Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe & Jo from Sydney, Aust.

Top stay in Sth Africa

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly, attractive, efficient and relaxing. The rooms were particularly well designed and furnished for purpose.
Cons: Not much to be changed
Location: Not far from Summerstrand waterfront and the hotel/casino/restaurant strip but alsoconvenient to coastal bush parks and resorts.
We had no expectations but the Port Elisabeth stay at Manor 38 was a highlight of our 22 day SAfrican trip. Everything was well done - great rooms and lounge areas, nice pool, security, attentive staff and manager. No-fuss help with tour and dining issues. The breakfasts and nightcaps were superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracey from Stirling

Lovely guest house in a quiet area

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Location, standard of accommodation, breakfasts and our host
Cons: Perhaps the actual pool could be cleaner
Location: Visit the Boardwalk
We only stayed 1night at Manor 38 but Wendy made sure that we were well looked after. We had a room overlooking pool and it was quiet and really clean and modern. Breakfast was amazing. I have scored room comfort 4 purely because bed was a bit hard for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul Mc from Northern Ireland

Fab Fab Fab

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and loved it. The welcome from Wendy, Christopher and the wee doggie was lovely. We were disappointed to be staying only one night. The room was spotless with an honesty bar, large TV, air con, extremely comfortable bed, large bathroom/wet room, tea/coffee. On arrival we were given filter coffee and biscotti by the pool while Wendy chatted with us. One of the nicest touches was as we were getting ready to go out for dinner, we had a knock at the door and there was Christopher with a tray containing two sherrys and chocolate. Fantastic. House was secure and close to shops/restaurants and beach. Would definitely be back. Thanks folks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garry from London, UK

Simply stunning!

Posted Nov 3, 2013
From the moment one arrives at Manor 38 there is a feeling of luxurious elegance paired with exquisite personal service. Nothing is too much trouble for your hosts Wendy and Christopher. The rooms are Devine and dressed with the most elegant feminine touches, care of Wendy's attentive eye for detail. Christopher is such a charming and gentle man, always at hand to offer assistance in a quiet and serene manner, always smiling and always delighted to help. And the food! The breakfast was presented in the most delightful way, and individually personalised for each guest! Excellent value for money too. Simply the best boutique guest house ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Norwich

A very warm welcome

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: The warm welcome and great food. Tea and cake on arrival in the sumptuous lounge was perfect after a long flight.
Cons: We would have liked a king bed but the room itself was perfect, with lots of lovely little touches, like a nightcap and a chocolate.
Wendy and her staff are excellent, making this guesthouse a real treat to stay in. Lovely rooms, great breakfast and a very friendly feel. Cannot recommend highly enough, thanks Wendy x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Definitely Recommend

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night - on our road trip around the coast from Cape Town to Johannesburg - but stands out as the best stay of our holiday. The house / manor is well situated not far from PE center, coast, or airport. We had an extremely warm welcome from Wendy - a welcome and warmth that continued for our stay. The room was fantastic (upgraded to executive suite), and breakfast in the morning was similarly memorable. We took a trip down to the Boardwalk for dinner - also worth a visit. Definitely recommend this guest house to anyone going through PE - not a tremendous amount to do in PE itself, but worth any additional mileage or trip adjustments to stay at Manor 38
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Luxurious guesthouse in beach suburb of PE

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: The room was nicest of all the places we stayed in the garden route.
Cons: Nothing
Location: In a quiet suburban community near the ocean and casino outside Port Elizabeth, very near the PE airport.
Beautiful guest house with luxurious rooms, nice pool, delicious and artfully presented breakfast, and warm staff who provide impeccable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bryan from London

Superb for PE airport. Amazing service

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wendy and Chris were the perfect hosts for our overnight stay in PE, before flying back to London via Cape Town. Manor 38 is well decorated, very clean and the breakfast is delicious. We were able to use the pool all day before our flight home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gina

A better home away from home

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wendy was an exceptional host, spoiling us with all sorts treats. Our stay was very relaxing complete with dinner under the stars! Thank you Wendy for a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Awesome low-key place

Posted Jan 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great staff, nice little surprising place to stay.