Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leeds

Close to city centre lovely family run b & b

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Lovey stay very accommodating and great knowledge of local area. Walking distance from town and great restaurants near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 nuits à Edimbourg - Chambre familiale

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Très bon accueil par Graham. Chambre spacieuse typique et literie confortable. A 10 minutes à pieds du centre ville et 20 minutes en taxi de l'aéroport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by M.A.from Bennekom

Goede prijs-kwaliteit verhouding, met goed ontbijt

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gastheer Graham verzorgt een uitstekend ontbijt. Kamer, locatie voldoen goed. Niet heel bijzonder, maar ook niet veel mis mee. Zeker aan te bevelen als je niet te veel geld wil uitgeven, maar toch op een redelijk centrale plaats wilt verblijven in een guesthouse dat een ruime voldoende haalt.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vermont

Guest house

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Good food
Cons: Begs for A complete overhaul, needs some flowers or plants in the little garden where the dining room is located
Location: Shabby side street, but close enough to all the tourist attractions
Clean room with an air of disuse , uncomfortable bed, live mollusk climbing up the wall
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jofrom Manchester

Value for money

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, I had a great stay at Cruachan House. My room was very clean and my bed made everyday. Central location. Free breakfast which was very Scottish and excellent with brilliant service. Wi-Fi is provided for free as well. I would advise to let them know what time you are arriving approximately since this Guesthouse doesn't have a reception as such. The carpets, rugs, the sign and curtains could do with a deep clean or renew them, but otherwise this guesthouse is a very comfortable and quiet place to stay. I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Good location near centre of city.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location . Good basic accommodation.
Cons: Décor, and overall external appearance. Shame the rubbish bins have to be at the front door.
Location: Easy walking distance to city centre. Excellent bus service for the less energetic!! Situated in residential street. Free parking available.
Good choice of accommodation if you are looking for a place to stay that provides comfortable secure accommodation close to city centre. We were attending the Edinburgh Festival and the 'Cruachan' was everything we needed by way of overnight accommodation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice for breakfast. Although the general appearance is dated, and the interior a bit in need of some cosmetic work ,this did not detract for the general comfort. Its not a luxury hotel but a it is a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Nice B&B fairly close to main downtown area

Posted Aug 18, 2014
For the price, this B&B was a very good value and pretty much exactly what I was looking for. The host was very welcoming and courteous and provided a great breakfast. The room was pretty standard, but well kept and clean. I had a shared bathroom, but that was clear from the description at booking and it wasn't an issue. A few things around the place may have needed to be fixed up a little bit, but nothing of significant issue. Also, though another reviewer noted it was not the best area of town, it certainly seemed nice enough to me, and the street is filled with other B&Bs. As well, it's only a 20 minute walk or so to the main tourist area and a number of buses come down the main avenues in the area, so it's a pretty convenient spot. Nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Place to Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I stayed three nights with my teenage daughter at Cruachan, and it was just about perfect. Graham was very welcoming, and made everything easy. He confirmed we were coming via email the day before, and although he wasn't there when we arrived, he had everything organised for us to find our room without a fuss. The room was comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic. The welcome was warm. The place was clean... well, mostly. It was no fault of the host, but another guest did leave an awful mess for me to wake up to in the shared bathroom one night. No huge problem, and it just comes with the territory of a shared bathroom and a major international festival! It was cleaned the next time I visited. The place is within walking distance of the city centre, but if you can't be bothered walking, buses run very close and are easy to use. Also, it's far enough out of the city to be relatively quiet. In all, a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Einfaches Gasthaus in der Nähe des Union Canal

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Das Einzelzimmer lag ruhig und war zweckmäßig ausgestattet.