Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pippa from London

Pleasant friendly hotel.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Very convenient for Holyrood Palace and walking around the Arthur's Seat area.
Cons: Very minor decorative issues, a bit of loose wall paper in the room but nothing major.
Location: A good base for walking and near shops and the castle.
I do not often return to a hotel twice but four or five years on from my last stay I returned to the Ailsa Craig. My memories of a pleasant and friendly hotel were reinforced and I had a good night's stay. Staff are friendly and very polite and it was great to have a decent sized bedroom with large bath. Breakfast was relaxed in feel and the cooked items very tasty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dougiepj from Inverness

God value in the city centre.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location and value. Decent breakfast cooked to order. Staff were friendly, but not intrusive.
Location: Was in Edinburgh on business, but had time for a walk up Calton Hill; great views and a few things of interest.
Room was in basement and while basic, everything worked. Shower-room looked like it had been re-done recently and was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by coffeegirlhere

Great stay

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Staff is awesome, breakfast is great. Short walk to city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good location. Not too far away from the train station, yet quiet. Will recommend our friends to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by jay from spain

Basic room, basic breakfast..

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is very basic and i mean exactly this - basic. clean and just behind of Calton Hill so very close to the city center, cheap.. but you get what you pay for - great place if you don't mind small room and below average breakfast otherwise look somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Vikas Gupta from Denmark

Room below ground level

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was definitely cheap, very close to sea shore and not very far from train station either. Breakfast was really good. Only thing I didn't like that my room was under the ground level so no outside view but worth the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price, great location to Edinburgh play house

Posted Jan 17, 2014
We wanted a cheap hotel in a good location to Edinburgh playhouse. The hotel is small but clean,the staff are very friendly and the breakfast very nice!! All in all great value for money and a great break :)
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great location but!

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location and cheap but hotel needs a radical overhaul.