Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Crowne Plaza the Roxburgh

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location, helpfulness of staff, good breakfast but suggest you pay beforehand as it will be cheaper. Comfortable rooms, tea facilities etc.
Cons: Swimming pool water could be warmer, hotel sign more prominent.
Location: Centrally located for shops and local transport, within 5 mins walk, good eating places and pubs nearby. Takes about 20mins walk to castle.
Good Location, not from bus and tram stops (5-10 mins). Staff very friendly made you feel at home, nothing to much trouble. apart from a slight hiccup with our cases on arrival no complaints. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Close to central places of interest.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: My dietary requirements meant I could not select off the main menu, however, my needs were met with no fuss.
Cons: A bit more of a basic menu.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of many places of interest.
Very comfortable hotel. Staff very helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel, close to city centre

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location - close to train station, shops etc
Cons: Breakfast - had to wait a bit to get our breakfast
Location: Location was excellent, close to shops
Can't praise all staff at Crowne Plazza, Edinburgh, every member of staff I came in contact with was very helpful and friendly - well done
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BananaSplitz from London

Great hotel in quiet location minutes from centre.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location, lounge areas, friendly and helpful staff.
Location: We enjoyed: castle, camera obscura (esp for rainy days), Mary King's Close, Royal Yacht Britannia and just pottering in the park and along Royal Mile.
Stayed in Edinburgh for a long weekend, and the Roxburghe was ideally placed - we hopped off the 'Airlink' bus, strolled along the Princes Park Gardens, then 5 mins later we were at the hotel. I thought we'd be using taxis and the various tour buses to get around, but in reality, the hotel was an easy walking distance from everything we visited: castle, Royal Mile, theatres, etc. A little way from the main roads, so we avoided the traffic noise associated with some of the other Edinburgh hotels we'd considered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Miss Red from Glossop

Superb personal service

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent 2 nights over the weekend of 23rd-25th May at The Roxburghe. We had booked the dinner, bed and breakfast rate which was excellent value. We flew from Manchester on the Friday but were due to arrive as the restaurant were taking last orders so we pre-booked our meals. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we went straight through for a 3 course dinner which was presented as fresh as if we had just ordered it. Also, on the Saturday we were attending a friend's wedding reception in the evening so we requested our 2nd meal to be exchanged for afternoon tea. Again, everything was ready for us, the staff were well briefed and we had excellent service and a superb afternoon tea. We also had 2 friends with us who were given afternoon tea at a special rate. The catering manager I had been in email contact with to arrange everything with came to introduce himself to us and make sure everything was in order, great personal service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by EB from Yorkshire

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were brilliant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel, Great Location!

Posted May 8, 2014
This hotel was lovely to stay in, very comfortable and clean, the only downside was that I expected the spa facilities to be much bigger and more modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver. BC

Combining the old and the new

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location- off Princes street which is overcrowded and touristy
Cons: Find a smoking are other than outside the front door for those attending events.
Location: Around the corner is George Street with lovely shops and restaurants. Easy walk to castle, Scottish museum and Princes street
The hotel has a lovely locaction overlooking Charlotte Square. It is a refurbished old town house(s) with a new wing incorporated behind. It has a spa,gym, pool, lovely public sitting areas, excellent breakfasts and very helpful front desk/concierge staff. Ask for a room in the "new" wing otherwise being on the Charlotte street can be noisy. We arrived on a Thursday and were delighted with the quiet atmosphere however on the weekend there were at least 3 or 4 weddings and a band one night that thumped away until midnight. The front door of the hotel is a narrow original door and all the smokers congregate there making it difficult and smelly for hotel guests to access the hotel Housekeeping was slow and eratic. We had a chocolate by the bed on one of the 4 nights and on the last night we got bathrobes !..