Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vermont

Guest house

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Good food
Cons: Begs for A complete overhaul, needs some flowers or plants in the little garden where the dining room is located
Location: Shabby side street, but close enough to all the tourist attractions
Clean room with an air of disuse , uncomfortable bed, live mollusk climbing up the wall
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Good location near centre of city.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location . Good basic accommodation.
Cons: Décor, and overall external appearance. Shame the rubbish bins have to be at the front door.
Location: Easy walking distance to city centre. Excellent bus service for the less energetic!! Situated in residential street. Free parking available.
Good choice of accommodation if you are looking for a place to stay that provides comfortable secure accommodation close to city centre. We were attending the Edinburgh Festival and the 'Cruachan' was everything we needed by way of overnight accommodation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice for breakfast. Although the general appearance is dated, and the interior a bit in need of some cosmetic work ,this did not detract for the general comfort. Its not a luxury hotel but a it is a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Nice B&B fairly close to main downtown area

Posted Aug 18, 2014
For the price, this B&B was a very good value and pretty much exactly what I was looking for. The host was very welcoming and courteous and provided a great breakfast. The room was pretty standard, but well kept and clean. I had a shared bathroom, but that was clear from the description at booking and it wasn't an issue. A few things around the place may have needed to be fixed up a little bit, but nothing of significant issue. Also, though another reviewer noted it was not the best area of town, it certainly seemed nice enough to me, and the street is filled with other B&Bs. As well, it's only a 20 minute walk or so to the main tourist area and a number of buses come down the main avenues in the area, so it's a pretty convenient spot. Nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Place to Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I stayed three nights with my teenage daughter at Cruachan, and it was just about perfect. Graham was very welcoming, and made everything easy. He confirmed we were coming via email the day before, and although he wasn't there when we arrived, he had everything organised for us to find our room without a fuss. The room was comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic. The welcome was warm. The place was clean... well, mostly. It was no fault of the host, but another guest did leave an awful mess for me to wake up to in the shared bathroom one night. No huge problem, and it just comes with the territory of a shared bathroom and a major international festival! It was cleaned the next time I visited. The place is within walking distance of the city centre, but if you can't be bothered walking, buses run very close and are easy to use. Also, it's far enough out of the city to be relatively quiet. In all, a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RGfrom Hull

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly owner and excellent location for EICC and centre of Edinburgh. Room was very small and mismatched furniture. Communal bathroom very dated and run down. I did use en suite bathroom in a larger room and this was of a much better standard. I would recommend the larger rooms rather than the single. Breakfast times were late for those on business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by berndfrom nancy france

Nice hôtel near the little Town

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The family atmosphere
Very Nice breakfast with good music - parking for the car
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Randi Leighfrom Albany, NY

Fantastic place to stay

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a lovely small B&B, only a 25 minute walk away from the Royal Mile. The owner a lovely man with lots of knowledge of the area. Can't wait to stay there again when I'm in Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home from afar

Posted May 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! It is an older home but the service is amazing! Felt safe my whole time there an had some awesome breakfast! Great location for adventures all day in Edinburgh and then a cozy bed at night :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: scottish breakfast superb, very friendly staff
Cons: more space room, new wc, shower central heating needed
Location: 1.5km from royal mile
Close to city centre only advantage, try the indian next to out, scottish breakfast superb