excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Maree from Australia

great old pub

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed 1 night but thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this old pub. Service was great.