Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from Vancouver, BC

convenient

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: There was a door between my room and the next so at times I could hear people talking, which was very annoying.
Location: Half a block from Calton Hill with panoramic views of the city, there are many nearby restaurants, Princes St. is a 10 minute walk.
I booked this hotel because of its proximity to the start of the Edinburgh Marathon but it is also close to the beautiful Calton Park and within walking distance of all central attractions.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Stavanger, Norway

Close to shopping

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Not much to like really, but the girls we spoke to were pleasant and friendly.
Cons: The staff MUST tell visitors where they may park!!
Location: shopping and Castle near by
A "tired" hotel. It looks like they are working to upgrade it, but it will require a lot of work. Windows not good, cold wind coming in! We were given a £30 fine for parking in wrong place just outside the hotel. The staff never told us that we couldn't park there. Apparantly it was for people with valid permit only. We paid in the box, but that didn't help much when it was not allowed. We didn't see any sign saying it was not allowed. Very annoying!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel near city centre

Posted Apr 27, 2014
one fault that the bathroom was very small giving elderly people like my wife and i little room to turn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel, easily walkable from Waverley

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Easy to reach, clean, simple, 24h check in, single room is quite small but perfect for an overnight stay. Unbeatable for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Lincolnshire

Good hotel near centre

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Second stay. Comfortable and warm, courteous and helpful staff, clean rooms and facilities good. Like single rooms available when travelling alone.
Location: Close to centre of Edinburgh, restaurants and cafe's nearby, local theatre and shops, family history centre, etc
Within easy reach of station, bus services, and centre of Edinburgh. Helpful information at reception making stay a pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by george from ayr

Edinburgh"heart

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Close to playhouse and princess street ,station and bus depot
Cons: protectors on bed and pillows
Location: playhouse ,railway station ,and bus depot
Booked a single room and got a large double .The room had recently been refurbished to a high standard .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jules from Oxfordshire

Good location, comfortable, and good price deal.

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: reception staff, location, price, facilities in the room, luggage storage, free wifi
Cons: mattress was a bit soft
Location: Across the road from Calton Hill, handy for everything inc. bars, restaurants, The Playhouse, cinema, shopping, and with bus routes nearby.
Great location at bottom of Calton Hill (with a path up the hill just across the road from the hotel), and within walking distance of the bus station (with light baggage). Handy for the cinema, St James Shopping Centre, The Playhouse, and local bus routes. I got a good price on the internet out of season and so I was extremely happy with the facilities, and cleanliness etc of the hotel for what I paid. I might be a bit biased because of this, but as a single traveller, who normally has to pay a stupid amount as punishment for just being by myself, this hotel was a breath of fresh air. I was able to check-in early, leave my luggage there all day when checking out, and staff on reception were very helpful. It was not the most modern of hotel rooms - with sash windows, a broken mirror light in the bathroom, and the floor boards creaked a bit. But, the walls were nice and thick, and I didn't hear anything from the other rooms (although they might have been empty of course!). It was comfortable, and highly recommended (to those that are not overly fussy) if you can a good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to find, cheap and comfy hotel - Edinburgh.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Easy to find, not far from anything really, nice and friendly staff, quick and simple check in and out less than 2 minutes, comfy bed and nice and clean bedroom and bathroom a joy to stay. Well recommended :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by cc1610 from london

Great service

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service, all staff were very helpful. Rooms were basic but very comfortable and clean, I will come again!