Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great escape

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More menue selections for dinnerr
Location: We walked to the Royal miles each day and toured/sight seeing along the way.
We were here 4 years ago and upon our return visit we found it even better than before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Large room, great choice of food at breakfast
Cons: Room in the ground floor could be a bit noisy when people are chatting in the lobby
Location: The immediate area is residential, so it is quiet and there is not much to do around. However, the city centre is only 10-15 minutes walk
Hotel is in a nice area, 15 minutes walk from the city centre. Room was large and the bathroom was impressive, with both a shower cabin and a separate bath tub. At breakfast there is a large choice, including both continental and British breakfast, for all tastes!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Tired and in need of an upgrade

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Almost everything - but especially the decor
Location: Great for the west end of Edinburgh and also an easy stroll into Stockbridge which has a great selection of bars, resaurants and shops.
Channings is now well past its sell - bye date. Disappointing , as its so well placed and has huge potential. The pillows are the worst I have ever had in a hotel - thin slabs of foam. Come on Channings , you can surely do better than that ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jacqueline from Manchester

Birthday stay

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay with pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

super break

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
friendly,very pleasant stay, staff were welcoming and helpful,we received a free upgrade to a junior suite which was great!!The only downside was the lack of parking ,having been made aware before we went about the lack of parking local to the hotel I rang the hotel and was told that we would be directed to an area within walking distance of the hotel where we could leave the car.On arrival at the hotel we realised you can only actually leave you car for 4hours,then you are supposed to move it,the girl on the desk did say that nobody seemed to have to do this.However we did to drive to the "free"parking only to discover it was just another street with no spaces whatsoever.I guess the message to be learnt from this is if you're going to Edinburgh leave your car at home.Despite this we had a great stay and the hotel was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Familiäres Hotel mit sehr freundlichem Personal

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Sehr sauber, sehr gepflegt, sehr ansprechendes Frühstücksbuffet
Location: in absoluter Innenstadtnähe, Besichtigung derselben
Besichtigung der geschichtsreichen Stadt mit vielen Eindrücken auch aus dem gesellschaftlichen Leben der Schotten
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from Annan

Perfect location but no long lies!

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
We got a rare weekend away with no children & chose Channing's for its location, close to the centre but quiet! We were in Room 6 on the ground floor next to reception..we had plenty of space a very comfy bed and an outlook onto the garden but were awoken both mornings at 6.30-7am by the reception & lounge area being hoovered!!!! It's was disappointing...not the most ideal place for a room. On the plus side the staff were absolutely fantastic..so friendly & nothing was a problem and the breakfast was delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from sunderland

excellent hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very modern clean and tidy hotel..rooms were lovely staff very helpful. .would definitely recommend it and would stay again next time in Edinburgh
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely comfortable hotel. Fantastic breakfast. Helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay