Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

thistle hotel plan b

Posted Mar 15, 2011
loved our room and location very freindly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Thistle Hotel Brighton

Posted Mar 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel was right on the front with excellent facilities. Pool great and not too busy. Was very dissapointed to be told on check in car park was £20.00 as was not made aware of this when booking hotel. Did not try food in hotel but Fuyer / reception is a very nice place to be sat
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Thistle Brighton - Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 2 nights 18 19 Feb in an Executive room, we upgraded from an standard. The overall stay was lovely, staff were attentive, the room was beautiful, clean and spacious, with it’s own seating area. We had an spa and the balcony was overlooking the sea, at night the view was magnificent you could see the Pier in all it’s glory. My only issue was parking facilities, there is nowhere to park apart from the local car park which is expensive. The hotel does provide parking but the entrance is hard to locate. Also they did not mention that it was not free and that it is part of the car park, we thought it would be private. The charge was £20 per night, so we had an additional charge of £40. when you consider how much the hotel charges parking should be free of charge to guests. But overall we enjoyed our stay and we would use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southend On Sea

Nice lobby shame about the room!!

Posted Feb 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
Room too hot, ventilation noisy, light shining in though the bedroom window, toilet did not flush and showers ‘hot and cold’ system difficult to adjust and a fight with the shower curtain!! I have never written a review before, but felt I had to in this case!! A bad experience for me, so I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Impressed

Posted Jan 4, 2011
Very Comfortable and convienent for The Lanes
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chard, Somerset, UK

our family swan song to the 4* Thisle Brighton

Posted Dec 30, 2010 on Hotels.com
My wife and I with our 2 daughters and their partners went to Brighton for a 3day weekend break. My wife had recently been diagnosed with a terminal condition and whilst able, decided she wanted to ge to Brighton to celebrate her birthday. I looked at all the options in the form of hotels and guest houses and plumped for the Thistle, right on the sea front almost opposite the pier. First impressions count a lot and upon arrival and before we entered the building weren't very good as the introduction from the pavement is not very awe-inspiring. However, after entering the lower foyer, which again was not particularly impressive, we rose up the few steps into the main reception area and that truely WAS awe inspiring! The reception looks over an open plan 'comfy seating area' and at the far end of a magnificent hall. The recption were polite and efficient both booking in and checking out. Pre-paying through Hotels.com was as added bonus, making it even quicker as we didn't add to our 'tab' whilst staying there. The hall is the centre piece of the hotel and is laid out like a courtyard with the rooms on 3(?) levels surrounding it but with a ceiling. The bar prices were a little steep, although Sunday lunch and breakfast booked at the time of checking in, were both competitive. Outside of those 'offers' it was again expensive. Eating venues are reasonable and many, with a superb variety on offer, within a short walking distance of the hotel. The room was neat and tidy without too many signs of wear and tear. The in room bar had free water but all else was very expensive. The flat screen telly was good, if annoyingly menu driven every time you put it on. Big queen size double bed was a little on the firm side for me and the bathroom was nice if not impressive. The air con was good giving a low hum rather than the noisy whiring that you get in many hotels. The lights were plenty and all but one was working and had a good selection of options for the different moods the room has to cater for. There was a selection of other 'on site' pursuits that the residents could embark upon like an indoor swimming pool and a gym to name the two most prominent. The location was absolutely first class! Assuming you want to be in the centre of the action, you couldn't wish for better. It is positioned just across the road from the pier and backs onto 'The Lanes' shopping area which then runs into the main highstreet shops. Theatres, Cinemas, etc are also within easy walking distance. As an overall long weekend package, and without being 'too picky', it's difficult to criticise the Thistle based on the reports from our 2 daughters, their partners and our experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Thistle Brighton - a great stay

Posted Dec 2, 2010 on Hotels.com
3 families stayed over a very cold weekdend. None of us had stayed here before and we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a family room which was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and we could see the sea! The staff were wonderful with the children. Breakfast was varied but scrumptious Didn't eat in the restaurant or get time to try the bar but will do next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Brightons best choice

Posted Oct 27, 2010
Was brilliant location, great staff, very nice room, lifts were fast, restaurants were also very good.