Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Week end away

Posted Jul 16, 2010
Stayed here for a week-end and found that despite the bus loads stopping in on their tours of Edingburgh/ Scotland we had a quiet, comfortable night. The room was very clean if a bit small and equiped with tea tray, hair drier, cable telly etc. When we asked for an ironing board it was sent up immediately and overall staff were very helpful. Breakfast one morning was fantastic, freshly cooked full English with all the trimmings, the next morning unfortunately we arrived to find the remnants of mass feeding, buffet style. From our interaction with the staff I think we could probably have asked for something different if we had felt strongly. Overall a good stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston

4-Day Business Trip

Posted Jun 9, 2010
Four day business trip to Livingston area. Hotel is easily accessible to region. The hotel was clean and relatively modern. WiFi only available in the lounge and lobby. Breakfast starts at 7am, which can be too late to accommodate early departures. Tesco shopping located nearby for purchasing any items or food. Staff was very friendly, but rather slow in service. Despite lack of WiFI access, would stay at the hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2010 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room 122

Posted May 27, 2010 on Hotels.com
My room was basic but comfortable for a one night stay. However I went to take a bath and I got a bath full of red/brown water. on complaining I was told to run the water for a while this should flush it away as there had been a problem with the water supply. Yep I did, the water ran for 15min on full blast and it was clear. The kettle that I had filled eariler had mud in the bottom of it. Didant fancy a cupper after that
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Basildon, Essex

Warm Scottish Welcome and Good Fare

Posted Jan 11, 2010
On arrival, the Bathgate area was suffering snow falls circa 20 inches deep, however, apart from the problems parking in the car park in deep snow our stay was excellent. On entering the hotel the facilities were warm and welcoming. The staff could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable and memorable , esprcially in the dire conditions outside. The facilities and ambience were first class, our room, although not large was suitable for a couple with all the facilities identified on their website. Breakfast was especially good and wholesome, good scottish fare. On the morning of our departure the waitress took time to identify from 'SKY travel reports' where we might meet hazards on our alternative routes back to the South, either by East or West coast motorways. The staff were also most helpfull to travellers in assisting clearing snow in the car parking area or pushing cars to help their grip in the snow. This hotel illustrated all that was good/great in offering the very best hospitality Scotland could offer in very trying weather conditions. Will certainly return and visit again in the summer as well as recommend this hotel to freinds & family. The only negative point we found was their bar prices which were dearer than other local hostelries/hotels in the area, the hotel could improve this by lowering their prices and would benefit themselves by retaining their guests stay in the bar/lounge areas much longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from bucharest romania

very central place to stay!

Posted Oct 12, 2009 on Hotels.com
hotel very central with easy access to all of central scotland, staff most pleasant and helpful, tasty food at reasonable prices, will certainly stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Reasonable room rates

Posted Sep 6, 2009
Spotlessly clean, but could do with a general revamp in the rooms Overall, good value for the money paid. Would not stop me from staying again. A good base for local attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spain

Not up to Expectations

Posted Aug 11, 2009 on Hotels.com
Our friends had recommended this hotel, but if we had paid the full £100 per night we would have been very disappointed. The accommodation was average for a provincial hotel, although with good friendly staff. The housekeeping staff were less than professional, we complained about the quality of the room cleaning, however, this did not improve during our stay. Also, during the day, the housekeeping staff sat and chatted in the corridors, which made moving luggage difficult. The breakfast failed to live up to its billing, with no haggis as promised. The serve yourself hot food looked dry and unappealing so we had to ask and wait for freshly cooked, as did, other hotel guests. The evening meals were reasonable, however, there were several items missing from the menu due to delivery problems, which were not resolved during the period of our stay. My wife repeatedly asked for the “Liver and Bacon” option, to be told it would be available the following day. It never was! The location was poor, being a significant distance from the town centre and next to an industrial estate. We had expected a good rail service from Bathgate to central Edinburgh, however, the trains stopped comparatively early. You will need to allow at least £50 taxi fare, if you wish to have an evening in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Will book this hotel again

Posted May 28, 2009
I must admit that I had some hesitation in booking this hotel after reading one review from a dissatified customer on line but I'm glad I took the chance and stayed at the Cairn Hotel. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, extremely professional and the hotel to be clean and comfortable. It's not the newest one but I think that adds to it's charm. I also like the fact that you could access free wireless internet in the lounge areas of the hotel. I got alot of work done in a very pleasant, quiet surrounding. I'll book this again. Thanks again to everyone at the Cairn Hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

You can do much better

Posted Mar 18, 2009
The hotel was dirty and noisy. At night they turn off the elevators and lock the front door. I sat outside and rang the bell for about 10 minutes and nobody came. So I had to walk around the outside of the hotel at 2:00 in the morning trying to find somebody inside to open the door in the cold with pouring down rain. I found the night person cleaning the dining room after about 20 minutes and he let me in the back door. He acted like I was stupid, so I told him apparently the bell doesn't work. The maintenance level of the room was poor, as was the cleanliness. Bathgate is a good sized town, I would recommend searching for a B&B - it's worth the extra time searching instead of staying in this dump!