Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rickerhinofrom WA state

Nirvana on a hill top

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Can't think of one thing.....our visit was perfect in every way!
Location: Hilltop location near Addo with views out over the Sundays River valley to the Zuurberg mountains. Lots of wildlife and birds on property.
We read some excellent reviews before choosing Hitgeheim, and they were all justified! Archie has created a little piece of heaven in these 8 thatched-roof chalets, cozy lounge with fireplace, decks and restaurant. We loved everything about our chalet.....private deck overlooking the river valley, sitting room, comfy bed, open shower. The food was uniformly delicious and beautifully presented. What really makes Hitgeheim special though, is its staff. Everyone was wonderful, and we are especially grateful to Donald & Michael for taking such good care of us; to Peter for a fabulous and informative tour of Addo Elephant Park, and to Archie for arranging our tour days in CapeTown with his son, Martin (who is a chip off the old block!). Archie also arranged our game drives at Schotia and at Amakahla. If you are going anywhere near Port Elizabeth, this is THE place to stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ffrom London, UK

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the view, the food, and the room.
There is nothing to fault about our experience. Everyone at Hitgeheim was incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Safaris and all transportation was arranged for us, and everything was seamless. The view from Hitgeheim is incredible. Great breakfasts and delicious wine and dinners. The room was very comfortable and clean, with complimentary sherry, and a well-stocked (and reasonably priced) minibar. It really was a 5 star experience, and this is mainly due to the exceptional high quality of staff at Hitgeheim. I highly recommend it, and I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dorfrom Singapore

Very good service

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The view from the lodge was fantastic and the service was superb - very thoughtful and personalized service. The location is great too for visits to Addo Elephant National Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by D. McKoskifrom Cairo, Egypt

We should have stayed another night!

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
A wonderful place to stop along the road from Cape Town to Durbin. The lodge lives up to everything that it presents on its web page. From the moment we arrived we were greeted like family returning home. The lodge is fortunate to have such an amiable staff that was always there to help, but at the same time not overbearing. The room was exceptional - the view, the furnishings, the complimentary sherry upon arrival and the comfortable beds. Turn down service was exceptional especially on winter nights - chocolates, bottled water, and warm sheets thanks to the electric bed warmers. After returning from a full day safari hot chocolate and cookies were waiting for us in our room. Meals were exceptional. There was a large selection of wine and meal choices although limited were varied enough to meet the needs of guests. The lodge grounds provided opportunities to see zebras, antelopes, birds and a host of other animals without difficulty. Hitgeheim is an experience that should not be missed if traveling through this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamesfrom Sydney NSW, Australia

Simply a gorgeous place!

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: The people and ambience.
Cons: Can't think of a thing I didn't enjoy.
Location: Magnificent. On a hill overlooking the district....and close to Addo.
Hitgeheim is magnificently located on a hill with stunning views. Accomodation,service and dining are pure 5 star. And you get to meet the energetic friendly owner (Archie). It is simply a stunning place to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

You must stay here!!!!!

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
From the minute we arrived to check out (with a complimentary car wash!!) it was a great stay. The complex was typical African style with lots of wood and thatch and you could run a white glove around the place and not pick up a speck of dirt. The standard of food was fantastic (with a minor hiccup on the Chef's day off) and a quite reasonable wine cellar was available to peruse before dinner each day. Archie (“The Boss”) was always about (without being “in your face”) and was a mine of information and full of anecdotes. The staff, without singling out any one person, were absolutely brilliant and trained to a VERY high standard. The fact that Hitgeheim only has 8 rooms makes this a relaxed place to stay and to enjoy the stunning Sundays River Valley views. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE GOING BACK!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina, USA

Peaceful Luxury Near Addo Elephant Park

Posted Mar 30, 2012
Hitgeheim is a 5 star experience! The private villa rooms are beautifully decorated. The staff are polite and helpful. The food is gourmet. We loved the open concept design, with separate villas, decks, sitting rooms and restaurant (with both indoor and outdoor dining). And the views from everywhere on the premises are outstanding! A real luxury experience, close to Addo and private game reserves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great location, accomodations

Posted Dec 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed here 2 nights and wished we could stay longer. The lodge sits on a hill so you get a great view of the valley and surrounding landscape. You take a short drive through a reserve to reach the lodge so you're greeted by zebras and impalas! Everything about our stay was great - it's located close to several game reserves and other activities but it's also worth spending your days relaxing on the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

MUST STAY! ONE OF A KIND GEM!

Posted Dec 11, 2011
This place is AMAZING! From the minute you arrive, you feel like a king/queen, Kay made us feel like honored guests. The huge rooms are so beautiful with incredible views and so private. The attention to detail, every time you look in another direction you find another GREAT surprise! This is an affordable luxury that SHOULD NOT BE MISSED. The food was top-notch, even if you are not staying on the property, you should consider visiting for dinner. We loved meeting the owner, Archie and it is easy to see this property is a labor of love.