Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Crowne Plaza the Roxburgh

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location, helpfulness of staff, good breakfast but suggest you pay beforehand as it will be cheaper. Comfortable rooms, tea facilities etc.
Cons: Swimming pool water could be warmer, hotel sign more prominent.
Location: Centrally located for shops and local transport, within 5 mins walk, good eating places and pubs nearby. Takes about 20mins walk to castle.
Good Location, not from bus and tram stops (5-10 mins). Staff very friendly made you feel at home, nothing to much trouble. apart from a slight hiccup with our cases on arrival no complaints. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Close to central places of interest.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: My dietary requirements meant I could not select off the main menu, however, my needs were met with no fuss.
Cons: A bit more of a basic menu.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of many places of interest.
Very comfortable hotel. Staff very helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel, close to city centre

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location - close to train station, shops etc
Cons: Breakfast - had to wait a bit to get our breakfast
Location: Location was excellent, close to shops
Can't praise all staff at Crowne Plazza, Edinburgh, every member of staff I came in contact with was very helpful and friendly - well done
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BananaSplitz from London

Great hotel in quiet location minutes from centre.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location, lounge areas, friendly and helpful staff.
Location: We enjoyed: castle, camera obscura (esp for rainy days), Mary King's Close, Royal Yacht Britannia and just pottering in the park and along Royal Mile.
Stayed in Edinburgh for a long weekend, and the Roxburghe was ideally placed - we hopped off the 'Airlink' bus, strolled along the Princes Park Gardens, then 5 mins later we were at the hotel. I thought we'd be using taxis and the various tour buses to get around, but in reality, the hotel was an easy walking distance from everything we visited: castle, Royal Mile, theatres, etc. A little way from the main roads, so we avoided the traffic noise associated with some of the other Edinburgh hotels we'd considered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by EB from Yorkshire

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were brilliant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel, Great Location!

Posted May 8, 2014
This hotel was lovely to stay in, very comfortable and clean, the only downside was that I expected the spa facilities to be much bigger and more modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver. BC

Combining the old and the new

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location- off Princes street which is overcrowded and touristy
Cons: Find a smoking are other than outside the front door for those attending events.
Location: Around the corner is George Street with lovely shops and restaurants. Easy walk to castle, Scottish museum and Princes street
The hotel has a lovely locaction overlooking Charlotte Square. It is a refurbished old town house(s) with a new wing incorporated behind. It has a spa,gym, pool, lovely public sitting areas, excellent breakfasts and very helpful front desk/concierge staff. Ask for a room in the "new" wing otherwise being on the Charlotte street can be noisy. We arrived on a Thursday and were delighted with the quiet atmosphere however on the weekend there were at least 3 or 4 weddings and a band one night that thumped away until midnight. The front door of the hotel is a narrow original door and all the smokers congregate there making it difficult and smelly for hotel guests to access the hotel Housekeeping was slow and eratic. We had a chocolate by the bed on one of the 4 nights and on the last night we got bathrobes !..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennie from Wolverhampton

Lovely hotel close to all attractions

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms, breakfast, facilities, location
Cons: nothing
Location: The location was just right with a 15 minute walk to the castle and shops just round the corner.
We stayed here as a group of 12 for my 50th birthday and was very impressed. The rooms were lovely, the breakfast was lovely - everything was first class. It was close enough to walk to the castle and museums and we used the tour bus to see Edinburgh and visit the Royal Yacht. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.