Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by j from Cyprus

Perfect Pumba

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
From arrival to departure it was a magical experience at Pumba Water Lodge. Our accommodation had the real "wow" factor with our own private plunge pool and the attention to detail was second to none, even down to nice little touches such as fresh milk in your fridge every day and sherry and nibbles in your room along with homemade cookies. The game safari rides were excellent even had a stop half way for a drink and small snacks to eat. Quality of food in restaurant was really good and the service friendly and efficient. Had our laundry sorted which was all in with the price we paid. Pumba was the highlight of our holiday, amazing !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Secluded game lodge

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The room was fabulous - I've stayed in many hotels & this is one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. It was all fantastic really.
Pumba Game Lodge is a beautiful place about 110 kms from Port Elizabeth. The lodge was gorgeous, the rooms in the Bush Lodge were mini suites with small private plunge pools. The attention to detail was superb. The restaurant was good - all food & wine included. The ranger who took us on our game drives was very knowledgeable and went out of her way to find wildlife for us to view & what a treat it was - lions, giraffes, zebras, rhinos, elephants, impala, blesbuck etc. It's not cheap but certainly worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely fantastic!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: To have stayed longer!
Location: You can go into the historic town of Grahamstown or go to Port Elizabeth but you will not want to leave Pumba, it's wonderful there.
Loved it all...location, friendly staff, food and game drives! Stunning resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Game Reserve

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Lunch was surpassed (albeit a wonderful feast) by elephants and giraffes strolling down to the lake. A roll top bath with a view!
Cons: Nothing, we had very high expectations but they were exceeded.
Location: You won't want to leave the reserve!
Fabulous location, friendly staff, incredible animals, game drives phenomenal. The lodge was intimate and superb - we were there in spring and the wood-burner was lit after dinner. We felt honoured to be visiting the animals in their own environment Everything was included but clear head needed for early morning game drive, supported by brilliant guides. Everyone should do this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A.F. from Breda

Bush Lodge mooie kamers, River Lodge mooi uitzicht

Posted Dec 14, 2012
Pros: Game drives
Cons: Geen
Location: Schitterend en goed onderhouden. Veel beesten ontdekt.
Mooi verblijf. Eerst 2 nachten in Bush Lodge, maar we hadden bij de boeking gevraagd om rivier uitzicht. Gelukkig was de Afrikaanse manager, met goede duitse taal, bereidt ons 2 nachten in de River Lodge te laten verblijven. We hebben genoten, zeker in de River Lodge die wij prefereren boven de Bush Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claire from Northumberland, UK

Amazing

Posted Nov 25, 2012
Pros: Outdoor shower
Cons: Food could be better
Location: Near grahamstown
Amazing. Book pumba, you won't be disappointed. An intimate reserve but with great game viewing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Luxurious lodge half hour from Grahamstown

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at the bush lodge which we found more authentic than the waterside lodge. Eleven separate rooms reached via pathways from the main building, each with pool and views over a savannah landscape. High quality design with luxury lodge atmosphere; for example, lie in a hot bathtub and watch rhinos grazing just outside the plate glass sliding doors... Overall good service except for the food, which was mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moritz from Hamburg, Deutschland

Tolle Lodge

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Sehr freundliches Personal, schönes Zimmer, sehr gute Küche, tolles Reservat. Wir haben mit Peter fast 2 Stunden lang die weißen Löwen auf dem Weg zur Jagd begleitet und am Ende live die Erbeutung eines Warzenschweins miterlebt - das war schon sehr beeindruckend.