Ratings based on 1,461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but in very noisy part of towm

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Hotel is very pleasant, staff were attentative and helpful and located very near castle. However the hotel is located across the square from a number of pubs. Our room was on 1st floor overlooking the street and with windows closed it was very noisy until at least 230 in the morning. We got little sleep and had to rise early for our flight home. To be fair it was a Friday evening maybe the midweek is not as bad. Other than the loud noise it was fine but that was enough And there are options close enough that are quieter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Wonderful hotel - great location!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Room was very clean -- a bit small, but nothing new for Europe.
Location: Location was superb - and even though it was a very busy area, the rooms are quiet.
The hotel is in a great location in the Grassmarket area, with views of the castle and is a short walking distance to the Royal Mile! Tthe staff were superb -- very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is also great! We enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

立地=最高、設備=良、音=少し難あり

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: 立地、景色、清潔さ
Cons: 防音
エジンバラ城側の部屋だったこともあり、部屋から見える城は最高でした。タクシーの運転手もこの角度から見るエジンバラ城がお気に入りと言っていました。 清潔で快適だったのですが、唯一音がうるさかったのが難点です。(私はそれほど気になりませんでしたが、家族は気になった様です。)しかし、耳栓が人数分提供されており、ホテル側も気遣いを感じました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio USA

Central but noisy

Posted Apr 8, 2015
We were greeted by very helpful staff. The room was clean with a great view. However it can be very noisy at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Noisy

Posted Apr 7, 2015
We arrived and the first thing we noticed was that the room came with ear plugs. It turns out that they were needed. Maybe it was just because it was a holiday weekend but there was a lot if rowdy people way into the night only finally quietening down at about 3:30am. The hotel was fine other than that so either ask for a room at the back of the hotel or perhaps look for one not on Grassmarket. This is a shame because the location is otherwise great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, average service

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Please educate the front staff on check-in.
Location: It is in the middle of the Grassmarket. They are a plethora of restaurants, shops and bars literally across the street and in every direction.
This is is fantastic place to stay in Edinburgh. It is right next to the castle which you can view from your room if you have one facing it. The rooms are plenty big and very comfortable. The only downside is that you are on the Grassmarket and it can be loud at night. However, they supplies ear plugs. The only issue I have with this hotel is that the front dek staff always seem to not be up to date on everything. It takes far too long to check in and this last time they tried to charge us additional money even though we had already paid. I've stayed here four times and this has happened each time. So, pay extra attention checking in. However, the view is well worth a little hassle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Stay in old town Edinburgh

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Staff are pleasant and were helpful.
Cons: The tub/shower is very high off the floor.
Location: Shopping, visitng Edinburgh Castle, many major tourist attractions, parking was available but limited.
The overall experience regarding the stay for two nights was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Hotel in Edinburgh old town, good location.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Check in was great. Staff at reception were brilliant. Bar staff were a bit inattentive. Room was very comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two day stay

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Needs redecorating
Location: Plenty of shops ,restaurants ,cafes, bars ,close to the castle and royal mile.
Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful this was our 3rd stay in this hotel as it is close to the Edinburgh we like but the rooms are in need of a bit of redecorating as they are looking a bit tired now .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Awful food

Posted Mar 24, 2015
As always at an Apex the staff are great , the rooms are clean and so on This time however the food was truly awful