Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice, terrible parking facilities

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Good hotel,friendly staff. Not hot water for shower Don't be fooled into believing this hotel has a car park. It has a postage stamp area at the back which is guaranteed to damage any car trying to get in or out
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

OK for winter deal.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Took advantage of the super cheap January deals to stay in what I am sure is usually a lovely four star hotel. I stayed one night an then returned for two nights with partner following week. This was mainly because of the cost and comfortable room. It was ok enough to extend by one more night but waiving the breakfast. I forgave the renovations and mucky corridors, as it was such a good price but things did get a bit much when we came back on the last evening to our landing of half painted doors and room smelling of oil paint. Of course, renovations have to happen but more thought into communicating to guests and a qyikc cldean up at the end of the contractors working day would help. Breakfast basic, but suited us. Except for one morning of dried out and sweaty cheese and dehydrated salmon. Staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Excellent location, and lovely staff

Posted Jan 15, 2015
My boyfriend and I arrived early to the hotel as we traveled to Edinburgh by train early, the hotel receptionist was friendly and welcoming and allowed us to check in early which was great. The hotel is under-going refurbishments in the hallways and lower rooms- this is the reason for marking down in my review. I do feel that it should be mentioned on the website for the hotel- however it did not cause any real affect to our stay. The room was beautiful, spacious and very clean. The bathroom had bath and shower facilities that were lovely. The hotel's location is perfect, not right in the center so you get to enjoy some lovely unique restaurants that are better priced but still great quality. Princess street is only five minutes away and the royal mile around ten, so you can walk everywhere without getting frozen in those winter months! Would definitely recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom f glasgow

Good location right next to playhouse

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Great hotel although went to the sister one as there are a few so make sure look at number of exact place . The room was clean spacious nice boutique feel although pillows were hard so wasn't the best sleep but good for location and I would recommend the hotel was excellent for what we were looking for xx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, England

Nice hotel with great friendly staff

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Lovely hotel with a good free continental breakfast included. The staff were very helpful! Would definitely stay again! Great value for money!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oban scotland

Convenient for walking to City centre

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Stayed for 5nights,great for Edinburgh City centre,5mins walk,staff all very pleasant,Anna reception very heplful & polite,redecorating going on not a problem,only complaint,no Hot water for shower or Bath,only lukewarm,no good if your tired cold & wet & want long relax soak in Bath Was told boiler cuts off at 65d,if they fix boiler temp wld stay their again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce boutique style hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Very comfy hotel, staff were very friendly and great value for money. Overall very hard to fault.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Fantastic value boutique hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Decoration, location, atmosphere, large rooms, friendly staff
Cons: Slight chipping of wallpaper
Location: In the New Town which is beautiful, can walk to all Edinburgh attractions from this hotel, surrounded by nice cafes and restaurants
Fantastic and accommodating staff (especially Alex), feels like you are staying at a 5* boutique hotel for half the price! Nicely decorated, welcoming and cosy, great location in a quiet and cool area - would highly recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Highlands

Convenient for shopping and theatre

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: convenient location and parking (although limited) Restaurant of good quality
Cons: décor could do with a refresh
Location: theatre, shopping galleries all close by
Mattress a bit hard but enjoyed the peacefulness of its city location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Festive period break

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Modern décor, big room.
Cons: Parking arrangements, bar & resteraunt
Location: Great position for the theatre, the Dome etc.
Bit of decorating in progress, otherwise good. Good place for a short break.