Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bologna

Hotel che è èpoco più di un bed&breakfast

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Il prezzo, non più basso però del valore dell'hotel
Location: Il castello è raggiungibile a piedi in 20 minuti
Ho alloggiato per 4 giorni in una stanza molto piccola senza bagno in camera ma in corridoio da condividere con altre persone di altre stanze. La moquette non veniva pulita tutti i giorni, la coperta era corta per cui o coprivo i piedi o coprivo le spalle..... Colazione possibile solo dalle 8: avendo un'escursione lle 8,30 ho chiesto di poter fare colazione alle 7,30. Non è stato possibile anticiparla ed ho quindi dovuto far colazione fuori. Deludente
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Anthonyfrom Canada

Unexpensive room. Room and services are OK.

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The matress was not in a very good shape. The wifi signal was not strong enough and it was not possible to have internet in my room. I won't complain because you get what you pay for. The price is cheap and the room was OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Brianfrom Northampton

Excellent

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good for a one night stop over.clean and tidy.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Japan

Not as good as I expected

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: breakfast
Cons: They should clean rooms well.
Location: It takes 30 minuts on foot from the station. It was out of the sity centre.
The staff were kind and flexible, and breakfast was so delicious. However, my rooms was kind of dirty. There was a lot of dust on the floor and the desk lamp. Also, the light on the ceiling was broken. The owner noticed it because he led me to the room, but he didn't try to fix it. Fortunately, there were two other small lamps.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Room nr 7 , big room but with orribile smell, tiny bathroom, bad wifi. Staff very kind and good position . Very good breakfast
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LUCIAfrom Denmark

Severely overrated

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Braveheart guest house was a total disappointment. The first thing was that the door to our room was stuck on the carpet so we had to push it. Entering the room you immediately spot a dead insect on the wall which the cleaning personnel didn’t bother removing and the general feeling that they just do the bed when they come to “clean”. The room was fairly tiny, something that would have been acceptable if it wasn’t because it felt so dirty everywhere which made it feel very claustrophobic. The shower’s door doesn’t close so the floor gets all wet, also the electronic shower made a tinnitus-esque sound whenever you put it on hot. Generally the most positive thing about the room was that you wanted to stay there for as little as possible, helps you get the most out of Edinburgh which is a great city. The location being 20 minutes on foot to Princess Street and a bit closer to the castle and Grassmarket was the most positive thing about our stay. As we sat down for breakfast at 8.50 (from 8-9) right after serving a mediocre Scottish breakfast the staff began switching off lights around, closing the door to the dinner hall and sat down to watch TV which made it clear that it was time to get out. Overall it didn’t feel like it was worth the money, usually there’s a trade-off between location and the general standard of the hotel when picking from the cheap hotels but at Braveheart guest house the standard was in our opinion horrific while the location wasn’t all that great.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tilburg

Decent budget hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Proximity to city center, breakfast, staff.
Cons: Please replace guest towels daily, especially in shared bathroom.
Location: Major sights in the city within 20 min walking distance.
Decent room (for the price), nice staff, good breakfast, location in a quiet street, in walking distance of major sights. Hotel could do with some renovation work but you can't ask too much at this price. Only one issue: Guest towels are not changed daily. According to staff, towels in the rooms are changed only every 3rd day. Towels in de shared bathroom are only changed "when they are dirty". Not sure what they mean by that. For this reason alone I will not stay here again and cannot recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalliafrom Belarus

Nice hotel, not far from the center of the city.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: It is clean and I like its placement in the center of Edinburgh.
Cons: Very disappointing is the fact that we had to look for the place for our car to park and pay extra for this.
Location: The hotel is in a very good place to visit all places of interest in the city.
Very suitable for those who likes cities and who is going sightseeing. The most interesting places of Edinburgh is just close to the hotel.Breakfast is OK and the staff is friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by kiitfrom Manchester

Fantastic breakfast

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic breakfast, decent condition of room, great value of money
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nilssonfrom Sweden

Får vad man betalar för

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Vi bodde fyra nätter i ett trebäddsrum med eget badrum. Badrummet var litet men förvånansvärt fräscht. Då rummet hade tre sängar blev det ganska trångt. Inga direkta avställningsytor. Heltäckningsmattan vid badrumsdörren var blöt eftersom det läckte ut från badrummet. Detta var säkert inget nytt eftersom heltäckningsmattan delvis hade släppt samt var missfärgad (vitmögel?) vid dörren. Det blöta hade man försökt "lösa" genom att lägga en ännu tjockare matta ovanpå heltäckningsmattan. Denna blev så småningom också blöt. Ett tips - behåll skorna på. Läckaget från badrummet hade gjort att badrumsdörren slagit sig och var MYCKET svår att öppna. Badhandukarna byttes inte ut dagligen utan veks ihop blöta och lades på sängen så att det blev fuktigt i fotändan. Personalen var vänlig och tillmötesgående. Frukosten var okey. Frukostrummet, som även fungerade som reception, hade direktkontakt med köket och kändes slitet. Läget var väl hyffsat, c:a 15 minuters promenad till city. Nybyggnation med påföljande buller skedde på tomten brevid - i övrigt inget trafikbuller. Då vårt rum låg högst upp var WiFi signalen svag, tidvis obefintlig.