Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Scenic location, tucked just off a main road.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious, and the location was excellent, both in terms of convenience and surroundings.
Large room with a modern en suite. Great breakfast in pleasant surroundings included. An easy walk to all the main sites and attractions, as well as the train station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good on a budget

Posted Jun 13, 2014
It is a walk from a bus stop, even further to the old town, but Calton Hilll is your backyard. The room was in the basement with a good window, clean, but had kind of a damp smell, probably just needed afresh coat of paint. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MO from America

Nice hotel!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, location and service
Location: Walking distance to the city park and Princes Street.
Great location, very helpful staff, wonderful hot breakfast included and a very convenient location to Princes Street. The staff went above and beyond to help us. We stayed there for 4 nights and they called and reserved taxis for us and when we needed to leave early for a tour they had a continental breakfast ready for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JP

Small friendly hotel. Close to centre.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Stayed for 2 nights. Staff were superb. Friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother for them My single room was great. Very small but fully appointed with views of garden. Clean. Newly decorated bathroom. Would stay here again without doubt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Newcastle upon Tyne

friendly staff. 15 minute walk from station.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Quiet neighborhood. Friendly staff. Spacious room.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: 15 minutes walk from Waverly Station.
We stored our luggage at the reception in the morning, and the staff helped us carry it to our room so when we checked-in in the afternoon, the luggage was already in the room. Quite happy about their consideration. The triple room was spacious. One of the four bed lamps was off, but not a big deal. There were some small stains on my blanket. The breakfast was quite basic. The hotel was further from the station than I expected, about 15 to 20 minutes of walk.
3 out of 5
by SewingBee from Essex

Nice area but....

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel location is good, and the staff were friendly.
Cons: It should be made clear that some of the bathrooms, although private, are not en-suite. The bed linen should be replaced.
Location: The location is ten minutes walk from Waverley train station, and fifteen from the hop-on, hop-off buses. There are lots of good places to eat nearby.
This hotel is in a good area, but is looking rather shabby in places. The bathroom was new and spotless, but down the corridor from my (single) room. I wasn't made aware of this when booking. The bed linen comprising white sheets, a rather nasty brown blanket and an old bedspread need to be replaced with duvets. The bed was very hard. The breakfast choices were very basic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel close to city but is frayed around the

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Refurbish
Location: TheTers, restaurants
Room was basic, clean until Imsaw the stain on the blanket. It was within walking distance to,the city, car parking was on the street, breakfast was ok. We were in basement so a few water boiler noises came through. Would I stay here again? Well, allowing for,other choices , it is average value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre- good value

Posted May 30, 2014
Close to the city but breakfast and beds were very uncomfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbie from North Yorkshire

Simple hotel within easy reach of Centre

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Its location and the breakfast, although a little limited in choice, was good.
Cons: Needs towel rails in the bathroom, and some larger drawers would have been better.
Location: See also 'Write about your experience' above. Other attractions nearby were Camera Obscura, the Dungeons, Royal Yacht Britannia, The Royal Mile.
We had a four night stay here, specifically booked as my husband was running the Edinburgh Marathon. For the marathon it was perfect, literally yards from the start! It was about a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of town, a little bit further the castle, which was fine for us, but there was also a lot of places to eat and pubs on route if you wanted to be somewhere closer. The hotel was also close to the Dynamic Earth attraction and to Arthur's Seat in Holyrood Park, a lovely area where you could walk either around the bottom on the flat, or to the top of the seat, a very steep climb! The hotel for us overall was well placed, in a relatively quiet area.
3 out of 5
by Simon from London, UK

An average hotel in a relatively good location.

Posted May 27, 2014
I stayed one night in a single room. In summary, the staff are the best feature and the value for money is the worst. The staff were welcoming and the building is magnificent. However, for £65 for a single room, I did expect something slightly larger than the box room in a suburban semi. Despite other reviews, the shower was good (it just needs a bit of patience and perseverance with the controls). The breakfast was average and seemed to be designed by an Excel calculation on how many ml's of beans should be served to keep costs optimal. All in all, the place could be a lot worse but if they're aiming to make an impact, they need to make guests feel a little less like a source of revenue.