Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be on one of those hotel nightmare programs

Posted Mar 2, 2015
I dont usually bother writing reviews but if this saves someone the misery of staying in this place then I feel it my duty. The room we had feels like it was badly put together in the 70's, I would have been disappointed just as much then. The only redeeming feature was the bed which was too small but at least comfortable. The heating didnt work and when we complained they eventually brought a plugin heater to the room which was missing a foot and looked knackered. The hot water was tepid and the bathroom a mess. Not sure what was going on upstairs from 7 am until we checked out but someone was constantly walking up and down and the floors there creak really badly. Anyway my advice would be just dont, its not like its even a bargain.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom P

Not the worst but definately not the best

Posted Feb 10, 2015
We arrived at 1 for a 2pm check in as had parked the car in the car park and wanted to check this was ok. Reception said this was fine and then said our room was ready which was a bonus. I immediately enquired whether it was in the main building as had seen the annex out the back which had reminded me of somewhere an unloving family member might stick an unloved old person whilst they waited for their inheritance. Unfortunately the receptionist confirmed this was to be our lodgings... The room itself was it must be said very clean, spacious and it a very good state of repair. The only issues I had were the fact that the windows were sealed shut and it was ridiculously hot! It was like sleeping in a sauna. This visit was in February so I hate to think what it must be like in the summer. Dinner was lack lustre. The table staff were polite enough but chef looked like he clearly wanted to be somewhere else. No condiments were offered with my steak. The bar area was very nice. On the two occasions we visited however their was a no barman in sight and we had to go ask at reception who also didn't know where he was. Breakfast. Greasy. It was a buffett set up to which we arrived latish (0930 and it finishes at 1000). The table set up and eating area was very well presented but the Buffett area was a total mess. Reminiscent of feeding time at the zoo. The staff had little idea what was going on and we weren't even offered toast, tea or coffee. All in all pretty disappointed :(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centre of town

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Character,
Cons: Stair carpet old and worn; think it could do with a bit of refurbishment but without spoiling character.
Bedroom at front of hotel so very noisy. Breakfast very good in conservatory overlooking Downs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol

Good vale, great character and helpful staff

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Staff are polite and helpful; breakfasts are always of very good quality; Lovely bath products on-site Parking and near the station
Cons: Light bulbs checked
Location: Plenty of historic interest, good and varied pubs and restaurants ,
WE stay here fairly often when we visit our son who lives in Lewes. we enjoy it's somewhat faded but interesting historic character There sometimes the odd "odd thing - ancient keys that need playing with to get them to work , occasional lift bulbs missing but we find this part of the charm of the place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north yorkshire

good for the price

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: affordable and near where I needed to be - very historical and atractive timbering and panelling. Breakfast god
hotel had old world charm but room in a modern annex - not ideal when raining! Rom was too hot even though radiator was off. Car park access scaringly steep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey England

Old hotel in centre of Lewis High Street.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: A very good central location with good bedrooms ,lounges with log fires bar with log fire &good bar meals.The Health Club is a good attraction for me.
Cons: Some of the carpets & decorations are a bit tired ,I am a decorator so notice these things.
Location: Location has a bus stop outside ,plenty of parking @ rear of hotel & Station a short walk ,uphill on arrival.I used buses every to visit Brighton.
My second visit to this hotel @ same time of the year was much improved by having a room in old part of building with beams fireplace etc.rather than fairly modern room in annex.The breakfast was good with views over rooftops.I had two visits to Health Spa with pool ,steam room &sauna, where I worked up a thirst to visit the excellent local pubs .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S Mfrom Bexleyheath

Jeff

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good, short weekend getaway. Hotel is obviously very dated, however, some steps taken to improve decor. Staff very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was excellent. Good central location for walkers, car park very limited - good that it was there as parking in Lewes very limited and expensive.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Awful hotel, creaking floor boards and really date

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
After checking in I was told my room was in the 'other' building so I approached the annexe which looked ok from the outside. I was in room 45 a double ensuite room. It was really dated with very poor maintenance offered to cracked tiles, corroded taps and scratched or cracked sink. The floor boards creaked loudly and I hoped there would not be anyone above me. Unfortunately I arrived with a headache around 5pm and wanted to rest, I was rudely woken by a keep fit session blasting out from the rooms below mine! Later a guest arrived in the room above and I could hear every creak as they seemed to pace the room. Hardly slept all night and was woken early by the floor boards the next morning. I blame the hotel as it was not full and they could easily have put all guests on the same floor to prevent the excess noise from the floorboards. Do not stay if you are sent to this building unless you are on the top floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maryfrom Chatham

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a nice enough independent hotel. However, both mornings we stayed, they were having trouble with keeping the buffet cooked breakfast hot. At best it was lukewarm. They did have a lovely selection of cereal and 'make your own' granola, which was different. It was also nice to be seated and have hot tea/coffee and toast brought to you.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Darwen, Lancashire

Nice room, a shame about the corridors outside it!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The location and the room. Also the reasonable price.
Cons: The annex corridors - uugghh!! These need defumigating and refurbishing as an urgent priority.
Location: Old historic town with some great lively pubs. The attractions of Brighton and the pleasant South Downs scenery are within easy reach.
The hotel has a great location in the very centre of Lewes town, with close proximity to many other pubs and restaurants and the railway station (5 minutes walk, with very frequent train services to Brighton). We had a twin room in the hotel annex, across the car park behind the hotel. Our room was nice, no problems at all with this. However, the corridors outside the room were in an absolutely appalling state (the worst I've ever experienced) with revolting old carpets and a disgusting pungent stench of stale cigarettes and general decay. Breakfast was fair, a bit of a wait for some items at the buffet breakfast but it was a busy Sunday morning.