Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nottingham

Just one word. GREAT PLACE

Posted Sep 29, 2014
great situ. Superb views. Close to some wonderful historic building. Good food. Very friendly. Comfortable, clean, loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
The location is very good, bus station is close; bus No 11 took us in 20 minutes to the Princes Street. Breakfast is rich. I will stay in this hotel again when I come back to Edinburgh. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Leith

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay. The guest houses are very common in Scotland unlike in the states. It was a nice change and we really enjoyed it. The neighborhood was very nice and next to a beautiful park. We took the bus to the city, about a 20 minute ride. The 11 and the 14 run very close to the house and frequently. The only thing unique is that the bathrooms are not all en suite. We had to walk out of our room to the bathroom, which we didn't mind. The internet connection was not that great and went out in the middle of the night as we were doing work--a bit frustrating because we didn't want to wake the house manager. Overall, we would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hessen

Nettes Team, nicht verdiente Sterne

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nettes Team, gute Lage (Stadtrand, gute Busanbindung, relativ ruhig)
Cons: Die Sterne wegnehmen.
Location: In Stadtrandnähe, Bus in die Innenstadt in Fußnähe. Die royale Yacht ist in unmittelbarer Nähe (Hafen).
Vorab: Wir waren zehn Tage in Schottland unterwegs und haben fast jeden Tag ein anderes B&B besucht, keines davon hatte vier Sterne, wie das Bonnington Guest House. Jedoch war von allen Besuchen dieses das schlechteste. Wir bezahlten mehr als das doppelte als üblich (im Durchschnitt zahlten wir 75€) für dieses Gästehaus (155€) pro Nacht. Das Zimmer in dem wir unter gebracht waren, war unter dem Dach, das Badezimmer in einer Schräge. Das Bad war fleckig, die Wasserhähne lose und tropfend, die Toilette füllte ihren Spültank langsam (ca. 5 Minuten) unterlautem Plätschern. Das Stockwerk war dermaßen hellhörig, dass man den Zimmernachbarn im eigenen Zimmer vermutete. Staub fand man auf ziemlich allen Oberflächen die nicht schnell mit dem Swiffer erreicht werden. Zu allem Überfluss hatten wir noch zwei Mitbewohner (Kellerspinnen im Bad und Bett). Das Frühstück schottischer Standard (das Prädikat "kontinentales/großes Frühstück" ist dennoch weit entfernt). Einziger Lichtblick ist das nette Team. Zur Info: Die Sterne des schottischen Tourismusverbandes wurden bereits entfernt und dürfen nicht mehr beworben werden!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marchand Overfrom UK

A mixed bag.

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good breakfast and friendly owners. Wifi worked well and we appreciated fridge in room. However, the accommodation is dated and in need of overhaul. Creaky bed was too short for my husband - his feet hung over the end of the bed, and the 'private bathroom' was across the hall, inconvenient for night toilet visits. Over priced for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tennesseefrom NYC

Lovely B & B

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a lovely B & B. The room was very spacious and clean. It was taken care of very well. Breakfast was delicious. Host was gracious and pleasant. I would stay there again in a moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great B&B with lovely park views

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: Near to the fashionable and Michelin starred restaurants in Leith
We had a lovely experience here. The staff were gracious and friendly; the rooms were clean and large with high ceilings and the breakfasts were delicious and huge! A perfect location on major bus routes with beautiful Victoria Park out the back windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom chorley

Warm welcome and reasonable price

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel rooms vary - beware if you want an en suite as 'private bathroom' means a walk down the corridor. Great breakfast in pleasant room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolynfrom Surrey

Excellent B& B

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The room was very comfortable and large with plenty of space for maneuver. Light and airy and well decorated.
Cons: The hot water took a long time to come through but the proprietor had warned us of this and once through, there was plenty of it.
Location: A short bus ride into town center gives access to all the attractions & a short walk to the harbour gives access to the new shop center & Britannia.
The B & B was approximately 10 minutes away by taxi from Waverley Station and a reasonable charge for this journey (approx £7.00). The B & B was conveniently situated for the local buses and a short walk to the harbour which had several good restaurants to eat at.