Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Very nice owners. Rooms need to be updated and carpet cleaned. Old Zenith tv, buy some flat screens. But for cheep and cozy very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from King William, VA

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The rose bushes at the door gave such a wonderful smell.
Cons: Shower head should be replaced, additional pillows.
Location: Next door to the carnival grounds. Walk anywhere from this hotel. Quiet little seaside town with lots to do for anybody. Love the private fishing pier
We enjoyed our stay at the Birchwood Hotel. Will definitely consider staying there again. I would like some pictures on the walls, though. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly, very helpful. I could not gain access to their internet, and he offered to let me use the office computer to check my emails. I love the 12-cup coffee maker! Exactly the size I wish were in every hotel room. The beds were very comfortable, but I would have liked to have had more pillows. The shower head needs replacing, but the shower felt really good. Looks like they might be doing some renovating of some of the rooms, but the rose bushes and flowers really made the place feel nice and homey. Every morning when I opened the door, I was hit by the sweet scent of roses. Love it! We did not use the pool, but saw many people in it. Looked very inviting! We will probably be back to the Birchwood again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Awesome staff very clean...

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Room was perfectly clean... owners on site making sure ALL accommodations are met. I would recommend!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: No WIFI in the hotel room. Manager tried to accommodate by suggesting we sit in the office or breakfast area in order to access internet.
Room was clean enough, but they use a strong/sweet smelling disinfectant on the old carpet so the smell hit us each time we returned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern New Jersey

old motel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
This is an old motel with old pool and in need of upgrades.. The owners are very nice people and are very helpful. It would have been much easier pulling in and out of parking lot with boat and trailer if owner would not block off most of entrance with his extended cab pickup truck, he will assist you in getting past but not just find another parking spot for it ??? They have screened in picnic areas for BBQ cooking and eating but both were missing screens to keep flies out ..Claim to have WIFI but was never able to keep connected for more than a few minutes at a time , very frustrating ...TVs are from the early 80s but function with limited channels.. It is in an ideal location with easy access to town , with some TLC it could be a nice vintage place...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Quiet, clean, close to everything!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Extra clean and safe
Location: Great location; close to everything within 15 min drive. After 5pm, you can take the trolley for 25 cents and ride around the entire island.
Mom & 2 daughters great getaway for beach! Birchwood nice place to stay. Quiet, clean, safe and everything within 15 min. drive including beach. Motel is good for families, couples, any age. Awesome beach, should go before 10:30 am for good parking and beach spots. Chincoteague Island is a quaint little island, a true gem not overpopulated and everyone was friendly! Take the time to rest, relax and get refreshed from city living!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring

Posted Jul 31, 2014
We spent two nights and about twodays, on Chincoteague Island. The hotel is in cnter of town J(i.e. within about ten minutes drive of all town attractions (reatrurants, shops). It is about a 25 minute drive of the beach (on Assateague Islands) This is about same time as all other town-center motels. This motel is not "grand luxe" but jis quite adequate for a short stay by a well adjusted couple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckingham, Virginia.

Staff pleasant. Quiet and enjoyable.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The motel was quiet and we had a very pleasant stay.
Cons: I liked the hotel the way it is.
Location: The hotel is located near all the attractions. There are shops, restaurants, and attractions all close by.
Really enjoyed the stay. The staff were very helpful with showing a map of the island, attractions, and how to get to places on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brittanie from Salisbury, MD

What a lovely weekend

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: I loved that the hotel had more of a home feel it was welcoming and perfect for a quiet weekend away.
Cons: Could use a little update but still very well kept
Location: The beach was minutes away. Most things were in walking distances which was nice. Also if you go during the carnival its right next door.
We checked in with Rick on a Friday evening, he was super helpful he took his time and gave us a run down of the island. He also suggested place to eat and things we could do while we were in town. He showed us to our room and even offered to help with our bags. Wish more hotels had this kind of hospitality!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location good

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: location an price was okay except they advitise free wifi it never worked for 3 days
Cons: wifi new carpets fix drains very very slow tell manager to leave people alone long drives noone wants to listen to his speech!!!!!!!
Location: well this time of year sept) not much beach is near by but water was cold can see horses an possible dolphins fish were not even biting!!
well the owner/manager was way over bearing he felt the need to follow us to our room to tell us how everything works told him i am a maintenance man that did not stop him from telling us how to work tv,frig,even the ac,