Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Perfrom Santiago

Nice place to stay in Easter Island

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice rooms with veranda, very central in Hanga Roa, breakfast is also very good
Location: Vry central in Hanga Roa, walking distance to everything
Nice place to stay in Easter Island, very friendly staff that provides good information and great tours of the island. The rooms are basic put provides what you need, good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Scottfrom San Francisco

Good times..

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a week in room #14. We enjoyed naming the roosters and the hens, sitting on the porch, and joining the other guests at breakfast. Edith and Bill went out of their way to help us with every need. They even were able to find a dog crate for us allowing the adoption of "Nui", a tan stray who was irresistible. They run a great establishment which, though simple in its accommodation, was everything we expected and more. Tauraa is well located in town and we felt welcomed as though guests in their home. Good Times..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by carol and Nedfrom Easter island

Best on easter Island!!!!

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 6 days with Edith and Bill and Ruby too. They made us part of the family in addition to lending us their car, cooking the most amazing breakfasts, making very accurate recommendations. This place is just the best!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michaelfrom Washington DC

perfect place to stay on the island

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Cozy and comfortable
Great experience start to finish. Picked up by Bill at the airport-short tour of Hanga Roa. Hotel was perfectly clean with a relaxed atmosphere. I'd stay here again anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and Hospitality

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Great location right on Main Street and very close walking distance to all the down town attractions and Harbor. The owners and staff offered assistance if you needed any help with tours and attractions in town. Very friendly and family atmosphere. I highly recomend a stay at the Tauraa. If traveling unacconpanied the owners will make you feel right at home. I met the family members of the owners and had a greatatime meeting up with them at the local shows and attractions. Wonderful experience and looking forward to returning in 2 to 3 months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Warm and friendly hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bill and Edith could not be more friendly. Being met at the airport, driven around the town to show the close sites and restaurants. Everything is in walking distance. Internet worked well and the breakfast was great. A very nice place to stay and enjoy the hospitality!
1 out of 5
by Virginiafrom canada

Hotel Central in the Town

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: I must say it was clean but there were ants all over our bathroom floor.
Cons: Pretty much everything as far as I'm concerned.
Location: Location was good but hey, it's a small town so there are no bad locations. You can walk to many sites. The water, the grave site, the church, museum
Bill the husband was very nice and sociable. His wife Edit seemed to have an attitude. Couldn't sit where you wanted for breakfast. Would serve you when she was good and ready. Quite often putting others that came in after before you. Rates are way too high for what you get. No air conditioning. No Television. Says you get water in your room. You were lucky to get toilet tissue. No Kleenex. No face clothes and 4 hangers for two people. Also No Hot Water, just barely warm for about 10 seconds. My husband thought they had it on a timer. Larry their guide was Great though and can't say enough good things about him. Although I noticed that it was always up to us to bring along our own water. You would think they would have bottled water for everyone considering the tour was $100.00 / person. Spoke English because he was an Aussie as was Bill. They transported you to and from the airport but the vehicles were filthy and had crap all over the inside. We paid over $1,000.00 Canadian for our three day stay and we got more from the Marriott in Lima for $148.00 a night. Also they advertise free Wifi. Couldn't get on in your room and were lucky if you got on at the dinning room. However, not everything was coming through ( believe they need a stronger router.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sylviafrom Chicago

Great experience

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The owners, ambience, location, and local culture of the hotel.
Cons: Edith and Bill are planning to add more common areas for guests, which will be a great addition.
Location: Museum, restaurants, swimming in ocean, local dance performances, music in local bars,bloc all soccer matches, tours of the Island.
Edith and Bill were great: Edith met us at the airport with leis, made refreshing drinks for us when we arrived at the hotel, and made us feel comfortable immediately. They were very friendly and interesting, and shared their stories with us, which made our stay more personal. Edith accommodated our requests for breakfast, and everything was fresh and different every day. They arranged for private tours which were excellent, and Bill was actually our tour guide one day. Larry was our guide the second day, and both were very interesting and knowledgable. The hotel is in town, so we could walk to the museum, the restaurants, the beach, etc. Edith, who was born and raised on Easter Island, recommended her favorite restaurants, which were all excellent. We had wonderful pisco sours while watching the sunset, and at one restaurant, we sat at a table on the grass overlooking the water. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a new bathroom. There is no TV or air conditioning, which was fine for us. Overall, we thought this was a wonderful experience and a unique opportunity to learn about the local culture first hand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013