Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom düsseldorf

Toller Ausblick

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Wir waren 4 Nächte dort. Konnten nochmal so richtig ausspannen. Leider ist das Restaurant sehr ungemütlich. Passt überhaupt nicht zu der ansonsten tollen gemütlichen Lodge. Hier müßte Archie mal nachbessern. Essen ist aber sehr gut ebenso das Frühstück. Zufahrt ist völlig normal für Südafrika. Ein paar Schlaglöcher und ziemlich lang.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gemünden

Sehr schöne und ruhige Lage.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Das Essen war ausgezeichnet. Super Service! Wir haben uns rundum wohlgefühlt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bertram

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rickerhinofrom WA state

Nirvana on a hill top

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Can't think of one thing.....our visit was perfect in every way!
Location: Hilltop location near Addo with views out over the Sundays River valley to the Zuurberg mountains. Lots of wildlife and birds on property.
We read some excellent reviews before choosing Hitgeheim, and they were all justified! Archie has created a little piece of heaven in these 8 thatched-roof chalets, cozy lounge with fireplace, decks and restaurant. We loved everything about our chalet.....private deck overlooking the river valley, sitting room, comfy bed, open shower. The food was uniformly delicious and beautifully presented. What really makes Hitgeheim special though, is its staff. Everyone was wonderful, and we are especially grateful to Donald & Michael for taking such good care of us; to Peter for a fabulous and informative tour of Addo Elephant Park, and to Archie for arranging our tour days in CapeTown with his son, Martin (who is a chip off the old block!). Archie also arranged our game drives at Schotia and at Amakahla. If you are going anywhere near Port Elizabeth, this is THE place to stay!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anonym

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ffrom London, UK

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the view, the food, and the room.
There is nothing to fault about our experience. Everyone at Hitgeheim was incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Safaris and all transportation was arranged for us, and everything was seamless. The view from Hitgeheim is incredible. Great breakfasts and delicious wine and dinners. The room was very comfortable and clean, with complimentary sherry, and a well-stocked (and reasonably priced) minibar. It really was a 5 star experience, and this is mainly due to the exceptional high quality of staff at Hitgeheim. I highly recommend it, and I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hervorragende Location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Super Lage, sehr schöne Lodge, gibt einem das Feeling von "Jenseits in Afrika" ! Wenn auch vermeintlich teuer, aber man macht das ja nicht jeden Tag !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maurerfrom Stuttgart

Excellent

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sind leider nur 2 Tage in diesem Paradies geblieben. Es war himmlich. Wir haben ein upgrad ohne Aufpreis bekommen (luxuriöses Schlafzimmer mit Terrasse, Badzimmer mit eigenem Terrasse und 2. Dusche in Freiem auf der anderen Seite ....) - wobei sämtliche Lodges luxuriös sind - . Lage, Abendessen Frühstück, Service alles 1. Klasse. Archie unser Gastgeber, hat uns die Safari in Scotia empfohlen und alles organisiert. In seinem eigenen Grundstück befinden sich zahlreiche Tiere: Zebras, Springböcke .... Die Lodges befinden sich auf einem Hochplateau, von dem man die wunderschöne grüne Landschaft mit unzähligen Orangenhhainen bewundern kann.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joerg & Cordulafrom GER

Christmas at Addo

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The location, the style, the quality plus the very friendly way to treat guests
Location: Close to Addo Elephant National Park and Schotia Game Reserve
Hitgeheim was planned as last highlight on our trip across South Africa - we did not regret it at all: located close to the Addo Elephant National Park and the Schotia Game Reserve, this lodge is located very calm and peaceful on a huge private land where you may even see some of the animals that are held there. Very nice style, our room (in fact a small house on its own) was home for 2 wonderful nights. We have felt very welcome and were hosted in a very friendly manner, the Christmas menu on the open terrace with a view over the entire landscape was just a perfect experience. The additionally booked 2 game drives (day time / evening) plus the elephant encounter the next day by bush plane transfer made this stay a unique one. A great compliment to Archie and his team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chantalfrom annecy

superbe

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: l accueil, le confort, la disponibilité du personnel...
Cons: ras
Location: l'hotel est dans un parc ou il y a des animaux
tout était parfait