Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very disappointed

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Nothing, even the names on the walls aren't well spelled, like David Coultard instead of Coulthard
Cons: Cleanliness in the shower, change mattresses, get a belboy and move the reception to the ground floor.
Location: it is well located, but that's about it.
It isn't a cheap hotel. But very badly designed. There is no A/C in the rooms, so if you are a little hot you need to open the windows, which you are going to hate, because there is so much noise outside even if it is 4 am. There is no proper Reception, and no bellman. You need to walk through a restaurant full of people with your luggage and get into the elevator to go to the reception, which is a small room, office like. Then you need to go back down and get into another very small elevator up to your room. The room was not that bad in size, but the bed had gaps in both sides and a hump in the center, which indicates they haven't changed the mattress in a very long time. My shower had mold everywhere which was disgusting. Overall I would never stay here again nor would recommend this hotel. There are much more hotels with the same price, way cleaner and much nicer in the same vicinity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sutton Coldfield

very convenient for restaurants, shops etc

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Central location
Cons: Brighter bedroom, more shelf space in bath room
Location: Very central, near to restaurants, shops and places of interest
Very friendly a& helpful staff, Noise is the main problem; we had a room overlooking an alley called Hope Street Lane. House of Fraser is next door. Every morning in the early hours we were disturbed by severe noises due to unloading goods and refuge clearing. It lasted 2 hours or so. In the bathroom, not enough self space for ladies make up materials.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location. Comfy. Good breakfast

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Staff lovely, gave us an earlier check in. Good bar downstairs too. Would come back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Gutes Hotel, leider gerade eine Baustelle. Aber endlich keinen Teppich ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Pleasant Hotel, well situated

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: The fact that its a small non corporate hotel
Cons: My room was a little cold but the weather had turned unexpectantly cold for June
Location: Central for everything in Edinburgh
The reception was a bit tricky to find as I took the wrong lift, my room comfortable with plenty of facilities. Very comfortable bed with mattress topper. The phone in my room didn't work so I had to order room service at reception but the food was excellent. I was on the 4th floor and there were road works through the night - I wasn't expecting to sleep much, but to my surprise I had an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious and served by a very friendly waitress who was genuinely interested in my stay and my experience of the hotel. I would happily recommend to others who are looking for a small non corporate hotel when staying in Edinburgh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

My visit to Edinborough-

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: I dreaded being alone in a hotel- On the computer the hotel was described so I felt safe booking my stay. It was certainly an easy plgood for a single
Cons: A later delivery to the building next door 5:15 TOO EARLY BOTH MORNINGS.
Location: Every thing Edinborough has to offer was indeed accessable.
I was welcomed well, it was relaxed. superb bed and bath. Hospitality tray great especially the teapot.The hotel was 4mins walk from George street. transport on hand f the feel of the city was there and the food in the hotel great. A couples weekend away a must experience even if I was on my own due to a recent loss of my husband.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

lovely hotel close to all amenities

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: The decor, cleanliness, and friendly staff.
Cons: The check-in time. More choice at breakfast.
Location: Very good location for shopping in Princess Street, the castle and Arthur's seat.
I stayed in this hotel on 25/26th April on a business trip. The hotel is conveniently located just off Princess street, and can easily be reached from the airport by taking the 100 bus and getting off at Sandwick place around 25 mins later. I found the hotel decor to be quite beautiful and they have an interesting theme based around famous Scottish people and those of scottish origin (i.e. Rod Stewart). All the rooms are named after famous scots and include a giant size photo of them. I stayed in the Andy Murray room. I got upgraded from a single room which I very much appreciated. The breakfast was of a very good breakfast and wasn't included in my stay and I had to pay about £10 for a full scottish breakfast and a cup of tea. There are cheaper options available such as eggs benedict. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only slight negative about this hotel was the fact that the check-in time wasn't until 15.00, which meant that I was hanging around Edinburgh for a while before I could check-in. Most check-in times around 14.00.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Had a lovely stay at angels share, loved the Famous scot themed rooms. Staff were very nice & decor of bar was stunning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The staff is wonderful and the hotel is in a great location. I also love how there was a hot water tea kettle in the room. My only negative was street noise was super loud at night and that combined with wind hitting something that clanged outside my window- found it hard to sleep.