Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, N.Ireland

Edinburgh Central Guest House

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The location, the nice carpets and decor. The variety of food and drinks at breakfast.
Cons: The installation of an en suite in the single rooms would be great.
Location: The aspect which attracted me to book this Guest House was its proximity to George Street, and the Book Festival events at Charlotte Square.
The location of this Guest house for someone interested in attending Book Festival events in Charlotte Square and Fringe events in the Assembly Rooms, George Street was great. The Guest House was very comfortable and clean with friendly staff who were attentive at breakfast time and interested in how I was enjoying festival event going. My only quibble was no loo or wash hand basin in my single room. Having to go upstairs or downstairs to use the facilities was a drawback. Otherwise I would most certainly return to this very pleasant Guest House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Perfect for The Fringe

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant owner. Use of your own door key for late night access. Nice house in quiet back street just a stone's throw from George Street.
Cons: Tiny sink in en suite bathroom. Small, albeit serviceable shower.
Location: Perfect for The Fringe, particularly the main attractions at Assembly Rooms with the famous Stand Comedy Clubs a short walk away. Nice part of town.
Having stayed out of town for The Fringe before and had to travel in and out, sometimes late at night, we wanted to be within walking distance this time and this guest house was perfect. Situated in a 'professional' part of town, with more upmarket bistros and bars, it was very handy for the Assembly Rooms (3 mins walk) while the Royal Mile (on the 'other side' of town) was a 15min amble away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Near many fine restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Q from Kuwait

Close to downtown Edinburgh. Nice part of town.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable. Great location. Friendly.
Location: Edinburgh Castle, John Knox's house, Royal Mile, King Arthur's seat, Rose Street
Very pleasant. Nice light breakfast. Nice location. Just a caution for some, the bathrooms are shared and some rooms are on 2nd or 3rd floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V

Nice room in the city centre, close to all attracs

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Very well received and a clean room with very good character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

review

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: great location for restuarants and access to historical sites
4 nights in Edinburgh she accommodated us for a 4th night with ease
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Spain

Central House, perfect stay.

Posted May 23, 2014
Had a really nice bedroom, which meant a good night's sleep. Central location means everything is nearby, and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it, and nice to get a breakfast in the morning. Too many of the chain hotels neglect this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susie from London

B'n'B close to Edinburgh

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing. I expected a cooked breakfast (eggs, sausages, cereals, pastries etc) not just continental.
B'n'B located at an easy 10 minute walk from Edinburgh city centre, close to shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from B

DefinitelyRecommend!

Posted May 18, 2014
Our stay at the Guest House was excellent. The house was clean, comfortable, and cozy... a home away from home. The location to Waverly Train Station was easily managed by public transportation or by walking. The owner/manager was kind and accommodating. Our first morning at the Guest House we had to leave very early for a day tour and she provided us with a carry out breakfast and snacks. On our last day, she allowed us to store our luggage until time to catch our train (which was several hours after check out). She provided us with maps and assisted us with navigating the streets of Edinburgh. I would definitely stay at the Edinburgh Central Guest House in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great place to stay in Edinburgh

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Edinburgh Central Guest House was great—just what I was looking for!