Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gemünden

Sehr schöne und ruhige Lage.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Das Essen war ausgezeichnet. Super Service! Wir haben uns rundum wohlgefühlt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rickerhinofrom WA state

Nirvana on a hill top

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Can't think of one thing.....our visit was perfect in every way!
Location: Hilltop location near Addo with views out over the Sundays River valley to the Zuurberg mountains. Lots of wildlife and birds on property.
We read some excellent reviews before choosing Hitgeheim, and they were all justified! Archie has created a little piece of heaven in these 8 thatched-roof chalets, cozy lounge with fireplace, decks and restaurant. We loved everything about our chalet.....private deck overlooking the river valley, sitting room, comfy bed, open shower. The food was uniformly delicious and beautifully presented. What really makes Hitgeheim special though, is its staff. Everyone was wonderful, and we are especially grateful to Donald & Michael for taking such good care of us; to Peter for a fabulous and informative tour of Addo Elephant Park, and to Archie for arranging our tour days in CapeTown with his son, Martin (who is a chip off the old block!). Archie also arranged our game drives at Schotia and at Amakahla. If you are going anywhere near Port Elizabeth, this is THE place to stay!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anonym

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ffrom London, UK

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the view, the food, and the room.
There is nothing to fault about our experience. Everyone at Hitgeheim was incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Safaris and all transportation was arranged for us, and everything was seamless. The view from Hitgeheim is incredible. Great breakfasts and delicious wine and dinners. The room was very comfortable and clean, with complimentary sherry, and a well-stocked (and reasonably priced) minibar. It really was a 5 star experience, and this is mainly due to the exceptional high quality of staff at Hitgeheim. I highly recommend it, and I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hervorragende Location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Super Lage, sehr schöne Lodge, gibt einem das Feeling von "Jenseits in Afrika" ! Wenn auch vermeintlich teuer, aber man macht das ja nicht jeden Tag !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maurerfrom Stuttgart

Excellent

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sind leider nur 2 Tage in diesem Paradies geblieben. Es war himmlich. Wir haben ein upgrad ohne Aufpreis bekommen (luxuriöses Schlafzimmer mit Terrasse, Badzimmer mit eigenem Terrasse und 2. Dusche in Freiem auf der anderen Seite ....) - wobei sämtliche Lodges luxuriös sind - . Lage, Abendessen Frühstück, Service alles 1. Klasse. Archie unser Gastgeber, hat uns die Safari in Scotia empfohlen und alles organisiert. In seinem eigenen Grundstück befinden sich zahlreiche Tiere: Zebras, Springböcke .... Die Lodges befinden sich auf einem Hochplateau, von dem man die wunderschöne grüne Landschaft mit unzähligen Orangenhhainen bewundern kann.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joerg & Cordulafrom GER

Christmas at Addo

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The location, the style, the quality plus the very friendly way to treat guests
Location: Close to Addo Elephant National Park and Schotia Game Reserve
Hitgeheim was planned as last highlight on our trip across South Africa - we did not regret it at all: located close to the Addo Elephant National Park and the Schotia Game Reserve, this lodge is located very calm and peaceful on a huge private land where you may even see some of the animals that are held there. Very nice style, our room (in fact a small house on its own) was home for 2 wonderful nights. We have felt very welcome and were hosted in a very friendly manner, the Christmas menu on the open terrace with a view over the entire landscape was just a perfect experience. The additionally booked 2 game drives (day time / evening) plus the elephant encounter the next day by bush plane transfer made this stay a unique one. A great compliment to Archie and his team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chantalfrom annecy

superbe

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: l accueil, le confort, la disponibilité du personnel...
Cons: ras
Location: l'hotel est dans un parc ou il y a des animaux
tout était parfait
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dorfrom Singapore

Very good service

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The view from the lodge was fantastic and the service was superb - very thoughtful and personalized service. The location is great too for visits to Addo Elephant National Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by D. McKoskifrom Cairo, Egypt

We should have stayed another night!

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
A wonderful place to stop along the road from Cape Town to Durbin. The lodge lives up to everything that it presents on its web page. From the moment we arrived we were greeted like family returning home. The lodge is fortunate to have such an amiable staff that was always there to help, but at the same time not overbearing. The room was exceptional - the view, the furnishings, the complimentary sherry upon arrival and the comfortable beds. Turn down service was exceptional especially on winter nights - chocolates, bottled water, and warm sheets thanks to the electric bed warmers. After returning from a full day safari hot chocolate and cookies were waiting for us in our room. Meals were exceptional. There was a large selection of wine and meal choices although limited were varied enough to meet the needs of guests. The lodge grounds provided opportunities to see zebras, antelopes, birds and a host of other animals without difficulty. Hitgeheim is an experience that should not be missed if traveling through this area.