Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected more from such a lovely place

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The grounds and the bedroom.
Cons: Staff and quality of food.
I attended a wedding here, the staff were not on the ball. Had to wait ages to get served at the bar, and our table was covered in empty dirty glasses for most of the evening. Instead of a wedding buffet there were bacon rolls provided which were horrible, dry rolls, cold bacon and lots of fat. We were resident for the evening and when tried to get a resident's drink charged to our rooms we had to wait until the barman had cashed up for the evening before being served. Breakfast in the morning was a help yourself affair and the coffee was in a metal pot which did not keep it hot, and it was awful. Very poor standards from a hotel that I expected more from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevinfrom Leicester

valentines stay

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Had a lovely weekend stay with my wife for Valentine's Day. Unfortunately our room had a blocked sink and was late in the day. We ended up changing rooms. Overall loved our stay great hotel very comfortable and tranquil.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Florindafrom US

Great castle experience

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great castle experience. The castle has a lot of history. The staff is very helpful. Reasonable rate for a castle room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lily Sfrom Missouri

Beautiful Property

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The property is beautiful and has a lovely history. We really enjoyed breakfast and the customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ivan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice country get away but not for business travel

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here as this was the only place I could stay within budget bearing in mind the Fringe festival was on in Edinburgh and the Commonwealth Games were on in Glasgow (and I was working in Glasgow). For the room specifically, the bed was quite uncomfy -the mattress was sloping down to one side and a bit lumpy. The room although small with low ceilings (very low actually and I'm 6 foot 4) but it is a castle so can be expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian Bfrom Durham

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel and surroundings. Make sure to go in through the front entrance from the main road as my sat nav took me in the back road - that farm road is not fit for sports exec cars and there's no signage for the hotel. Staff were friendly but not very attentive. Rooms were very nice standard. Biggest disappointment is that the restaurant does not cater for individual business users, so if you haven't booked their special four course fancy meal by 5pm then you're not eating there. There is however a nice little pub/restaurant a short drive away at the next village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian Cfrom Canada

most enjoyable

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Once you get over the sudden turn off the road onto the driveway leading up to the main building, you find yourself driving between rows of huge trees that border lawns with rabbits scampering about. Delightful! The staff was gracious and polite as we signed in. There is an elevator (installed in 2008) that can take about 2 people with luggage. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was pretty narrow--a retrofit obviously, but manageable. There is a lovely rose garden and grounds to walk around and the staff will gladly set up a table for dinning outside. Dinner and breakfast was very good. We enjoyed a game of billiards (table was well maintained). The location is, as one would expect, off the beaten path, quiet and relaxing, but that's the point. We stayed mid week and there were only a few other guests around at the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bigmogfrom Fife

Almost brilliant

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely fabulous hotel with stunningly beautiful grounds and history. Just let down a little bit by a few details. The beds were not the most comfortable, raw spring mattresses and breakfast was chaotically organised. However, I would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anniepolanskifrom Manchester

Character hotel in a beautiful location

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location, staff , ambience
Cons: Not a lot - quirky building, but charming
Location: Handy for Edinburgh, Musselburgh and the racecourse
From the moment we entered we were warmly welcomed and cossetted. Staff were excellent, polite and attentive even though there was a wedding on we did not feel marginalised or less important. Fine meal in the evening though menu limited - presumably as they are more of an event hotel rather than running a restaurant in a traditional style hotel. Breakfast though plentiful was buffet style with the downside of the food not being piping hot. only negative comment room wise was the cam ceiling - I could negotiate past the bottom of the bed if I leant over, at 5ft 4in , but not so convenient for hubby or anyone taller. Would still recommend and will return next time we are in the area.