Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Bob from Surrey

Crooked House.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Location of the hotel is very good. It is close to the beach and nightlife etc.
Cons: Refurbishment and better trained staff would help. Basic cleanliness should be first to be addressed then state of furniture and fittings.
Location: Lots for everyone. Idea for couples.
We stayed in the Chinoise Garden Room April 2014 and found the room to be unfit for purpose. The floor is so sloped that a glass actually slid off the table and we were unable to put anything on it at all. The bed is also slanted and we found ourselves rolling toward one side of it throughout the night which in turn gave us both a stiff back. The bath sealant was mouldy and the bathroom door lock was missing. Furniture had handles missing. The room was so uncomfortable that we left as soon as we had awoken without even stopping for breakfast. Frankly how this hotel can be regarded as 4 stars I have no idea, £150 totally wasted. As for the staff, we found the receptionist very unhelpful and appeared to lack basic training. For example, on arrival we asked where we could park during our stay and was told she didn't know of anywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by guthers from London

tired grandeur

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel needs a complete upgrade. There is practically no reception. No breakfast is served. The bed creaks very loudly. It is overpriced for what you get.
1 out of 5
by J from london, UK

A huge disappointment.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing at all, we were pleased to leave as quickly as possible.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Location: Good location, but there were many other hotels and guest houses near by who would offer a better service.
Unfortunately our room did not resemble the photo on the Expedia site. This was a one of many mis representations we encountered. The breakfast which was advertised as being included was simply "not available", and we were not offered any form of refund for this. The tiny 4th floor attic room we were given did not boast any of the 'Royal Pavillion' splendour the web site promised. The bed sheets were musty and the shower barely worked. The fridge and the safe did not work at all, and when we tried to report this we realised there was also no phone in the room. Instead we trudged up and down four flights of stairs (no lift) to report this, and other problems. Their crowning achievement materialised later on during our first night when we realised the heating also did not work. The one member of staff present advised it had not been turned on all year. Even our request to leave our luggage after the rather early check out time of 10am appeared to be a huge inconvenience, as the "hotel" was not staffed throughout large periods of the day. I can only advise that you stay anywhere else but the Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from herts uk

Within walking distance to the lanes and beach

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Lovely hotel, i would stay there again! Walking distance to the beach bars and clubs, short walk to the lanes and shopping centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance to the lanes and beach

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Lovely hotel, i would stay there again! Walking distance to the beach bars and clubs, short walk to the lanes and shopping centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Close to all must-see sights

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay in The Royal Pavilion Townhouse Hotel. Our room, the Beijing Dragon, was decorated with period furniture and included a four posted bed. The bathroom included a Jacuzzi. The room's bowed window faced on to Regency Square and also had a nice view of the sea. In the morning the hotel provided us with a good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike & Linda from Kent

King and Queen for a Day

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: You know, it's really not even worth mentioning the insignificant little 'fixes' that you can find in every similar hotel.
Location: It's Brighton. If you can't find something to do - go home. :-)
We stayed for one night in the La Chambre De Louis room. This is a really fun room with wonderful trompe l'oeil-decorated walls, paintings that have clearly been chosen with some thought, faux candle chandeliers and a very cool four-poster with canopy. A really high ceiling gives a great sense of space; the huge balcony windows can be opened (but watch out for the gulls!) and a chaise-longue lets you recline and watch the world go by. And yes, you can even see the sea! We chose this hotel deliberately to avoid the sterile, soulless 'big name' hotels, and we were really pleased we did. We found friendly, helpful staff and a really happy atmosphere. Breakfast included a choice of ham and cheeses, cerials, fruit juices, tea/coffee, toast - the usual continental fare. What more do you want?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paradise Cove....paradise isn't a word I would use

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Decor needs to be updated and running water installed in Paradise Cove..
Location: Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, also near beach front.
Our room was on the 4th floor! There isn't a lift in the building so unless you're relatively fit I wouldn't book this room. Sadly once you enter the room everything looks very tired, especially the carpet which has definitely seen better days. The main issue was the lack of water in the bathroom. Because we were so high up there was no water pressure in the room so when you turned on the tap or shower it just dribbled out. We had to pay higher rates than normal for this room as it was a very busy weekend so as far as we're concerned the room wasn't value for money...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simon MK from MK

Perfectly OK

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location, parking is quite expensive (£12 overnight). There was no option on Breakfast, continental only. Otherwise perfectly pleasant place and people.