Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Suffolk UK

Does what it says on the tin - pleasantly.

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Feels laid-back and comfortable, but operated with quiet efficiency.
Cons: Minor glitches - curtain draw-back hooks were set into plasterboard and coming loose (proper plasterboard fixing needed) and the loo seat was wobbly.
Location: Quietly located in the guest house belt in the South of the city - excellent Delhi Diner (eat in & take out) close by.
Pleasant, friendly, and helpful staff - comfortable bed - decent breakfast choices - en suite facilities fine. Parking area seemed limited but never a problem during our stay. Location within reasonable walking distance of the city, with bus stops just outside and just over the road - we found a day pass for the frequent buses was less than the cost of parking a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent Bus Service

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Location, food, room and parking.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Bus travelled to all the tourist sites.
The omelets were the best I have ever had. The room for 3 adults was spacious. The breakfast room was bright and cheery. The buses went right past the front door to 'Old Town'. Parking was provided.
5 out of 5
by The Linguist from Birmingham

Very nice service

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: I loved their breakfast. You order what you like from the menu and they cook it for you the way you like and very cheap. you pay only five pounds.
Cons: I have no comments
Location: You can easily commute to all the attractions. city center is 2 miles or less and Edinburgh Castle the same almost.
The staff is very nice and the rooms are very clean, Its location is very good. Bus stops are right in front of the house and you can commute easily to almost everywhere. It feels like home. The room was spacious and looked fancy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
THe Ben-Craig House BnB is a nice place to stay in Edinburgh. The only complaint I had was that we stayed in room 8 and the bed was VERY uncomfortable. It was on the verge of collapsing! The food at breakfast was great an the bathroom was nice new and seemed very clean! It is close to the city centre and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The people are nice as well and very accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very dated. It could use some updates. The bed was ok but needs to be replaced soon. Breakfast was very good and the location is walkable to the main part of edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spacious room in convenient location

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic B&B style accommodation; easy access to golf courses outside Edinburgh as well as the downtown area. Spacious room to accommodate our family. The only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been a fan or some form of air conditioning, as we stayed in the middle of a rare heat wave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Washington, DC, USA

Great stay close to city

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Noisy front door
Location: Very convenient
We had a great stay. The room was lovely and so were the staff. It is an excellent location close enough to walk to the city but with parking available. The breakfast was excellent. Because we were close to the front door and the walls were thin we heard a lot of hallway traffic but nothing outside of normal waking hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ally

Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room was a bit chilly, which was the only thing i didn't like about it. We had a room at the bottom floor, the room was spacious and the breakfast was excellent. Staff was very helpful and friendly. There are lots of buses to the city center right outside the hotel and we never really had to wait for the bus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dave

Good value for money but not the best B&B

Posted Jul 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Given the price the Ben Craig isn't bad but there were a few niggles that prevented us giving it a higher review. They don't have a reception which means that the check-in and check-out was performed right outside the door to our room which made for being woke at 7am every morning. Not a problem most nights since we needed to be up and about but on Sunday morning after a night on the town catching up with old friends wasnt ideal. Probably only affects the 2 rooms either side of the main entrance. The bed was a little on the hard side. Other than that, given the keen price the Ben Craig wasnt a bad little B&B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CJ

Nice Place

Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pros: good rate, good breakfast, good hosts. Close to a lot of downtown sites.Cons: lots of road noise in our room. We can't speak for every room, but ours noisy. Towels ans linens could use an upgrade.