Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor

Great place for golfers and fitness addicts

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Countryside location
Cons: Food quality in both restaurants. Allow free wifi.
Location: Excellent starting point for road trips in South Scotland. But not appropriate without a car.
The Marriott Dalmahoy is a great place if you are touring with car and family. The hotel offers an extensive fitness center with indoor pool. The staff is extremely friendly, both at the reception and in the restaurants. The breakfast buffet is excellent and fits all tastes. The rooms were very clean. We tried the two restaurant several times. The food quality varies. The vegetarian lasagne was excellent. One fish dish at the country was average and another at the higher standard Pentland restaurant was below average (the ling was dry, hard and tasteless, and the ratatouille consisted of a couple of zucchini stripes on tomato paste). It also seems that the sommelier is at war with the red wines. We tried most of them by the glass and by the bottle but couldn't get happy...Thus the 4 stars. Stayed February 2015, travelled with family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Excellent friendly and helpful staff
Nice hotel with very nice location and English manner appearance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom surrey

Quality hotel, friendly staff & superb golf course

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Fantastic trip for valentines weekend, peaceful surroundings & only 30 mins from the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Comfortable hotel with excellent amenities

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The setting, the comfort and the ambiance.
Cons: My husband was disappointed at the lack of sports channels on the bedroom television. I would have liked a proper jacuzzi in the swimming area.
Location: It is only a 20-30 minute drive to the centre of Edinburgh with all that it has to offer.
This is an attractive hotel standing in beautiful grounds with the golf course adjacent. There is an excellent swimming pool with sauna and steam room and changing rooms that are clean and well equipped. On arrival (two hours early) we were told our room was ready and we were able to check in early. However we were told that the dining room was already booked up for dinner and the earliest we could have a table was 9.45pm. We elected to dine in Zest, the restaurant in the leisure centre which was good, although a little overpriced, We were surprised to find that two drinks in the bar there cost £3 more than the same drinks in the hotel bar. Breakfast is good with a wide choice and attentive service. This is a large hotel and the room layout can be confusing, but there is usually a member of staff around to point you in the right direction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paisley

Good hotel for a weekend break

Posted Feb 10, 2015
We booked a room only rate at a very competive price. The hotel facilities are great and well kept and the room was found to be comfortable and very clean. We ate in the restaurant within the leisure club on the first night which was fine but with a fairly plain menu and we were dissapointed to be told when booking in that the main restaurant was effectively fully booked for the Saturday night. Rather than have a repeat of the night before, we just ordered room service. The food was good but it was unfortunate that we couldn't eat in the main restaurant as we had planned. I would suggest you book a table when booking your stay. Overall, an enjoyable weekend break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle

Dalmahoy Edinbirgh

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Leisure facilities, dining
Location: Zoo and Castle where our main destinations within 7 mile.
Very beautiful hotel and staff only too happy to please. I stayed with my 8 year old daughter who is begging me to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing overnight!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Lovely hotel close to Edinburgh & 45min drive from Glasgow. Great amenities, swimming sauna etc. Only negative is that as hotel was busy waited 50mins after ordering for meal to arrive in Hotel Restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gift for my huabands 70th birthbay

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: the frendlyness of the staff
Cons: nothing
Room was lovely the staff could not do enough for us and the meal was just out of this world thank you all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Comfortable country club hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Spent 2 nights for Hogmanay here and was treated to excellent staff service. Received early checkin with ease and splendoured over the spacious room. Opted for the breakfast and was not disappointed at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Excellent short break

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Stayed here for one night while enjoying a weekend in Edinburgh. Staff were extremely helpful upon arrival and offered us complementary mulled wine. I had noticed that some reviews mentioned the distance to rooms from reception, however I do not feel it is too far, a few minutes walk at most and staff did offer to take our bags to our rooms. The room was clean and and a good size for a couple. The bed and furnishings were of a 4* standard and bathroom of a similar standard. Another huge plus was having Sky Sports free of charge in our room! The only slight negatives of the hotel was the price of wifi (£6 per hour or £15 for 24 hours) which I found very expensive and mobile coverage is limited in the area. In addition to this, a few more plug sockets would have been handy! Only around a 20 minute drive to Edingbrugh city centre, I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay again in the future.