Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW London

Old school five star hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This is what's expected of a five star hotel. Nothing went wrong; nothing caused concern and we just relaxed. The food was excellent, the concierge team had a good sense of humour and the waiting team were attentive. One of the few hotels we would not hesitate to recommend and return to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK.

Five star hotel with five star prices.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: We did receive a nice card in our room congratulating us for our 49th Anniversary that night.
Cons: Even the Holiday Inn would have given a voucher for a free drink in the bar!
Location: Plenty of choice of good reasonable priced restaurants nearby. (Cheapest evening dinner at hotel was £39 before paying for wine).
Good breakfast. Very slow service getting coffee in bar room in evening, even when only two other people were there. Cost of two coffees was over £13. Good location and convenient parking. However, I have experienced better five star hotel stays abroad in Brazil, India and S.Korea!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

impressive building

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: nice building and staff were very good
Cons: the decor is a bit dated
Location: right on the beach so good for walking
stayed mid week hotel was quiet. well looked after in the bar and the room service food was good. breakfast was also good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

An imposing building states Quality

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: A relaxing experience, being looked after by an attentive but unobtrusive friendly staff team.
Cons: For us the beds were too soft and if you really want twin beds ensure they are provided - as opposed to zip/link double seperated by approx 3 inches
Location: As a previous resident of Eastbourne parts of town now look very run down. Sad. The seafront remains the jewel. Good prom walks.
Eastbourne is a parking nightmare - drive to the Grand Hotel for your stay where a concierge unloads the luggage, whisks the car away to a safe, free parking place and returns the keys by the time you are taken to your room for a night or more of being spoilt by friendly staff at all levels - making the stay memorable and the desire to repeat the experience ' a powerful magnet '. Give yourself a treat. Indulge. Enjoy. Experience. Then choose to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gillingham

Grand in Name & Grand in Style

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Last minute booking, so room allocated to us was probably the smallest double in the hotel. Old fashioned decor and small in every way, including the bed. Public rooms live up to 5 star billing, excellent greeting and valet parking. Some of the staff in the public areas are not very proactive - it seemed to take an effort to get service on many occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

The Grand - Eastbourne

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We loved staying at the charming and historic Grand. The staff were friendly and the food, first class. The entrance lobby, lounge and the Garden Restaurant where we had dinner are truly beautiful. However, the carpets in the hallway and rooms on the third floor (where our rooms were) and the paintwork was worn and tired. Also the tiles around the indoor pool and paintwork could use some attention too. The outside paintwork and weeds growing on window sills were surprising. The service and comfort were lovely but my parents and I felt that the hotel was looking a little neglected. We hope she will be restored to her former stunning glory. Overall, we had a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The room we were given was comfortable and clean but mybone complaint was the window was high up with no view at all and made the room feel clostraphobic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Initial impression of the hotel was great. Excellent valet service and the decor of the lobby and communal areas were very good. Staff were very polite. However rooms felt a little dated in comparison to the main part of the hotel. Expedia made a huge mistake with the booking. We booked an executive room for 2 adults which was fine and a junior suite for 2 adults and 1 child. Upon arrival to the hotel, we were informed that Expedia had only confirmed the junior suite for 2 adults. We then had to pay extra for the child both for the room and breakfast which was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice rooms

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: It was adequate. One of the bar staff in the evening was quite surly. I'm not sure why it is a 5 star when Ashford Park for example is only 4
Cons: The staff could do with some training, at breakfast we were escorted to a table but no information was given on the how's and where's.
Lovely hotel but our room was to the side of the building where there is a bus stop used by the local drunks - need I say more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The staff-all were a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Outdoor heated pool welcome.
Cons: The junior suite was spacious but would be classed as a family room in most other hotels-it was just a bedroom and a bathroom with no living room.
Location: Quieter part of Eastbourne with beach and Beachy Head readily accessible.
Staff were firendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until we departed. The hotel itself could be modernised but most of the facilities are fine. We did have an issue of items being put on our bill [someone else's lunch and drinks] but that was rectified without question. Location could not be better. I would not regard the room as a junior suite, spacious though it was. Bathroom was huge but with a small bath come shower with a cheap plastic curtain. Check-in at 3pm is a bit late but they were fine with a slightly late check out and allowing us to have the car parked for 2-3 hours after we had checked-out.