Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Wilmington, DE

Serenity, Comfort and Beauty

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Great location.
Location: Right next to the causeway. Near the best seafood restaurants.
Arriving at the Refuge was like a step back in time, into a better and calmer time. We unpacked, took a great swim in the warm pool and went for a beautiful walk over to the Island. Our room was great, everything worked and the decor was very nice. The Refuge staff was terrific. Very good breakfast with great coffee. All in all, the best place to stay in Chincoteague.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TheMiamiCafeVA from Petersburg,VA

Wonderful and relaxing.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Awesome!
This Hotel feels more like a relaxing resort rather than a boring chain Hotel. Sure we could have stayed at one of the new hotels but we chose not to as we were excited about staying here for the second time. You can't get enough of the balcony of your room, feeding the beautiful horses on the hotel property, and the bike rental on site as well. Indoor pool/jacuzzi, observation deck and the Hotel is laid back and cozy! Also great location! This is our favorite and I look forward to coming back to my refuge!!!:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Hotel is clean and qiet in nice location
Cons: Pass on the breakfast. Hotel desl closes at 10:00 PM, cal;l if you will be later
Location: Near the Wildlife Refuge
Desk staff shows up late and goes home early
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Warminster, PA

Very comfortable inn close to the wildlife refuge

Posted Sep 3, 2013
We loved the Refuge Inn and can't wait to go back! Very clean, pleasant staff, nice breakfast. Bikes and other beach stuff available for rent next door. Great pool and rooftop deck. Each room has a small patio or balcony with chairs. Best part is ponies that you can visit with and feed. Nice overlook to marsh heading out to refuge. Great to be so close to refuge...we went back and forth several times each day and night. Picked this online and after exploring all of Chincoteague, can say this is the best lodging choice on the island. It is not the most luxurious, but most comfortable with best amenities!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Torie from Arlington, VA

Perfect for a low-key weekend

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Location: The fried chicken at Woody's Eatery, a block away, is divine.
Chincoteague isn't fancy, and neither is the Refuge Inn--but that's just perfect. The hotel is centrally located, the staff is cheerful and helpful, and the breakfast that's included in your stay is a great way to start the day. There aren't any frills, but everything is well cared for and cozy. And the ponies right next door to the inn are an awesome bonus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice inn close to everything.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Quality and cleanliness.
Cons: Continental breakfast lacking somewhat. Limited selections and variety.
Location: Look up Chincoteague Island. It's not that big but lots to do.
Even though we spent most of our time seeing and doing island activities it was wonderful to come in to a neat, clean, pleasant inn at the end of the day. Furnishings were quality materials. Rooms were quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice hotel. but cost too much

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Cons: Pool should be open later.
This area is more for older people and familys. Everything closed up around 9 PM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Annapolis MD

May be the best place to stay in Chincoteague

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, unexpectedly good breakfast. Nice surroundings, cleanliness.
Location: See above
We don't expect much from a beach hotel and were very pleasantly surprised even with a recommendation. Its the last hotel before the National park nature refuge in a clump of pine trees. Very picturesque. We had a lovely room on first floor, near the pool, that was nicely decorated. Looked like slightly different furniture in other rooms. Pool was not overly large but large for a small hotel. Hotel staff couldn't be nicer from front desk to chambermaids. Recommendations for dinner were excellent. Complimentary Breakfast was advertised as "continental" but, in addition to cereals, there were waffles one morning and scrambled eggs the next.,Wildlife preserve is nicely laid out for hiking and biking but we didn't see any ponies.There were five however in a pen next to the hotel which were always hungry for orn that was available. Beach at park was great for swimming and relaxing. We also went to NASA welcome center on Wallops island. A lot going on -worth the trip