Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

Very close to zoo

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Noisy room and bin in bathroom not emptied from previous guest. Breakfast pretty good though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Owners, Hotel Management
Hi there, apologies for the oversight in not emptying the bin. You should have let us know and we would have emptied straight away. Not sure which room you were in as you have not said so not sure why noisy but glad you enjoyed breakfast anyway :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Easy location for Zoo and city centre. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Proprietors could not have been more helpful and professional.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Zoo and City centre
Great location across from the Zoo and about 15 mins to city centre by bus. Proprietors were wonderful very helpful, great hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for zoo

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Lovely breakfast setting you up for the day.
Cons: More refreshments in room, especially milk.
Location: Opposite the zoo, local bus routes.
Lovely breakfast, great for the zoo just opposite. Also great for visiting a local Chinese called Cool Jade, excellent menu. On local bus routes to get into Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport and Zoo.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Close to airport.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The the Zoo is across the street from B&B.
Only used for one night. There is traffic noise from front street but room and B&B were very clean. Breakfast was good and host was very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Hi there, many thanks for your review. Yes, we have two rooms that face the front of the property which will be noisier of the windows are open. There is double-glazing, so if closed tight, it is much quieter. If you are booking again, better to book one of the quieter rooms to the back of the property. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay in a modern clean room

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very quick trip arriving late and departing early, but all was very lovely and would not hesitate to book again or recommend to anyone visiting Edinburgh.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review and hope you are able to stay with us longer the next time you visit :) Iain and Dot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mr John Alan from Boldon Colliery

Dalmore

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Place was fine, was nice and clean and tidy, would defiantly stay here again if i was being really picky, parking was limited but that could have been avoided if i had of rang and asked them to reserve me a space, and if they had of explained things about the wifi but it was all in a booklet for us, again lovely place breakfast was lovely and lovely location right across the road from the zoo.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Hi there, many thanks for your excellent review. I'm afraid we don't reserve car parking spaces for people as it's a first come, first served basis as there are only two spaces but there is plenty unrestricted parking to the front and back of the property so parking is not an issue. As stated WiFi codes etc and lots of other useful information are provided in an A4 booklet in all rooms for guests to read at their leisure. Hope to see you again. Iain and Dot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Valerie from Hawick

Dalmore Lodge Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely and friendly, very comfortable bed, great breakfast. Will definitely stay there again. Directly across the road from the zoo. Buses into city almost every minute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Hi there, thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you and look forward to seeing you again at Dalmore Lodge. Pleased you found the bed comfortable and enjoyed Iain's breakfast too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from Leeds

REVIEW

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, clean and friendly owners
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Hi Stephen, thank you for submitting your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Dalmore Lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Comfortable short stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Location: Good transport links into city centre by bus (stops very close by). Parking available (both on hotel property and on-street if full).
Comfortable one night stay in a well appointed and clean hotel. Excellent breakfast, modern decor and facilities. Ground floor guest room sometimes noisy as located next to kitchen and on main entrance hallway. Views of the Pentland hills through balcony doors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Many thanks for posting your review. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and the room etc. We try to be as quiet as possible in the morning but difficult when getting set up for breakfast. Other guests can also be quite noisy when coming down the stairs. Maybe best to book an upstairs room if visiting again but no outside balcony with upstairs rooms. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Spotless B&B

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Warm. Comfortable bed and pillows. Good shower. Delicious breakfast. Friendly and welcoming owner.
Location: The guest house is directly opposite the Zoo and a short bus ride into the city.
We were greeted by Iain who was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was exceptionally clean and the bathroom in perfect working order. The temperature was comfortable and we had everything we needed. The breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. I am discerning and well travelled and can assure anyone considering booking that Dalmore Lodge will please them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2014 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Hi there, thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time out and are glad you enjoyed our facilities so much. Hope to see you again in the future. Iain and Dot