Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom surrey

Lovely stylish hotel situated in very pretty town

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Everything was lovely but slight niggle about kettle, nowhere really sensible to plug in and very short lead. Bathroom nearly 100%, just slightly worn with cracked basin. Not really complaining just pointing out! Otherwise very comfortable and pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom surrey

Friendly hotel well placed within town

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Attractive decor and helpful staff
Cons: See above
Location: Charming and quaint town with mostly independent shops.
Pity the refurb didn't include secondary glazing. Our room onto HighStreet was very noisy from 6 a.m. Onwards. Excellent breakfast. All staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Relaxing break away

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Central position
Cons: The restuarant was disappointing menu and annoying bell for service at the kitchen
Location: Parking was a nightmare we had to move the car three times before eventually booking in at 3 not the most relaxing start to the day!!!
Lovely hotel thought the evening meal was "ok" menu and quality we have had better for the hotel standard. Also a little annoying feature the continuous bell ringing for service at the kitchen, I accept the waiters need to know when to serve however it was irritating and unnecessary shame!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hove, England

Lovely retreat in charming Rye

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Had a wonderful stay at The George in Rye. Took my other half away for a surprise evening, and was delighted with the service we received. The staff could not have been more attentive or helpful. We also dined in the restaurant that evening, and had a lovely meal. We were highly impressed with the seasonality and local produce on the menu. We stayed in a superior double room, which was gorgeous and the bed and sheets, heavenly. The only slight negatives, would be the lack of tissues in the room and that the bathroom fan was very loud. A highly enjoyable experience all round. Looking forward to a return visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dennisfrom Melbourne

Just right

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
The George gets it right. Perfect balance of Country charm with premium service. Don't hesitate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Gloucester

Excellent Rooms and Food

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
The rooms themselves were nice with good quality furnishings and comfortable (if not a little soft) beds. The bathroom was probably superior to the bedroom in terms of quality. And where the bathroom lacked in a shower, it had a very nice, deep, roll top bath. In the evening I went to read in the bar with a drink, but there was very little seating area with the restaurant very busily spilling in to the bar area and it was difficult to actually get served with only one person manning the bar. Come dinner time however, the restaurant was well presented and well attended to with waiting staff. The food was excellent. The same with breakfast, excellent food, choice and service, however I found the cooked breakfast portions to be a little small.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lymington

General

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Plenty of charm & character and staff very efficient . Don't like service charge put on bar snacks, my pet hate. Our bedroom never got warm enough to be comfortable and the out side bedrooms are difficult to negotiate when icy underfoot. Food was good in the Restaurant but a little pricy and a dirty breakfast tray lay all day and all evening across from our bedroom when we arrived at 3 p/m/ till after we went up to our room at 10 p.m.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ianfrom Cambridge

George Hotel review

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
This is a very good hotel and the breakfast is A1. I could not fault it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Certainement le meilleur choix à Rye

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
L'emplacement de l’hôtel est excellent, le seul petit hic c'est qu'il faut se garer dans un parking public à quelques centaines de mètres (1.50 livres les 24 heures). Mais Rye est une ville médiévale, il ne faut pas s'attendre à trouver un parking à l’hôtel qui est sur la rue principale. Les chambres sont plutôt jolies mais elles manquent par contre de rangements. Pour un séjour de 3 nuits ce n'est pas trop gênant mais pour un séjour plus long ce pourrait être plus difficile. La restauration est d'un bon niveau bien qu'un tout petit peu chère. Le bâtiment étant très ancien, l'insonorisation est assez moyenne, ce qui ne nous a pas trop gêné mais pourrait être plus ennuyeux avec les beaux jours. Dans l'ensemble ce fut un séjour agréable mais le personnel du bar et du restaurant gagnerait à être plus souriant et moins "crispé".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachaelfrom East Sussex

The George - Restaurant service disappointing

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was so romantic and perfect apart from our experience in the restaurant. We were sat infront of the kitchen serving hatch, we ordered our meal (Black & Blue burger, & Ale battered fish n chips)& a bottle of wine; To whereby we heard the American Chef at the front of the kitchen take the order from the waitress & say 'wahay, they've really gone all out on this on, really gone to town', laughing at our choices as we hadn't ordered the pretentious beef or something similar, he mocked us in front of us. The male waiter also smirked when taking our order. This sadly left us feeling embarressed and my husband wanted to walk out at his point. We did stay and the meal was good. Sadly left a bitter taste which would have been perfect Anniversay break otherwise. He was loud and cocky not quiet or respectful - a real shame on an otherwise great break. It wasn't cheap so I don't expect to be treated like this our meal came to £76 so we had spent a lot on our meal, I would recommend maybe eating elsewhere & just stay at the Hotel.