Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Per from Santiago

Nice place to stay in Easter Island

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice rooms with veranda, very central in Hanga Roa, breakfast is also very good
Location: Vry central in Hanga Roa, walking distance to everything
Nice place to stay in Easter Island, very friendly staff that provides good information and great tours of the island. The rooms are basic put provides what you need, good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Washington DC

perfect place to stay on the island

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Cozy and comfortable
Great experience start to finish. Picked up by Bill at the airport-short tour of Hanga Roa. Hotel was perfectly clean with a relaxed atmosphere. I'd stay here again anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and Hospitality

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Great location right on Main Street and very close walking distance to all the down town attractions and Harbor. The owners and staff offered assistance if you needed any help with tours and attractions in town. Very friendly and family atmosphere. I highly recomend a stay at the Tauraa. If traveling unacconpanied the owners will make you feel right at home. I met the family members of the owners and had a greatatime meeting up with them at the local shows and attractions. Wonderful experience and looking forward to returning in 2 to 3 months.
1 out of 5
by Virginia from canada

Hotel Central in the Town

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: I must say it was clean but there were ants all over our bathroom floor.
Cons: Pretty much everything as far as I'm concerned.
Location: Location was good but hey, it's a small town so there are no bad locations. You can walk to many sites. The water, the grave site, the church, museum
Bill the husband was very nice and sociable. His wife Edit seemed to have an attitude. Couldn't sit where you wanted for breakfast. Would serve you when she was good and ready. Quite often putting others that came in after before you. Rates are way too high for what you get. No air conditioning. No Television. Says you get water in your room. You were lucky to get toilet tissue. No Kleenex. No face clothes and 4 hangers for two people. Also No Hot Water, just barely warm for about 10 seconds. My husband thought they had it on a timer. Larry their guide was Great though and can't say enough good things about him. Although I noticed that it was always up to us to bring along our own water. You would think they would have bottled water for everyone considering the tour was $100.00 / person. Spoke English because he was an Aussie as was Bill. They transported you to and from the airport but the vehicles were filthy and had crap all over the inside. We paid over $1,000.00 Canadian for our three day stay and we got more from the Marriott in Lima for $148.00 a night. Also they advertise free Wifi. Couldn't get on in your room and were lucky if you got on at the dinning room. However, not everything was coming through ( believe they need a stronger router.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sylvia from Chicago

Great experience

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The owners, ambience, location, and local culture of the hotel.
Cons: Edith and Bill are planning to add more common areas for guests, which will be a great addition.
Location: Museum, restaurants, swimming in ocean, local dance performances, music in local bars,bloc all soccer matches, tours of the Island.
Edith and Bill were great: Edith met us at the airport with leis, made refreshing drinks for us when we arrived at the hotel, and made us feel comfortable immediately. They were very friendly and interesting, and shared their stories with us, which made our stay more personal. Edith accommodated our requests for breakfast, and everything was fresh and different every day. They arranged for private tours which were excellent, and Bill was actually our tour guide one day. Larry was our guide the second day, and both were very interesting and knowledgable. The hotel is in town, so we could walk to the museum, the restaurants, the beach, etc. Edith, who was born and raised on Easter Island, recommended her favorite restaurants, which were all excellent. We had wonderful pisco sours while watching the sunset, and at one restaurant, we sat at a table on the grass overlooking the water. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a new bathroom. There is no TV or air conditioning, which was fine for us. Overall, we thought this was a wonderful experience and a unique opportunity to learn about the local culture first hand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by K from Taylor

Great Owner

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a wonderful hotel!! Edith the owner was so lovely, the hotel was sold out on hotels.com but I was able to book the extra rooms that I needed with her directly and she showed us an amazing time. Definitely stay here if you want to feel close to the natives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tom from Boston, MA

Convenient location in center of town

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very warm and friendly service. Good location, and good advice for which tour guides to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Very Hospitable and Comfortable

Posted Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Very helpful with planning once I arrived, and helped to facilitate my activities.
Cons: I wish the in-room safe were bigger.
Location: It is a good central location that is close to restaurants and shops.
I very much enjoyed my stay at Tauraa. Edith and Bill, the owners, are fantastic, and were very hospitable. The hotel picked me up at the airport and drove me around Hanga Roa before checking in so I could get a sense of the town. When we got to the hotel we chatted about what I wanted out of my visit to Easter Island and Edith arranged for my tours. Everything was smooth and easy. The room was quite nice and comfortable. The staff was friendly and warm too. Breakfast was provided each morning and prepared individually (no buffet). The tours were fantastic! They were both private all day tours, were very informative, and were tailored to my priorities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Personal Touch

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at Taura'a, primarily because of the terrific care that owners Edith and Bill provide their guests. The rooms are a bit rustic, and hot water was erratic, something that we came across frequently in our travels in South America, but those minor inconveniences were more than offset by the pleasure of connecting with our hosts, enjoying the delicious, healthy, home-cooked breakfasts, and easy access to downtown Hanga Roa. We thoroughly enjoyed a lengthy chat with Edith about growing up on the island and the culture surrounding her large, extended family.