Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ARSfrom Brooklyn, NY

Ideal Location

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This room was charming, cozy, and well-appointed, and close to everything we could want. Each room is named for a great Scot (ours was the Denis Law room). We have not been to Europe in some time and did not know that our key card was required to turn the lights on. That was 20 frustrating minutes, but once we learned the trick it was no longer an issue. The bigger issue is that the vent in the bathroom had dust overflowing from it. Every time I used the loo I had to use my asthma inhaler. Even my bathroom vent at home doesn't look this bad. The rest of the room was lovely and beautiful. Would stay here again if the vent were cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lfrom London

Great all round

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice staff. Great location. Great all round - but not cheap
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Angusfrom East Scotland

Small space big price

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location, but overpriced for a small room. Noisy from live music downstairs till 3 am. Breakast was ok but tea or coffee was priced as an extra. Wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Really enjoyed my time here, the staff were friendly and helpful and the bar is lovely. Will definitely return and would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Business trip to Edinburgh

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Lots of character and charm for the location and building - room was amazingly comfortable
Cons: Early morning noise from neighboring business' did prematurely wake me but that i think this comes with being in such a great central location
Location: Restaurants, parks and castle - all within walking distance - location was ideal!
Service was magnificent, room was very comfortable even in the uncharacteristically warm temperature and was very pleased with the features and stylings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique small hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the unique decor. I even liked the maze of hallways and stairs, but some may not it as charming.
Cons: Our room did have a few too many dust bunnies under the desk and the bed area. Otherwise clean.
Location: In New Town but a convenient walk to the gardens and castle. Buses and trams are less than a block away as well. Liked being away from the hubbub.
We liked the uniqueness and the convenience of this hotel. While it is certainly not handicap accessible, if one is fit, the hotel offers any interesting maze of stairs. Our room was nice and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful even though reception is a bit out of the way. We opted for the breakfast package and were glad we did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laufrom Abz

Posted Jul 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel in a Fantastic Location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Great Value, Superb Quality Rooms. The staff here are very friendly, whilst I have been to Edinburgh on many occasions this is by far the best hotel experience I have had. The reception desk staff were very helpful and have excellent knowledge of all things Edinburgh!