Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beds

Good value for money.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Stayed here for one night with 13 year old daughter. Was just 2 minutes from the pier. It's 'no frills' but was very clean and comfortable. Tea & coffee making facilities. Staff very polite. I'd probably skip the breakfast just because room was very full and portions small but I'm greedy! Recommend if you are staying in Brighton for a couple of nights at most and just want a place to sleep. Great value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from south yorkshire

Location very close to lots of the attractions

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: breakfast was good, good room size with a toddler, and the travel cot. Everything we wanted in brighton was within a short wall
Cons: Fans in rooms on particualrly hot spells, so we could leave windows closed and avoid the noise of the passing marching bands!!!
Location: As mentioned above, everything is close to hand- the beach, brighton wheel, sea life centre, main downtown section
Hotel was good for the price, did everything it said!! However, it was incredibly noisy- we didn't appreciate that the noise in brighton never stops!! Do not stay here with a little child like we did or in the height of summer when you need windows open, like we did!! Neither of these things are the fault of the hotel tho!! Also, a bit of a pain that there is no parking, had to move our car quite a few times and ended up paying £20 to leave it in a car park for the day!! Would have asked for a better place/recommendation at reception but we never saw anyone who we could ask!!
1 out of 5
by Unhappy guest from west sussex

Nightmare in Brighton

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was provided in the next door building and the staff were welcoming and friendly, their service can be appreciated.
Cons: The management should seriously look into room quality, supervise maintenance team regarding cleaning and provide staff availability in the reception.
Location: The location was ideal for the beach proximity and closeby to the Brighton pier and sealife aquarium etc.
The stay cannot be described anything less than 'Horrible'. If I was asked any suggestion about naming the Hotel, my best option will be ''Horror hotel''.Let me list down few of the things to support my above statement. 1.The room was so inclined such that it was almost mountain trekking walking inside the room.One cannot lie down on the bed without holding the headboard or else your roommate would sing ''Humpty dumpty had a great fall''. 2.The spare pillows and throws would not have been washed at all as the contagious smell made me suffocate during the entire night, infact I was just waiting for the sunrise to escape from the room. 3. I had been alloted the topmost (3rd floor) Ensuite room but there was continuous movement above the roof (maybe the noise came from the attic) 4. My doors of my room as well as the adjacent one doors were too hard to close so that my neighbour had to hit it with a banging noise(which he did every half an hour or so throughout the night). 5.I had to pass the entire night forcefully listening to the adjacent room's quarrel which made my heart skip a beat every few minutes. 6.The ensuite room was slightly larger than my trolley case bag. Yes indeed I really need to appreciate the designer who managed to fit in a mug sized sink almost above the wc and a tiny shower room also in that space. That would be the tip of the iceberg.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget Stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Close to the seafront and pier. A short walk to the main centre.
Location: Good location. Fab restaurant (Witchez) around the corner. Loved the Pavilion, The Lanes, Volks Railway & crazy golf!
For the price we paid (which was far less than a Travelodge, etc), this B&B was a very reasonable stop-over. It would be very unfair to compare it against a much more expensive establishment, as you generally get what you pay for and we paid for a cheap B&B. The place isn't a top-notch glam hotel with matching accessories, but it was clean and basic. The breakfast wasn't gourmet nosh, but given it was included in the low price, I thought it was good value for what we were paying. If you want matching furniture, a surfeit of staff and fancy decor, I would recommend that you spend far more and book into somewhere else. If you want a budget stay in the centre of a very expensive town and are not worried about the frills, this place might be the place to book. But please don't expect a fancy hotel for your minimalist budget!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by philippa from brighton

okay

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
breakfast was great, the room needs a bigger bed, and the doverts would be great in winter but inappropriate in summer. The ensuite was small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice location with a very comfy bed!

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The bed and location
Cons: Bigger bathroom
A solid hotel with a lovely location and a very comfortable bed. It was good value for money and the staff were lovely. I would definitely recommend them if you want the basics done well.
1 out of 5
by Graduate from South West

Tatty b&b - just like 1950s b&bs

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location was close to sea, pier, Pavilion. Could be really nice if updated and improved, with manager who was present and breakfast at a sensible time
We arrived and had to ring bell to gain admittance. A foreign young man appeared from the basement to let us in. No reception area but had to go down to basement for him to find our booking. Naked light bulbs on the landing and very basic. Had ensuite triple room - shower was barely big enough to stand in, let alone turn round in. Beds were okay - just. Decorations and furnishings very dated. Breakfast on a Saturday morning didn't start till 9.45 (!!!). We explained we had to be somewhere by 8.30 - young man said he would ask manager, and then came back to say we could have breakfast at 8.30! We explained that this was not good enough, but he said there was nothing he could do. We never saw the manager at all so unable to complain. When we left at about 8.15 on the Saturday morning, there was no-one around at all, and the basement was all locked up. Overall it was just like being in a b&b in the 1950s. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy.
3 out of 5
by Kay from Ludlow Shropshire

Good location but basic

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Proximity to the seafront. Nobody bothered you. Cleanliness of room and cleaner replenished towels and tea / coffee. Bed comfortable.
Cons: I think that the lack of parking could be addressed on the website. It is possible to park on seafront or in nearby road for 11 hrs quite cheaply.
Location: Pier, pavilion, lanes, marina, restaurants, shops, Brighton eye.
Arrived in dark and with rain pelting down on a busy Saturday evening. The hotel was easy to find but there was nowhere to park outside the hotel. There is no reception in the hotel / hostel - in fact it consists of a stair case with doors. The member of staff was polite but knew nothing about parking because he was new and had to go next door (same company) and ask. The answer was a very expensive car park. We parked in a loading bay until a space became available. The room was clean but the bathroom was tiny and it was at times very cold. There was a good tv and coffee / tea making facilities. Also we didn't go to breakfast as it involved going to hotel next door and the reviews didn't sound great - breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and there are so many good places to go to in Brighton anyway. The room was reasonable enough not to worry that you'd wasted your money paying for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Margaret from Brighton

lovely friendly host and perfectly positioned

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and quiet except for the famous Brighton Seagulls giving us an early alarm call!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the pier

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Very nice friendly staff, cooked breakfast wasn't bad. Room was very comfy and all facilities listed on website provided.