Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aberdeen

Tired and in need of an upgrade

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Almost everything - but especially the decor
Location: Great for the west end of Edinburgh and also an easy stroll into Stockbridge which has a great selection of bars, resaurants and shops.
Channings is now well past its sell - bye date. Disappointing , as its so well placed and has huge potential. The pillows are the worst I have ever had in a hotel - thin slabs of foam. Come on Channings , you can surely do better than that ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Familiäres Hotel mit sehr freundlichem Personal

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Sehr sauber, sehr gepflegt, sehr ansprechendes Frühstücksbuffet
Location: in absoluter Innenstadtnähe, Besichtigung derselben
Besichtigung der geschichtsreichen Stadt mit vielen Eindrücken auch aus dem gesellschaftlichen Leben der Schotten
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Short stroll in to City

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Lovely warm welcome from the receptionist when checking in. Our room was not one of the modern rooms shown on the site but very clean and very warm ! A lovely hotel that I would go back to next time I vist Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Bedroom window would not open so room got stuffy and I had a poor night's sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hartlepool

A relaxing break in the city!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The staff, food and hospitality.
Cons: The wifi reception was poor and intermittent.
Location: Great base for checking out nearby art galleries and museums!
Superb friendly staff within this hotel that make you feel special and looked after... we will definitely return. Next time we would like a room with one of their fabulous bathrooms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lucia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M T Ofrom Coventry

A capital endurance

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel quiet area just 10 mins walk from the castle, the Shackleton stuff was a nice bonus ,the endurance room was larger than expected and the full Scottish breakfast is a good start to a brisk day touring the sights .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gail

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

great hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2015
In a nice quiet area of Edinburgh Lovely staff and breakfast really yummy Definitely coming back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Comfortable and friendly hotel situated in the area of Stockbridge which is about half an hour's walk from Edinburgh city centre. We found the hotel welcoming with cosy reception areas including roaring fires and daily papers - definitely somewhere you could relax. There is a restaurant and bar but we didn't use, so can't review these - we ate out in the area of Stockbridge where there are plenty of nice bars and eateries a short walk away. Thoroughly recommend and would return - perfect for a short break.