Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morton, PA

Nice B&B in good location.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location was right next to from the Chesapeake Maritime Museum. Children under 12 not permitted.
Cons: The unfinished wooden railings on the outdoor back stairs were rough and splintery. They need a covering or replacement. The continental breakfast.
Location: Chesapeake Maritime Museum, restaurants in town and in the harbor area, boat tours of the bay, and the Scottish Highland Creamery in nearby Oxford.
We were graciously updated to a suite without asking. A lot of room, good amenities, with a large double sink bathroom, including jacuzzi tub and a shower with full body jets. Our room was across the street from the main building, which housed the pool, sauna, spa and main desk. This was only a minor inconvenience to us, which we knew about when we booked it from their web page, but it may not be suitable for some people. Our building contained the very nice breakfast room. The staff was terrific and very helpful. The continental breakfast was complete, but I would have preferred different hot entrees each day. Being on the main street, there were no "pretty" views of the bay or sunsets, but they were available within short walking distance. The whole town is walkable from the B&B, with a lot of fun shops. Be aware - many boat tours and museums operate only Friday through Sunday, so check their web sites for times. The Maritime Museum is open all days and tickets are good for two days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Great stay at Five Gables

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Location: We walked to the Harbourside Grill for dinner - it was about a 20 minute stroll through the heart of the town. The view at Harbourside was amazing.
We were only there for a night, but we really enjoyed our stay very much. The location is perfect in St Michaels. You can walk to everything in town. The room was gorgeous. We had one of the suites in the green building across the street. The bed was very comfortable. We didn't interact with the staff other than check-in and check-out, but they were very friendly. It was nice that they walk you to your room and explain the features. Overall, it was a lovely experience and we would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Oakdale, New York

New Years Get-A-Way

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
We felt like getting away for New Years, so traveled down to St. Michaels from New York for New Years Eve. It was "off-season", so the the town was quiet, however some nice restaurants and many shops were open. The Five Gables Inn was just perfect for what we were looking for. We stayed in location across the street from the main facility. The room was real nice, with a separate bedroom, (very comfortable king bed) and great two basin bathroom with two-person jacuzzi. Good thing about being across the street is that you have a bit more privacy and breakfast is served in this location (next door to our room. Bad part is that the pool, steam room and sauna are across the street. This may not matter in the warmer months, but in the winter it is a challenge. Breakfast was great, and so was the pool and spa facilities. The best part, unlike larger spa inn's and hotels, is that your left alone with access to the spa facility. We bumped into many couples who have made the Five Gables their annual New Years place to go. I would surely recommend the Five Gables for those visiting the St. Michaels area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Bed and Breakfast overall

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Very convenient location - just steps from the shops and restaurants of St Michaels. We had a room in the back which was very comfortable and quiet. My wife and I both enjoyed the Spa there. My wife had the facial and I had a massage. There is also a steam room and sauna that was refreshing. There is a small indoor pool but we didn't go in. I can't say anything about the breakfast since we slept in. I would highly recommend it when visiting St Michaels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, bed, jet bathtub,elect fireolace

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Quaint town but in October everything opens late and closes early. Foxy's restaurant had great food and nice view of bay and carpenter saloon was friendly place for lunch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Maryland

Nice B and B in St. Michaels

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
The staff and service were excellent. Private bathrooms and coffee in the morning - it exceeded my expectations. Breakfast was a bit skimpy and the bed was uncomfortable but it was otherwise a good B & B experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Very average.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
This small hotel is fine but not noteworthy in any way. The rooms look out over a parking area, and the outdoor furniture is not inviting. Even the continental breakfast, served buffet in a building across the street, was average. This town has numerous choices. I would do a little more research next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mats from Viken

Läckert boende mitt i St. Michaels

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
Vi hade ett de-luxe rum i ett separat hus ut mot huvudgatan Talbot Street med egen veranda. Sängen var mycket bekväm och det stora badrummet utomordentligt. Den utmärkta frukosten serverades i en separat byggnad vid sidan om hotellet. Det finns ett flertal restauranger i längs Talbot Street samt nere i hamnen. Det finns även ett flertal små butiker för shopping, genomgående med väldigt trevlig stämning i byn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels