Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ireland

Charming hotel, a little outside the city centre

Posted Nov 18, 2014
We stayed for two nights over our anniversary in November. We picked the standard double room because the room looked elegant with a lovely old style roll top bath in the pictures. When we got there the room was lovely but there was no roll top bath so I enquired about this and they said they would upgrade is to a suite for our second night stay, which was very good of them. The suite had a lovely bathroom although the original bedroom was nicer. So a word of advice, be specific in what you want when booking! They have over 40 individual style rooms apparently. It is a 20 minute walk from George street and in a peaceful part of town, a taxi is £6-10 to town. The breakfast was tasty and substantial with a reasonable selection. Staff were very friendly, polite and accomodating. Overall; a lovely hotel if you don't mind the walk in to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Preston, UK

Good, quiet location.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The pleasant and friendly atmosphere and proximity to the centre.
Location: Close to the bus stops with a regular service to town. This is a quiet residential area.
A quiet location but not too far out of the centre. A pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. Some noise affected my room e.g. early morning vacuum cleaning in the public area. Also the restaurant/bvar area ought to be warmer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Did not eat at restaurant for dinner but the bar was fine for a few drinks and the breakfast was substantial.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
It was a nice hotel. The room was comfortable and the staff was nice. The wi-Fi was unreliable and the tv lacked many channels, but the bed was comfortable and the bathtub was very nice. We couldn't seem to control the water temperature in our room but we only took one shower so I'm not sure whether that was our fault or not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent service

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Excellent hotel unfortunately couldn't enjoy it more as I was on business. Will be back again hopefully!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom mossley

Quiet hotel within 20 minutes walk into city

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Nice decor and old world charm.
Cons: Beds and choice of continental breakfast items as outlined.
Location: Lots to do in Edinburgh, good pubs,restaurants, shops in stockbridge within 10 minutes walk.
Stayed in ground floor room.very clean and good bathroom size with separate shower and bath.twin beds,would benefit from bigger ones!staff very helpful.breakfast and bar downstairs but were offered breakfast in our room due to mobility problems. Breakfast average,nice fruit.poor choice of cheese,bread for advertised continental breakfast.hotel in quiet location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Loved the Stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Bathroom!!!
Cons: Better vegetarian selection on room service
Location: Didn't get time to explore as I was on business but will definately be going back.
Loved the bathroom in 'Discovery' and staff where friendly and helpful. Will definately go back again on pleasure rather than business and stay longer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Debby H.from Hinsdale, IL

A Terrific Find

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay at The Channings Hotel. It was situated in a quiet neighborhood, yet close to Edinburgh Castle and other major sights. The staff was friendly and most helpful in assisting with directions and/or calling taxis for us. Our two room suite was clean, comfortable and offered a lovely view of the park across the street. We really enjoyed our stay and would most definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Srinu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darrenfrom Harrogate

Great location

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, great service, hotel has everything you need. My 4th stay and Some rooms are better than others (some need modernising).