Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

The Hotel was very good. The rooms were spacious.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms were lovely, clean, well maintained, and equipped. The choices for breakfast were plentiful and good quality food, well presented.
Cons: I can think of nothing negative to say about the Staff or the facilities. I would definitely hope to come again, next year.
Location: Brighton has a good variety of things to do, for young and the more mature visitor.
When we arrived at The Grand, we found the Staff very helpful and welcoming.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

One night stay standard double with dogs

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We booked in for one night to stay after a party in Brighton, with our 2 dogs for which we were charged extra. Bearing in mind we had the dogs, we were place don the top 7th floor. The room was pokey with just enough room for the double bed. The 'view' was of an un-painted rough-rendered wall, drainage and sewer pipes and a multi-storey car-park - all through a really filthy window. There was only one dressing gown in the room and we had to ask for another, and there was no kettle which never arrived. On the plus side the staff were all friendly and helpful. And the communal bar areas comfortable and the breakfast was good. Overall, we had been looking forward to a little comfort and luxury but quite frankly I wish we'd spent the money supporting one of the smaller independent hotels or guest houses.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel is close to the Beach and very central. Hotel staff is freindly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay at the grand

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We had a really marvellous stay at the grand, just one little slip up with our bill at the end of our stay, which I hope will be resolved in the next couple of days. Really a lovely and relaxing hotel, I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely old fashioned glamour

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some mixed reviews but I thought it was lovely! Room didn't have a view but it was packed sure to a wedding going on. Room was a good size, comfy beds, very clean, great bathroom etc. staff were really helpful and recommended great places to go eat and drink that was just what we were after and away from the crazy madness! Breakfast also fab, great selection and very accommodating staff. Glad we payed a bit extra to stay here as it wasn't that much more than the alternatives that looked no where near as good. Id defo recommend !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with ocean views

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A real pleasure to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Super Grand Hotel!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Everything!
This was my first stay in Brighton and my husband and I stayed just for one night. It was perfect. The room was fantastic, having a King size bed and it was very spacious. We ordered room service for our breakfast and it arrived on time, which was fantastic, for a small extra cost. The breakfast was very good, our food piping hot and on eating delicious. We went on to the Goodwood Festival of Speed and this proved to be a perfect location to do just that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A grand hotel but not so grand

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Staff great, polite and always helpful nothing is to much trouble
Cons: Rooms need some work on, looking tired
Location: Great olfaction near to beach and centre of Brighton
Great location, staff excellent through out our stay, lounge/ bar area great but our room dated and small needs some TLC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrew from w

Exceptional service all round

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Had a sea view room with balcony and it was very comfortable and nicely appointed. Staff were extremely attentive and courteous throughout our stay.
1 out of 5
by Joe from S

"Grand" is a misnomer

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Squalid room. No air conditioning. Window locked shut. Bathroom extractor fan not functioning . Horrible smell in wardrobe (perhaps someone vomited in there?). A truly nasty overnight stay.