Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely old fashioned glamour

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some mixed reviews but I thought it was lovely! Room didn't have a view but it was packed sure to a wedding going on. Room was a good size, comfy beds, very clean, great bathroom etc. staff were really helpful and recommended great places to go eat and drink that was just what we were after and away from the crazy madness! Breakfast also fab, great selection and very accommodating staff. Glad we payed a bit extra to stay here as it wasn't that much more than the alternatives that looked no where near as good. Id defo recommend !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with ocean views

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A real pleasure to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Super Grand Hotel!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Everything!
This was my first stay in Brighton and my husband and I stayed just for one night. It was perfect. The room was fantastic, having a King size bed and it was very spacious. We ordered room service for our breakfast and it arrived on time, which was fantastic, for a small extra cost. The breakfast was very good, our food piping hot and on eating delicious. We went on to the Goodwood Festival of Speed and this proved to be a perfect location to do just that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A grand hotel but not so grand

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Staff great, polite and always helpful nothing is to much trouble
Cons: Rooms need some work on, looking tired
Location: Great olfaction near to beach and centre of Brighton
Great location, staff excellent through out our stay, lounge/ bar area great but our room dated and small needs some TLC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrew from w

Exceptional service all round

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Had a sea view room with balcony and it was very comfortable and nicely appointed. Staff were extremely attentive and courteous throughout our stay.
1 out of 5
by Joe from S

"Grand" is a misnomer

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Squalid room. No air conditioning. Window locked shut. Bathroom extractor fan not functioning . Horrible smell in wardrobe (perhaps someone vomited in there?). A truly nasty overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
No fridge in the suite. Disappointing for a five star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maureen from Aberdeenshire

Nice hotel, breakfast amazing. Grand Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Came to see rod stewart at Amex stadium. Beautiful clean beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kevin from england

Nice but has faults

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: To be honest I would have enjoyed a premier inn as much
Location: Location was great
Was I expecting more from this hotel ? Yes. Given the reputation of this hotel I think they have forgotten the small details. Only enough milk to make two cups of tea in the room if you want more you have to ask for it. No remote for the TV . Rooms were clean and tidy but we're feeling tired and could use a facelift . No soap dish in the shower and only one towel per person but dressing gowns were supplied. All in all only ok for the price. Breakfast service on the 1st morning could have been better we were left with dirty plates on our table while our coffee was taken away without asking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Panaromic beach front view

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The room was beautiful, full of natural light and a bed to die for.