Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant pub accommodation.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, very comfortable bed, pleasant pub/dining room, helpful staff, well cooked standard pub food.
Cons: Simple repairs - e.g. broken shower flex/ light above basin not working. Cereal and juice would have been welcome at breakfast.
Location: Historic Lewes and National Trust/Art Fund buildings in the area.
A convenient and pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights when exploring Lewes and surrounding area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

When is Lewes Rd., Lewes NOT in Lewes?

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The landlady had been very accommodating in allowing us to get there so late, providing a means of entry after midnight.
Cons: Remove sacks of linen dumped in the upstairs corridor; serve real orange juice at breakfast.
Location: On a roundabout, one road being a main A road
We were new to this part of the UK and should probably have clarified exactly where the hotel was before trying to find it after midnight, straight from a wedding reception. Turns out the Black Lion Inn, Lewes Road, Lewes is actually in Halland - quite some way from Lewes and, as we later found out, only about 2 miles from the wedding reception. But we only found this out after driving 30-odd miles through the dark and fog and asking at a petrol filling station in Lewes and a pub on the outskirts of town. So, not brilliant. When we reached the Black Lion Inn, we discovered the walls were pretty thin, the floors all creaked (but not because they were medieval), bed, bedding and pillows were damp, breakfast was very average (the orange juice appeared to have been made from a powder, most of which was still in a sludge in the bottom of my glass) and the landlord disinterested.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Breakfast was the highlight

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Locks on the windows. Customer service.
Location: 15 minute drive to Lewes town.
The room and bathroom was quite small. The bathroom walls were stained with water splash marks.ALL of the locks on the windows were broken, meaning we could not close the windows. This caused the room to get very cold at night and it was very insecure. It is also very noisy from passing traffic at all hours, and not being able to close the windows added to this problem. The breakfast the next day was nice and a good portion size. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

4 night break

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: An informal and very friendly inexpensive Hotel
Just the job for our purpose - tp attend the wedding of our Grand-daughter nearby
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by F77 from South Wales

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
friendly people . Confortable bed but not enough info on arrival and decoration to be updated (paint work, bathroom floor and grouting broken basin ....)
3 out of 5
by Paul from St Leonards on Sea

A little weekend away from home.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The quality of the food.
Cons: Better glazing on the bedroom windows.
Location: The villages of Uckfield (3 miles) and Heathfield (10 miles) are worth a visit, along with local attractions like Bentley Motor Museum.
Although my wife informed me that this inn had poor reviews, I was more than pleased with the quality of the food. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, with a comfortable bed, however there is noise from traffic and any noise within the building appeared to be amplified. Overall though a pleasant enough place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to the Bluebell Railway - easy route

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Cons: Lighting on the after hours entrance - focussed motion sensitive type to minimise disturbance
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The after access is a little strange but understandable. In it's own way it almost treats the quest as family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Colin from Wirral

really good.

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sorry, male reviewer and can mainly just remember the attractive barmaid ! ! ! However stayed one night and had evening meal, only gripe would be the slow breakfast service. Can never understand when b&b's don't put the cereals and fruit juice out for people to help them selves. Just seemed to take forever while this chap went backwards and forwards with cereal, juice, tea, coffee then cooked breakfast before moving to the next table. Whoever was the last ones in had to sit and wait. Having said all that would stay again if working in area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Isle of Wight

Consider the rate.

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Being about 15 minutes drive from each, very convenient location for visits to Charleston and Lewes. Friendly, hassle-free, late afternoon welcome and promptly shown to our room. Smallish, but clean and perfectly adequate. Very, very comfortable bed. Effective shower. WiFi connected immediately in the room. Comfortable bar area where we ordered dinner. Limited menu but interesting choices and ours (steak and ale pies) was generous and very good indeed. Breakfast, again served in the bar, was excellent although it did seem to revolve around "full english" and variations of components which may not suit all visitors. Butter and sauces in pots - not sachets! Details count. Against this good backdrop, there were only a couple of issues. One was the positioning of the pub by a busy road and roundabout. Some of the rooms (including ours) overlook this, but not all. It was a warm evening and an open window was necessary; so it was noisy. The Harveys Sussex Best ensured I slept well, my wife had a more disturbed night. With a closed window, the difficulty would be much reduced of course. The second was that one of the two original car parks seems to now be occupied by a "bouncy castle". There was ample space for us upon arrival, in the other, but it was midweek and the pub was pleasantly quiet. Also, the move suggested a family-friendly trend so, at weekends perhaps a lot busier overall? In conclusion, considering the rate we paid, inclusive of breakfast, a very good deal indeed.