Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bel Air, Maryland

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
I stayed here for 3 days in the middle of the week in October. It's quiet, clean, nicely appointed, peaceful and convenient and the staff is friendly and helpful. Can't ask for more than that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Lives up to all the great reviews!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: It was very close to the entrance of the National Wildlife Refuge, pool on-site AND ponies on-site that you can feed - a big plus for the kids!
Cons: The heating/cooling unit and seperate dehumidifier were alittle noisy and it took a while to get the right temperature in the room.
Location: Great location near shops, eateries, the Chincoteague Museum, Wildlife Refuge, and Chincoteague Pony Center.
We chose to stay at the Refuge Inn after reading so many great reviews. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was very pleasant. They were able to accomodate our whole family (2 adults, 3 kids) in one room. There is continental breakfast daily as well as a hot item (wafffles one day) each day. Having 3 kids, continental breakfast is a big plus and an easy way to start the day instead of looking for a restaurant to have breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice place to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Great place to stay close to the beach and wildlife refuge! Definitely recommend !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobfrom Virginia

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable. Right next to the park. Easy parking. Nice little breakfast to get you going. Area is beautiful.
Cons: Nothing major.
Great stay. Enjoyed so much last year that we came back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doris and Mikefrom Newport News, VA

Our relaxing Mother's Day weekend trip.

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: We liked all of it so our answer has to be EVERYTHING.
Cons: The only thing I noticed that was not perfect was the mirror at the head of the bed. It was not as clean as it could have been.
Location: Chincoteague is not terribly big so we were near shopping, eating, sight seeing and beaches, etc.
The front of Refuge Inn was not too exciting but when we got into the lobby we were very pleased. The little shop was very nice and had a good selection of gifts, etc. All of the staff that we had contact with were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was very surprising. It was very clean and had a very comfortable feel to it. The furniture and carpet were of really good quality and above the standards at most vacationing spots. We loved that we could see the ponies from our window and balcony. The entire area was very welcoming and relaxed and was just what we needed. The breakfasts had a very nice variety of items to choose from and it was nice to be able to take our food back to our room and eat there. Ours was a much needed trip and Refuge Inn helped to make our trip very enjoyable. The Inn was very well located because we could walk to eating and shopping places if we did not want to drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Binghamton, NY

Got Kids, have little time, get lost easy?

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Close enough to the pony island to walk, bike. Food was just enough. Rode my rented bike up to my little patio/porch and locked it up for the nite.
Cons: scrambled eggs for breakfast.... but NOT necessary. Lights, even Christmas string of lights going down the circular staircase from the roof top porch.
Location: rent a bike or bring one, leave the car in park. Try waffle ice cream cones. Steamers $35 pail is a bit of work to finish and delightfully so.
Well , do not back space or all the great writing goes away on this bubble. Go to the Refuge with kids, pool, ponies next door, bike rental next door, McD's next to that, and then the bikable bridge to the island made for photography of birds, horses, people and beaches. This is my second time to the Refuge. They were very personable. The hotel environment is not a distraction and for my categories that is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pa.

Convenient, comfortable

Posted May 5, 2014
Easy bike ride to refuge. Nice setting in back of inn. Newly remodeled rooms. Very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anatfrom Philadelphia

Great place for a family

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We visit at the middel of April. It is just the begning of the season so it was chill. But we enjoyed it. We were 5. We got the double queen bed room and asked for an extra trundle bed for our 3 years old. The room was very clean. There is a small refrigerator in each room, small coffee maker and a T.V and a small balcony. The staff was very kind and informative. The pool was warm and nice and the sauna was a big hit. The hotel is very close to the refuge and across the street there is a very good not expensive restaurant. We will definitely will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Wilmington, DE

Serenity, Comfort and Beauty

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Great location.
Location: Right next to the causeway. Near the best seafood restaurants.
Arriving at the Refuge was like a step back in time, into a better and calmer time. We unpacked, took a great swim in the warm pool and went for a beautiful walk over to the Island. Our room was great, everything worked and the decor was very nice. The Refuge staff was terrific. Very good breakfast with great coffee. All in all, the best place to stay in Chincoteague.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013