Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Lovely room

Posted Apr 27, 2015
We booked the 4 poster bed which was well worth the extra expense. There is a small extra room where you can sit and enjoy the view, or relax with a cup of tea. The hotel staff were very professional and the hotel is nicely situated up on the hill of the lovely town of Rye. We did not eat dinner there because we wanted to explore town, but the breakfast was very satisfactory.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely view shame about uncomfortable bed!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
A cosy hotel and beautiful location overlooking the town and harbour. Lovely view from room 6, but a terrible nights sleep on a poor quality mattress that slumped in the middle. We both woke up with sore aching backs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weekend break

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Great location on the edge of the town with views onto marshes and towards the sea. Its location on a cobbled street keeps the main traffic away.
weekend away using the train to get to Rye. hotel within easy walking distance of train station and close to all other attractions,shops and restaurants in Rye. great character building which means a lot of steps which may not be suitable for some. our room was small but perfectly formed but may be uncomfortable for tall people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lenfrom Highams park

Superb view

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room rather cramped but excellent breakfast and dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Great option, well located, very atmospheric.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
This goes above and beyond being a 'pub with rooms'. Staff are excellent, rooms well appointed and clean. Breakfast superb. Nothing glitzy, a very old building that outperforms most purpose built hotels with charisma. The location is ideal, perched high above the quay and only a short stroll to any of the many eateries. We ate at the hotel on one evening; the food was OK but not reflective of everything else on offer - overly complicated and inadequately executed. Treat yourself, enjoy your stay, but eat out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quaint, comfy hotel; disappointing shower!

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff and service was excellent; professional, friendly, courteous, helpful at all times. Hotel itself in a very quaint part of town up a cobbled street and tucked away at the top of the town, very close to the high street and station. We were in the Channel View room. The room was comfortable and cosy overall with a decent bed and nice decor. however the bathroom only had a shower, which hardly had any pressure and wasn't very warm (verging on luke warm...). There was also mold on the ceiling when we arrived - housekeeping did come in to spray it however and dealt with it quickly. Would have preferred a better bathroom and as it didn't have a bath it was disappointing the shower was so poor. We asked to move rooms to one with a bath but they were fully booked. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. We also dined in the evening which was again delicious with excellent service. Overall a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A travellerfrom Guildford

Superb location

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The age and history of the building is part of its appeal so don't expect the luxury of a modern boutique hotel. The twin room in the attic (Nook and Cranny) is not suitable if you are 6 foot 5 inches tall. It was impossible to stand fully upright in the bedroom or shower room, hence the average rating for comfort. The staff were extremely pleasant and would have changed the room if the hotel had not been fully booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Herne Bay Kent

Good positioned hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Restaurant meals, both breakfast and dinner.
Cons: Our room accessibility, parking availability.
Location: Good high position overlooking Rye and countryside.....there is ample 'browsing' in Rye shops to occupy you.
Difficult to find hotel via narrow cobbled streets (trust your sat nav) parking is difficult although when space found a 'permit' for stay is provided. Good position overlooking Rye, especially from public room areas and front bedrooms. Unfortunately we had a rear bedroom with two steps down to ensuite and slightly sloping floor where the ceiling slopped in places especially over the bath with shower, awkward to use as no 'splash' guard, floor became wet and slippery. Certainly Room No 7 not for above average height occupants or those with even minimal mobility problems. The restaurant was first-class, excellent breakfasts and evening meals. Staff very pleasant and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mirafrom London

Great stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for one night. The small double room was clean and comfortable. We had the three course meal with a bottle of wine in the evening and breakfast the following morning. The food was delicious. The services was great. Would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com