Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Herne Bay Kent

Good positioned hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Restaurant meals, both breakfast and dinner.
Cons: Our room accessibility, parking availability.
Location: Good high position overlooking Rye and countryside.....there is ample 'browsing' in Rye shops to occupy you.
Difficult to find hotel via narrow cobbled streets (trust your sat nav) parking is difficult although when space found a 'permit' for stay is provided. Good position overlooking Rye, especially from public room areas and front bedrooms. Unfortunately we had a rear bedroom with two steps down to ensuite and slightly sloping floor where the ceiling slopped in places especially over the bath with shower, awkward to use as no 'splash' guard, floor became wet and slippery. Certainly Room No 7 not for above average height occupants or those with even minimal mobility problems. The restaurant was first-class, excellent breakfasts and evening meals. Staff very pleasant and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mirafrom London

Great stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for one night. The small double room was clean and comfortable. We had the three course meal with a bottle of wine in the evening and breakfast the following morning. The food was delicious. The services was great. Would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Great hotel in Rye old town

Posted Aug 23, 2014
We had a lovely two night stay with dinner included both nights which proved excellent value (included a bottle of very good wine between us). Our room (6) had a lovely view across to Winchelsea. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order and there was a great spread. Recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dirkfrom Belgium

small bed

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Below expectations. Very small bed. No possibility for dinner although lot of free tabels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel overlooking Rye

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at the Hope Anchor a few times before and it's always a great hotel for a short break. The rooms vary in size but all clean and comfortable, staff are friendly and professional and theres free wi-fi and parking. The breakfast is also great but incredibly silent in the dining room - needs background music perhaps! The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the town with great views out to the harbour and surrounding countryside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simmofrom Cheshire

Delightful place

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely place, very clean, great location - Nice breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chrisfrom Deal

great deal, great stay

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a gem of a place. Really helpful prior to arriving, and once we were there the service levels never faltered. Our room was lovely with great views across the marsh. The bed was very comfortable and the room immaculate. Our evening meal was delicious and the bottle of wine we had hit the spot. Breakfast was of high quality and very substantial, kept us going all day. We look forward to our return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small friendly hotel in ideal location overlooking

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location and staff, food, comfortable room.
Cons: Hotel was booked out for Dinner on day of arrival, and request for decent Bar Food was discouraged with answer that only sandwiches were available. T
Location: Ideally situated in the old part of Rye, yet with shortcuts down to the more modern part, railway station etc. Ideally situated for sightseeing, in a
Friendly Staff, good food, nice room. However no single rooms available at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brianfrom London

At the top of the town,lovely views.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff. Superb!
Location: Lovely walks to the Rye Harbour nature reserve and Camber castle.
We were met with a "hello and welcome" . Staff are lovely.